We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot has changed since we stayed in 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel The Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Crown
Ranked #199 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lot has changed since we stayed in 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I visited Amsterdam in March with 6 of my girl friends from work. We have all stayed here
before in May 2013
The hotel was run by the same people, we found them less helpful on our second stay.
When we checked in the older gentleman tried to charge us an extra €100, he did the same thing in 2013 and we paid it. This time we questioned it and refused to pay extra.
We had booked an extra bed in the 6 persons room so we could all stay together, the bed wasn't ready on arrival and took over two hours until it was bought to our room and then it was just a mattress on the floor, €75 for a mattress is not justified.

The hotel no longer allows smoking in the bar area, the main reason we sacrificed a better hotel for The Crown.

The location is perfect, in the Red Light District.

I wouldn't recommend a hotel I wasn't happy with and there are plenty of hotels in this area that are better

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    55
    60
    29
    51
See reviews for
11
36
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

No words to comment this hotel .... all wrong.
The only thing good reception, friendly staff rest room pesima.servicio horrible ninguno.nunca changed the towels and made ​​clean and stayed for 4 days staying.
terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Josefina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Despite the brilliant location (five minute walk from centraal station) I wouldn't advise a dog to sleep here. The 'hotel' was absolutely appalling. I've stayed in hostels that made this place look like the ritz. For a start, it was advertised as having en-suite facilities, which it did not at all. Instead there was a tiny bathroom and separate dingy toilet on each floor. Neither of these was particularly well lit, clean or modern, although the showers were very hot. Beware if you stay on the top floor, you may have pigeon inviting itself in through the skylight that does not shut (I tried, it was very far up, even by my standards and I am 5'10). Better to go a floor down and have to walk up ridiculously steep stairs in your towel. The stairs, of which I had to climb 3 flights to get to my room were practically a vertical drop on the way back down. Avoid at all costs if you are elderly, have small children or have any kind of heart condition. The beds were comfortable but rather high. Again, wouldn't recommend this for the elderly. Disabled access is absolutely negligible, do not bother if you are in a wheelchair, on crutches etc. While here, I met three members of staff, two (the elderly gentleman and the younger man, around 25) were fantastic and could not do enough to help. On the other hand, the obnoxious, ignorant, unsmiling individual I had the misfortune of being checked in by was horrible. How he worked in customer service is beyond me, he certainly didn't deserve to be paid in anything other than a P45. The room on arrival was absolutely freezing, but upon turning the radiator on (only one side worked) the room was lovely and warm, if you could ignore the loud, persistent noise of the water gushing through it at all hours which made the prospect of sleep impossible. It was most definetley the worst 3 nights sleep I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Location near train station, bus station, information center, also near some attractions and supermarkets, right where the actions are. Good for travelers who want to make use of time here and minimize time wasted on commuting. Just as I wanted. Just close one eye on the hotel condition (not extremely bad for 2 nights) as this is the lowest price I can find. Helped looked after suitcase after checkout, until 8pm, so not too bad afterall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Traveller
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here on a city break and booked through booking.com. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the train station right in the red light district. The first problem with the hotel is the staff. Very ignorant and rude asian men. They said I had to pay more money that the booking.com price I had, I have since contacted booking.com and they are not interested once they have your deposit. We had nowhere else to stay and it was late so we paid the extra. The hotel is totally inaccessible for anyone with mobility issues due to the steep stairs. We were on top floor and the stairs were more like ladders, totally unsafe. The room was dingy and all rooms seem to have shared bathrooms that I would not have washed a dog in. At €70 a room your much better in the Ibis.

Room Tip: If you REALLY need to book here make sure you get a room at the back of the hotel. The front faces r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We reserved are room via Booking.Com. When we arrived we paid €140 for 2 nights and the owners attitude was stinking as well as his so called Bar. We walked up the stairs which was covered in dirt on floor and walls, the twin room was a disgrace, Brown Duck Tape was holding the smashed glass window together. The shared shower and toilet was stinking. We went down and asked for the 2nd night money back and told him we won't be staying but he can still keep €70 for the 1st nite as we understand there is a cancellation fee. He told us to get out and we won't be getting a penny back, the foul language he used was a disgrace!!!! We left but didn't cancel, came back the next day and he had rented are room out to another 2ppl, refused to give us are €70 so I had to get the Amsterdam Police in and they got us are €70 back!!!! This place is a DUMP and the owner is really cheeky to tourist!!! I am not a fussy person but I would rather sleep in Amsterdam street and get washed in the Canal than stay here!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eamon1Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Recently stayed in the hotel for a 2 night break with a group of lads, ideal for that but not somewhere for couples. Rooms are very basic but clean beds which is all we wanted as we were only in there a few hours a night. Great location however the night porter is a miserable bugger but the guy on reception during the day was spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#301 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#248 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#240 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Crown

Property: Hotel The Crown
Address: Oude Zijds Voorburgwal 21, 1012 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel The Crown 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are going to Amsterdam and you are looking for a suitable place in Amsterdam budget hotel to stay? Welcome to the Amsterdam Crown Hotel! If you are full of energy and active and you are looking for some adventure in one of the craziest capitals in whole Europe or you are looking for Amsterdam city break, you have found the right place and the right Amsterdam budget hotel. Here you are, in the centre of Amsterdam! One step out and you enter the world of coffee shops, sex shops and it takes one minute to get to Red Light District with so many pretty girls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing