We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #329 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights and was disappointed with the hotel. The room was tiny, by far the smallest hotel room I've stayed in across Europe which was deceiving from the photos. The property does not deserve it's alleged 3 star rating; there was no housekeeping service provided for the entire stay i.e. the room was never cleaned, there were no amenities e.g. no kettle, aircon, minibar or even telephone.. The only thing provided other than bed sheets was a small soap dispenser in the shower.

There were planks of wood or which looked like it was intended to eventually be used in making a wall left in the hallways and near doorways which you needed to navigate around to get to your room.

The rooms were hot, stuffy and smelly because they did not circulate air around the floor, made worse by lack of aircon.

The walls were terribly thin and people were constantly slamming doors.

The staff were rarely at the front desk when you needed someone, though, they were friendly enough when you could find someone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_CP8895BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    163
    257
    170
    213
See reviews for
87
358
73
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I read the reviews about this place and was a bit concerned at first about booking it. As it happens, it is a great budget hotel, has a wet room as bathroom (stayed in double room). We had no noise issues, but it wasn't full/the elevator didn't bother us. Front desk staff weren't the most jovial, but no problems checking in or out. Beds were clean, bathroom a little grubby due to age, but toilet and shower worked fine. The location is actually great - a bit of a walk to the red light district but honestly that isn't the main attraction. This hotel is closer to some great bars and clubs and the real hub of the nightlife, and if you happen to be in your 20's or 30's and enjoy going out the location is ideal. If you want the Ritz, I suggest booking something triple the price near Central Station. I would stay there again. Bonus points: No bedbugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Originally I was supposed to be staying at the Quentin arrive Hotel, however due to problems with the ceiling at Quentin arrive I was relocated to this hotel. This hotel is obviously in a chain, and related to Quentin arrive. I must say the whole thing was dealt with terribly and after arriving and an hour of trying to find Quentin arrive, and 25 mins of the reception trying to find our reservation we were told ' you were definitely sent an email not to come to this hotel ( which we were sent no such thing ) 'and told to leave for our 'upgraded' Quentin hotel. Staff were exceptionally grumpy, however we were offered free breakfast for one morning, and also put in one of the best rooms in the hotel. The hotel was spotless, and we were put in a room with grand ceilings, and artwork. The room was huge for a party of 3, and had lovely views on-looking the canal. Strange alarms which go off between the hours of 12-3am in the morning waking you up if you're not going on a night out, which obviously is really annoying as you run down the stairs thinking its a fire alarm with the staff just staring at you as apparently its a normal thing for that hotel, which is pretty inconsiderate at that time in the morning. Free wifi at this hotel, bit dubious of the hotel security as anyone was allowed in, even when we had friends back, which I expected there to be more questions upon the arrival on people who do not stay there, also when there I heard of a lot of people having items stolen - thankfully our items were padlocked or, with us. The location is fantastic; about 15 minutes from anne frank huis, about 10 from the museum square/ Heineken experience, 15-20 from van gogh, and about 15-20 or less from Dam square/ Rembrandt place/square with big nightclubs such as escape there, and the ice bar, also 5 minutes to the hardrock cafe . Taxis are expensive, but the walk is so quick! I really liked the location, and the hotel was not bad also, however should I had been paying full price and hadn't been upgraded I don't think it would have been worth the money for the duration people usually stay here ie, for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugofair23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good location. Room was basic wasn't cleaned one day. B/fast ok not much choice mouldy doughnut one mrgn. Work being done tools left lying around.
Ok for somewhere to sleep. Don't expect too much. Staff were ok.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is fine if all you want is a base to sleep. The room was extremely small and the bathroom needed updating. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and clean. Close to the centre of Amsterdam. Free Wi Fi and the staff printed off our boarding cards for our return journeyand telephoned the taxi firm for us.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Great location only a few stops on tram to central. Stairs are very steep in this hotel staff were friendly enough. Rooms are basic and could do with freshening up same with bathroom. Didn't try the breakfast as it was continental. Overall a good place to stay and great location

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lreavey87951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Quentin hotel from the 2nd till the 4th of June as our first trip away without parents (exciting!) this hotel is in a great location with a 2 minute walk from a tram stop which goes to Dam Square, Amsterdam station etc. when we arrived we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who quickly confirmed our details and have is our room key. Our room was on the top floor so we had the luxury of not hearing people come in at all hours of the morning! Although the room was small, it was clean and tidy. Our double bed was 2 single beds pushed together but was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and we were supplied with shower gel and shampoo, plus fresh towels and plenty of loo roll every day. although we didn't have access to a safe, we had no problem with leaving items in our rooms without the worry of them going missing. All in all it is a cosy, clean hotel with very polite staff and great value for money. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xSophieAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#280 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#270 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#277 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#308 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing