We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“titus hotel”
Review of Hotel Titus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Titus
Ranked #279 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“titus hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just back from the Titus in Amsterdam and to sum it all up it was dreadful! Where do i start, stinking, toilets, showers, room, paint hanging off ceilings, un-professional staff! We stayed in room no.1 which is right beside the shared toilet, due to there being about an inch gap between the doors and frames all we could smell was sh1t in our room! We were kept up allnight by people shouting and toilets flushing! When me and a friend called into the food area for a glass of water we were made share the same glass as they only had one large glass in the whole place! omg how disgraceful is that for a hotel! I called in reception to ask for a cup of warm water to be told could i wait as the person was playing on-line poker, after waiting he asked could he bring it down to my room in ten mins, where it never appeared.........AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    64
    75
    37
    33
See reviews for
26
61
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The location is the only positive word I can say about this hell hole. Went to this place in May 2009 together with 8 friends, and are certainly never coming back.

Rooms: Was situated in the basement. Consisted of 4 beds and a sink. Beds were way too soft and full of bedbugs. One toilet in a tiny room (if you sit down you cannot close the door) in the hall, this one was shared by all guests (15-20). One shower in a similar tiny room, also shared by all guests. All rooms were infested with mold and fungus. Terrible.

Staff: The staff was in the same condition as the rooms.

Breakfast: Did not dare to try it.

Certainly not a hotel, and should be avoided.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norextra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Lincs, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights in July.
On arrival of the 'hotel' -it was more a hostel- the receptionists were friendly. We were given a key and told where our room was. When we booked the room we were aware that the room was a basement room however on entering the room our thoughts were 'Oh my god!'.
The room was dirty with stains on the walls and paint peeling off.
The toilet was right next door to our room so we were woken up constantly with people flushing the toilet in the night. Also the toilet was very small and whilst sitting on it my legs touched the door - I'm only 5'5".
The shower room was next door to the toilet, the shower room smelt of damp and was very claustophobic with no window.
Sleeping at night was impossible during the 5 night stay. This was due to the amount of noisy groups of teenagers staying in the dorms who did not respect that some people due actually sleep at night. We got most of our sleep in the afternoons.
The breakfast consisted of a basket of bread and eggs with cheese and salami. The meat and cheese was curling at the edges so obviously wasn't very fresh.
The staff were friendly with the exception of one on our last night. Because we were leaving early in the morning we wanted to check out the night before as reception didn't open til 7. Anyway the woman in question tutted as us when we asked to checkout as she was more interested in playing on the computer in the lounge area. She was very abrupt with us and barely spoke.
We wouldn't stay at the Titus again as it was a nightmare 5 nights. Maybe it would be OK if you were a teenager who wanted to non-stop party but if you want to sleep at night then don't go to the Titus.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerald_starcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I have just got back from staying at the Titus Hotel, went with a large group and stayed in the quad rooms - for the price you pay you cant ask for much more, rooms were clean and tidy, there were sockets for hairdryers/straighteners - which believe it or not some cheap hotels dont provide and there is no curfew - which again some other hotels do have curfews

Really close the Leidseplein Sq - literally 2mins walk and close to Trams that take you into Dam Central - yes the stairs are narrow, was on the 3rd floor so you do have to be careful - especially after a few!! but that is not a negative as most hotels in the area have the same layout.

Breakfast was basic but edible, hotel staff were friendly and accomodating

If your looking for 5* luxury then this is obviously not for you - if your looking for a no frills place to stay that is clean, friendly and a good location then I would thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webber25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

There was a shortage of hotels when we went this trip so we took what we could get. The location was decent, but the room was pretty bad. Dirty carpet, dirty reception. You could not close the bathroom door if you were sitting on the toilet because your knees stuck out of the bathroom. We were situated next to the reception desk so we could hear every time someone was buzzed in. The other couple we were traveling with had a room up a set of stairs that looked more like a ladder. There was no lift so they had to drag their bags up it. They were told they would have their own bathroom and did not. It was in the hall outside their room. There was no breakfast and the employees could have been nicer. Over all, it was terrible. Never again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank taylorstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

A few friends and I stayed here in a quadruple room, for a summer weekend in Amsterdam, as we were attending a huge party down in the Amsterdam arena.

We found the hotel Titus to be great for the price we paid. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor, the stairs were very steep but it is expected in the old Dutch narrow houses in Amsterdam. The room was a fair size, was clean had a nice bay window that overlooked the canal, the Bathroom was also clean.

The hotels location was excellent, it is only 5mins away from Leidseplein.

  • Liked — Free WiFi , View from window, size of room and price.
  • Disliked — The breakfast was not varied enough
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Swoodhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Dark, seedy, dirty, stinking & overpriced. Ok if you want to lock yourself in a room and take hallucinogenics for a weekend as the telly works OK. This place has had no maintenance work done of any description for AT LEAST 20 years. I wouldn't give this place any stars at all, it's disgusting. For the same money you can stay further into the center of Amsterdam and have a much nicer room. Shop around. This place is unpleasant.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Amsterdamaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#301 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#293 of 367 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#286 of 367 in Amsterdam
283 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#274 of 367 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#299 of 367 in Amsterdam
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Titus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Titus

Property: Hotel Titus
Address: Leidsekade 74, 1017 PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Titus 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Titus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titus Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing