We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... Nothing more to add!”
Review of Mozart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mozart Hotel
Ranked #230 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location... Nothing more to add!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Spent 4 nights with my family at the Mozart Hotel. The location was perfect. Numerous bars, restaurants and gig venues on the doorstep. All the local attractions were in walking distance. The rooms were dingy and damp. Four of us traveled, and we wanted to book the trip on a budget. Booking.com was misleading and offered a 4 bed room. When our room was confirmed, the maximum occupancy was 3 persons. We were unable to get a refund, so booked a second room. For the price we paid, we were very disappointed in the hotel. We understand accommodation is expensive in Amsterdam, however, apart from the position of the hotel, it has nothing going for it whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    217
    212
    105
    102
See reviews for
61
294
66
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel room and bathroom was pretty small, the windows and walls were pretty banged up. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean - it actually smelled pretty strongly of bleach.

All that being said- I don't think we could've asked for a better location. The hotel worked for what we were looking for, safe, clean, comfortable beds, relatively quiet. And in an incredible location where the entire city is walkable. However, the aesthetic of this hotel is pretty worn down with chipped paint, scuffed walls, and tiny tiny bathroom.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The Mozart is in a superb situation right on the banks of the canal with a cycle road and light traffic use right in front. We had room 401 on the top floor which had superb views across the canal and the rooftops but the room itself was of poor quality and very basically furnished. Beware the wardrobe as it can fall over quite easily! The bathroom a bit grubby but at least the water was piping hot. The whole place felt a bit seedy and unloved. Reception didn't seem to mind whether you stayed or not. Lots of things not really right for the price but the location close to the tram system and the Museums made up for it somewhat. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but what we saw was none too inspirational.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Very basic hotel. It's OK for a short stop and you need just a bed at night to sleep in. The bathroom smelt very badly of cheap "coconut" soap. The wi-fi does not work on the 2nd & 3rd floor and you have to go down to reception to use the wi-fi. As a gesture of goodwill from the receptionist, she offered me a free coffee for the inconvenience. The breakfast is lousy! Just cereal and cold buffet of cheeses and meats, but no toaster, so you can't make toast!!
The only thing good about this hotel is the location. Just off Prinsengracht and close to canals and main shopping street. The owners of this hotel are Chinese and they showed no warmth to the guests at all. Felt as thought they just cared about taking your money without giving any warm service or welcome at all. They need to change their attitude. The working staff, however, are better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuthra2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Nice location, polite and helpful staff. Room was clean, quiet and small. The room cleaning was done every day. The bathroom was very small. The sink was very small, too, and mounted very close to the WC, in such way that It was almost impossible to wash the face without wetting the feet, too, from the water that felled on the floor. For hand and face washing It was easier to use the tap of the bathtub. The lift was very slow and sometimes you had to wait for 4-5 minutes until it arrived, not because of the traffic.

Room Tip: It's a 3 star hotel, but I would consider it as a 2 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Sajmir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
140 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel Mozart is a decent choice for the money, but not impressing. The location canal-side and proximity to trams is fine, but the reception-area (with “restaurant”) is dull, and the rooms are very plain and have no working desk. Generally they are ok and clean, though the waste basket in my bathroom had not been emptied, and the cover to the power outlet went to the floor, when I pulled the plug for my PC. The door to the corridor doesn’t give much noise isolation, but at least there was very little activity in the corridor so no problem in my case.

Reception service attitude was somewhat lazy. The wifi on my floor didn’t work, so I complained in the evening. “The night man will look at it” was the response. The next morning it still didn’t work, and the wifi on the floor below, which I sometimes could catch with my PC, but not my Iphone, was gone as well!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent four nights at this hotel last week. Its a budget hotel and you basically get a value room that is small and compact. It is clean however it is in need redecoration. There is daily maid service with fresh towels. We did not stay for breakfast, it did not look inviting and was not good value from what we seen. Cold meat and cheese etc.

There was complementary wifi throughout the hotel. There appeared to be a mixed crowd of guests and maybe just chance that we experienced very noisy visitors. One particular problem that was more concerning, the maid did not close our room door after cleaning, we spent the whole day out not knowing our room door was left open. This did warrant a complaint to reception who assured us she would speak with the maid. That said overall was a pleasant stay.

Location of the hotel is perfect, just out of the centre, 4 stops on the tram, a 72 hour tram card was €16.50 and worth it. Took about ten minutes to get to central station. The area is full of bars and restaurants that were really competitively priced giving lots of choice, then all the usual high street fast food and coffee houses.

If you are looking for a clean budget hotel in a good location with free wifi then really would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo1Eastmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 368 in Amsterdam
841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 368 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#159 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#191 of 368 in Amsterdam
428 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#295 of 368 in Amsterdam
367 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mozart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mozart Hotel

Property: Mozart Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 518 /520, 1017 KJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mozart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mozart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mozart Amsterdam
Mozart Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing