We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“last minute stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jimmy

Hotel Jimmy
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jimmy
Ranked #359 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
london england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“last minute stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

After much deliberation deciding where to stay , we resorted to looking for a hotel upon arrival in Amsterdam , With the rain pouring down on us , we soldiered on to the out skirts of the city , assuming a budget hotel or a better price would fit the bill.unfortunately not having much luck,we headed back to central station and stumbled upon HOTEL JIMMY , We paid a fair price considering the evening was pressing on .the staff were friendly and very approachable, and were offered a hot cuppa on arrival as we were soaked . the room was clean (room 21) and smoking allowed , with a good breakfast , excellent location was more than satisfactory for a short stay .My only criticism would be that its a budget hotel , and was slightly over priced, but the location and staff compensated for it, considering we left it to last minute.. literally .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javed h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    7
    10
    41
See reviews for
1
18
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Please read the other reviews and take note, EVERYTHING mentioned in the previous comments are correct.

We booked on the internet, and on arriving were jarred for 'extra' money as the money already paid online wasn't enough. We told him to hang fire and we'd come back down to reception after dropping off bags. Before we had the chance a man appeared at the door, nodding in direction of my friend counting his money and said, 'that's the extra?'

He was told to beat it, and he did. He never asked again.

THE ONLY WAY THIS IS GRANTED HOTEL STATUS IS BY SERVING A HOT BREAKFAST, BE AWARE, BREAKFAST IS ONE BOILED EGG AND ONE BIT OF TOAST, TEA & ORANGE JUICE. DON'T EAT ANY OF IT.

I can't explain to you how bad this place is without taking you to a distant third world country for comparison.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheWestHighlandWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

not even joking the place is a POO hole it had painted white bricks for walls a manky sink a prison style bed and that was it and shared toilet wich u wouldnt let a animal use and got mugged of coz we payed 80 euros MUGS

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gottzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Room was clean (definitely no rodents). WC/shower (not ensuite) were OK. Room was tiny, but quiet (at the back of the building). Stairs were terrible (I have a bad knee). EUR 45 was OK value for such a central location (Hotels were filling up because of cancellations at Schipol). TV was pretty useless. Staff were rude (one was definitely sinister). Breakfast was mediocre (and not served until 0930). I was not too dfissatisfied, but certainly would not stay there a second night, or longer than necesary to get my head down for a nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

stayed 3 nights, rooms were basic but clean..friendly staff, only complaint was no fans or air con and the rooms were really hot, but for a short stay i'd defo go back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerry030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QC Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Technically, I didn't stay in this dump. I was on a layover in AMS and decided to go to the city center. Since my flight to Brussels is in early morning, I decided to just spend the night at the hostel. Hotel Jimmy was along the street so I decided to look. The staff just asked me to register, asked for EUR50 for the night, refused to give a discount for scrapping the breakfast option and asked me to wait for a bit to get a room. I was shocked when he went inside a prison cell-like or closet-like hole and just pulled out the old bedsheet and just replaced it with another one. The space is like a closet with just a prison bed and sink! I could not help myself but complain that there's no space. He just said, "But you're just going to sleep!" I DEMANDED a full refund. Good thing he returned my money because I just can't stand the filth. This is a terrible option for any traveller. Only settle for this if there is absolutely no other choice.Exhausted and exasperated, I just spent the night in one of the recliner chairs in Schipol Airport. Definitely 100% more safe and clean compared to this dump!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GenevieveAquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

I was returning from Venice back to the UK , via Schipol Airport Amsterdam 15 / 04 2010 , when the nightmare of Ash Thursday hit with full force. As every flight was cancelled , European air space closed down . KLM refusing to provide any support or assistance , I spent the night at the airport which is not good , the next day I went into Amsterdam to find an hotel. No luck , no vacancies anywhere. Except for Hotel Jimmy, It was like something out of the League Of Gentleman. I have never been to prison but no prisoners would be housed in accommdation as that offered at Hotel Jimmy. Every resident was trying to escape Amsterdam or was it Hotel Jimmy ?, I felt pretty fed up , down , frustrated but lying in my cell at night listening to the drunken screams & shouts of fellow Jimmy residents, I thought , what have I done to deserve this . Even the bed isn't really a bed but a wooden box , I am not kidding . The staircase is really something, I have never seen any thing like it, is it designed to punish residents for crimes from another life ? The shower & toilet are in the same corridor as the cells. On a more postive note there was plenty of hot water. The internet is not free as advertised . When I think I was charged 80 euros to stay at this " Hotel " . I did return to the UK via Calais , but that is another story. I still shudder at the thought of Hotel Jimmy , probably the worst place I have ever stayed in my life.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#217 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimmy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimmy

Property: Hotel Jimmy
Address: Martelaasgracht 15, 1012 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Jimmy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Jimmy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimmy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing