We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the city center of Amsterdam!”
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Ranked #176 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed there for a citytrip over the weekend. The standard rooms are very small with no view, but the friendliness and help of the staff makes up for it. Clean rooms with good beds and a great shower in the bathroom. Free coffee at all times available in the lobby. Quiet environment yet close to public transportation and the vivid life of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26Martine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We really loved this hotel. We felt like we got a true Amsterdam experience. Very conveniently located to everything we wanted to do. The breakfast should be included but not a huge issue. The beds are very comfortable. We stayed in the family suite. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiley8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Comfy as beds, friendly staff, near a black bike shop, the jorddan, reypenears cheese shop, amnesia coffe shop next door, canal out front, also near chocolatier and restaurants and bars... I love Amsterdam, riding round and back to the times was like home

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buttersben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Little hotel in great location. Correspondingly pricey. Mostly very friendly and helpful staff. Lousy breakfast which you pay for separately, so, go elsewhere for that (no fridge in the room). Stayed there for eighth nights. Had to complain for three days and to, finally, talk to the owner before the room was properly cleaned. No discount was given on this account.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the canal which was wonderful. How much that adds to the price I do not know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I recently visited this hotel on 2-4 July 13 . The hotel location is good and centrally placed so you have access to all important areas of town. Only the canal facing rooms have good view but other rooms have view of the service shaft or duct. Hotel do not provide complimentary breakfast with rooms and they do not have good restaurant facilities. Indians may be disappointed with the decor and facilities of rooms as in this prize band they are habitual of getting very good rooms.
There is no facility of room service . My room was reasonably good but my Friends in the same hotel had really ordinary and cramped rooms in term of space.

Room Tip: only take canal facing rooms and rooms in the series of 172, 272 are not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Cute, charming boutique hotel. Good location, near Anne frank house. We stayed at the junior suite ( like a loft room) facing the canal, perfect for us , 2 adults , 2 kids. Friendly staff. 5 minute walk to Dam square, 10 minute walk from train station.
There is always a plate of free pastries for guests in reception which is nice. And I really like their beds- had very good sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for one night last week. Close to the station (only 10 min. walk). Friendly and helpfull staff. Nice and clean rooms, compact but ok. Rooms in the front have vieuws on the Herengracht.
Breakfast you can take better in antoher place, in the hotel it is rather ordinary.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have nice views on Herengracht
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RikvbGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#145 of 372 in Amsterdam
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,223 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Bank Hotel
The Bank Hotel
#201 of 372 in Amsterdam
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £101 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Times Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing