We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Located for a 1st or 15th Visit to Amsterdam”
Review of The Times Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Times Hotel
Ranked #170 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A 10-minute walk to Centraal Station. Just on the outskirts of the Jordaan neighborhood on a canal, easy walk to a number of sights (Anne Frank House and some great small museums) and shopping. Major tram lines running just a few blocks away for other sightseeing. Grocery and self-serve or drop-off laundromats within walking for those staying more than a few nights. Hotel common areas and room clean & kept up nicely. Many rooms face canal. Had a room that faced into a very small interior courtyard. Good size room with a queen bed, desk and a large wardrobe to stash luggage, hang clothing or store on ample shelving. Definitely not your standard, cookie-cutter type hotel rooms - fun wall murals and you can see the old canal-house features in some of the rooms - mine had 2 very tiny steps that led up to the area where the bed was from the bathroom. Cable tv w/ plenty of English channels. Lots of light with big windows (although be careful if you have toddlers and open the windows for some fresh air as the windows are very large and fairly low to the ground). Very large bathroom with a full size tub/shower. Stairs from lobby up to rooms are not overly steep like other hotels in Amsterdam, but The Times has a reliable elevator which is great for when you need to get your luggage up or down from the room. Breakfast additional charge so skipped it, but plenty of places to get something to eat nearby. Front desk staff pleasant enough. Soundproofing not the greatest in between the rooms, but it's a renovated canal house - not a Hilton - so it should be expected. There is a coffee house (Amnesia) next door to the hotel, but you'd hardly know it was there. The customers coming and going throughout the day and evening are pretty quiet, unlike some of the other coffee houses in the Red Light District. Overall, nice stay and I would book at The Times again and recommend it to others headed to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneTravelin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We did not know anything about this hotel, we just booked it by chance. A wonderful surprise when we got there. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Hotel was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent, a typical Dutch breakfast. Will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinsdale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erik Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We booked the Times Hotel as other accommodation was very scarce due to a large medical conference being held at the same time. The location is great, with just a short ten minute walk to the central square and other shopping walks. Luckily we had a canal facing room which added to our stay. The room was adequate for our two night stay but was a little compact, not really enough room to lay out luggage. It was on the fifth floor in the apex of the roof line, unfortunately the lift only went to the fourth floor with a very narrow spiral staircase to connect to the room. It was air conditioned and very clean with an opening window which took in the view of the canal. Breakfast was offered at an additional cost, but there were many cafes to choose from close by and even a supermarket which catered for travellers. All in all a great little hotel in a great location which we would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked the Time when I was unexpectedly invited to attend the huge IBC media conference in Amsterdam and the only options seemed to be extortionately-priced suites or hotels at the airport. Finding the Times was free - and reasonably-priced - I jumped at the chance, not really knowing what to expect.

Well, I needn't have worried. The Times is in a great central location, and is a fine little hotel, friendly, clean and chic. My room was stylishly furnished, with a well-appointed bathroom, and - while I was only on an overnight business trip - would have acted just fine as a base for a long weekend or whatever. I understand that some rooms are canal-facing, but even mine - which was not - was perfectly fine for what I needed.

Breakfast - which is extra - was again all you'd want, with an array of pastries, cereals and fruits laid out for you to pick and choose.

Next time I return to Amsterdam, I'm picking the Times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We took a room with a canal view for my family of 4. We had a huge two story window view to the canal as the room was over two levels (mezzanine). Upstairs was a cool sort of lounge area near the window and a double bed with an ensuite. Downstairs was the bedroom you walk into the apartment into and a bathroom.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

An idyllic and quiet location on the Herengracht canal makes The Times Hotel a good choice for the tourist who wants an authentic Amsterdam experience. Close to the delightful Jordaan district with its lovely cafes and individual shops I was happy with my choice of hotel for an Amsterdam break with my daughter. Disappointed that we did not have a canal facing room because of high occupancy due to a cardiology conference in Amsterdam, I was nevertheless optimistic that the room would still be fine.

Ok so it didn't have a view -I could live with that and that the room we were given was quite small - we could manage that too! What was not all right was the level of cleanliness - in Holland- where a high standard of cleanliness is generally the rule. Dirty skirting boards and I mean they hadn't been cleaned in a long time, very scanty level of vacuum cleaning, crumbs in the drawers, water marks and black mould in the shower.

On the plus side the shower was good and the air-conditioning effective. When I reported my observations about the state of our room the staff on duty were apologetic and were attentive to the extent that one very kind lady came up immediately to replace towels that had not been changed and to do what she could with the skirting and bathroom. She also said that she would see if there was anything she could do with our bill, since it was pre-paid I'm not sure whether this will result in anything but at least the intention is there and she was very apologetic.

So would I recommend this hotel? Well the location was excellent and the staff very helpful but the management need to pay much closer attention to the cleaning and maintenance of the rooms that perhaps tend only to be used in peak season. Amsterdam is expensive and The Times was still not so inexpensive that cleanliness doesn't matter!

Room Tip: Apparently canal side rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#12 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Bank Hotel
The Bank Hotel
#196 of 374 in Amsterdam
96 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#188 of 374 in Amsterdam
364 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Address: Herengracht 137, 1015 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £88 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Times Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Times Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing