We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #338 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rip off hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel always overbooks their rooms. If you book a room at this hotel there is a good chance you will not be given a room which looks anything like the ones pictured on the hotel website. You will instead be given no alternative but to stay in a room at their cheaper neighbouring Kings hotel. We booked a room at the Quentin but when we arrived the very rude and offhand receptionist insisted that we pay in advance, then he directed us out of the hotel to a tiny, poorly decorated, smelly, grubby, cramped, airless room in a cheap hotel down the street. There is no wifi at the hotel we were moved to. There are no staff at the hotel we were moved to. The rooms are not cleaned at the hotel we were moved to. The en suite cubicle sized bathroom smelled of urine and obviously had not been cleaned after the last guests. The view from our window looked out at the rear wall of another hotel. After many frustrating complaints to the receptionist i was told that there was nothing i could do as i had already paid, which meant that i had accepted the room. The management, who i have e-mailed a number of times since our stay have been incredibly rude and have a dismissive attitude. Basically they have enough bookings because of their position that they do not have to care about complaints. Don't take my word for it, just look at all the other terrible reviews of this hotel. There are many other more reasonably priced and better staffed hotels with much cleaner and comfortable rooms in the same area. Don't ruin your time in Amsterdam with this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    167
    272
    181
    237
See reviews for
94
384
75
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Easy to commute to from the airport (took 20 mins), central location, staff were extremely helpful in giving advice as to where to go and how to get there, my friend actually lost her passport and they assisted in resolving this and arranged an additional night stay. Rooms were small but nothing that I didn't expect for the price in Amsterdam, functional and clean bathroom, rooms cleaned daily and fresh towels provided, English TV, kettle in room, plenty of plugs and free WIFI. If you're a genuine travellers/ backpacker you will have absolutely no issues with this place and I would recommend it! If you're expecting luxury on a shoe string you aren't going to get it.. after all what would you get in London for £40 a night? Don't bother with breakfast here though, tonnes of places that give you more for your money. 10e is steep for what they provide here.

Room Tip: Rooms can vary a lot from what I gathered from others staying, however, not having a canal view has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALSmout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for four nights and was disappointed with the hotel. The room was tiny, by far the smallest hotel room I've stayed in across Europe which was deceiving from the photos. The property does not deserve it's alleged 3 star rating; there was no housekeeping service provided for the entire stay i.e. the room was never cleaned, there were no amenities e.g. no kettle, aircon, minibar or even telephone.. The only thing provided other than bed sheets was a small soap dispenser in the shower.

There were planks of wood or which looked like it was intended to eventually be used in making a wall left in the hallways and near doorways which you needed to navigate around to get to your room.

The rooms were hot, stuffy and smelly because they did not circulate air around the floor, made worse by lack of aircon.

The walls were terribly thin and people were constantly slamming doors.

The staff were rarely at the front desk when you needed someone, though, they were friendly enough when you could find someone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_CP8895BT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I read the reviews about this place and was a bit concerned at first about booking it. As it happens, it is a great budget hotel, has a wet room as bathroom (stayed in double room). We had no noise issues, but it wasn't full/the elevator didn't bother us. Front desk staff weren't the most jovial, but no problems checking in or out. Beds were clean, bathroom a little grubby due to age, but toilet and shower worked fine. The location is actually great - a bit of a walk to the red light district but honestly that isn't the main attraction. This hotel is closer to some great bars and clubs and the real hub of the nightlife, and if you happen to be in your 20's or 30's and enjoy going out the location is ideal. If you want the Ritz, I suggest booking something triple the price near Central Station. I would stay there again. Bonus points: No bedbugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Originally I was supposed to be staying at the Quentin arrive Hotel, however due to problems with the ceiling at Quentin arrive I was relocated to this hotel. This hotel is obviously in a chain, and related to Quentin arrive. I must say the whole thing was dealt with terribly and after arriving and an hour of trying to find Quentin arrive, and 25 mins of the reception trying to find our reservation we were told ' you were definitely sent an email not to come to this hotel ( which we were sent no such thing ) 'and told to leave for our 'upgraded' Quentin hotel. Staff were exceptionally grumpy, however we were offered free breakfast for one morning, and also put in one of the best rooms in the hotel. The hotel was spotless, and we were put in a room with grand ceilings, and artwork. The room was huge for a party of 3, and had lovely views on-looking the canal. Strange alarms which go off between the hours of 12-3am in the morning waking you up if you're not going on a night out, which obviously is really annoying as you run down the stairs thinking its a fire alarm with the staff just staring at you as apparently its a normal thing for that hotel, which is pretty inconsiderate at that time in the morning. Free wifi at this hotel, bit dubious of the hotel security as anyone was allowed in, even when we had friends back, which I expected there to be more questions upon the arrival on people who do not stay there, also when there I heard of a lot of people having items stolen - thankfully our items were padlocked or, with us. The location is fantastic; about 15 minutes from anne frank huis, about 10 from the museum square/ Heineken experience, 15-20 from van gogh, and about 15-20 or less from Dam square/ Rembrandt place/square with big nightclubs such as escape there, and the ice bar, also 5 minutes to the hardrock cafe . Taxis are expensive, but the walk is so quick! I really liked the location, and the hotel was not bad also, however should I had been paying full price and hadn't been upgraded I don't think it would have been worth the money for the duration people usually stay here ie, for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugofair23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good location. Room was basic wasn't cleaned one day. B/fast ok not much choice mouldy doughnut one mrgn. Work being done tools left lying around.
Ok for somewhere to sleep. Don't expect too much. Staff were ok.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is fine if all you want is a base to sleep. The room was extremely small and the bathroom needed updating. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and clean. Close to the centre of Amsterdam. Free Wi Fi and the staff printed off our boarding cards for our return journeyand telephoned the taxi firm for us.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#304 of 367 in Amsterdam
642 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#298 of 367 in Amsterdam
369 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel De Looier
Hotel De Looier
#318 of 367 in Amsterdam
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#273 of 367 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Quentin Amsterdam Hotel
Address: Leidsekade 89, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Amsterdam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in an authentic 17th century historic canal house which overlooks one of Amsterdam's grand canals, so from most rooms you will have a lovely canal view. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located at the Leidsesquare (Leidseplein), near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Flower Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Leidsekade is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, an elevator, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quentin Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing