We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Excellent Service”
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Freeland Hotel
Ranked #193 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The location is fantastic, just a short walk from the Leidseplein and all its bars & restaurants, and transport connections. Close enough to the fun, but far enough away from the noise.
I was fortunate to have a room on the ground floor so I didn't have to deal with the stairs (except at Breakfast). There can be a lot of noise from people coming in and out, so I used earplugs to sleep and that worked out very well. The room is small, but I didn't come to Amsterdam to spend a lot of time in my room!! It had everything I needed to be comfortable and a surprisingly good shower. The WiFi was really quick too.
Pascale went out of her way to double check the schedule for Bus 197 to the airport on New Year's Day - good thing too, I had it wrong! In fact, every staff member greeted me with a smile on their face.
I was very happy with my selection and will stay here again if I'm ever fortunate enough to return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back and, if you're not afraid of the stairs, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

Perfect location and rooms for the price. As we were three single friends who each wanted their own room and bathroom it had been quite difficult to find somewhere that was suitable. However this hotel was perfect, rooms at the back are nice and quiet and there was room for all three of us to get cosy and watch telly if we wanted! I liked the sort of antechamber to the room, meant you were a bit more removed from any hall/ stairwell noise.
The included breakfast was great, far better than in some southern european hotels with more stars! Eggs, ham cheese toast, juice tea and coffee all served in a very friendly atmosphere.
Reception very helpful.
I thought the hotel was very clean, no complaints there, and the showers were always hot. We'll be back!

Room Tip: single travellers should try rooms 7, 11 or 15 as these are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzychoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Nice hotel,discrete and friendly at the same time.One minute walk to leidseplein , tram stop to central station,bus stop to the airport(197),museums-canals accessible on foot. Quiet in November.Clean room and good private toilet-shower in single room. The room can not be described as spacious but its Amsterdam.!! And it is a nice old red building.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konstantinnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel is fantastically central, being only about 500m from the Leidseplein tram stop, up a well-lit main street - super safe and convenient. The hosts were very friendly and the room was spotless and very homey - felt more like a B'n'B than a hotel - and was very quiet at night, even thought it was a Friday in Amsterdam! Loads of restaurants and bars nearby, and the ensuite bathroom was very clean, with good water pressure and everything in good working order.
The hotel does have *very* steep staircases, and no lift, so if you have many/heavy bags or mobility issues, this is not the place for you, and my single room was not spacious, but it was excellently priced and I loved my stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

we stayed for 2 days 1 night
the reception was at arrival not very friendly, but when we left ( another person) very friendly!

room was not cleaned at arrival time, therefore it is beter to mention that one is alowed tot place luggage at the reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

It's comfortable and quiet, his position is good to reach every place of the city. Service is fine, staff is very nice and helpful, so you feel at home. I think this is the right balance between price and quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland368, Owner at Freeland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Tripadvisor member. Thank you ALL for the nice, lovely and heartwarming reviews on my hotel. Pascale and I hope that we did everything to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.
Summer is coming to its end here in Amsterdam but we're having a warm fall (Indian summer almost...feels like spring again!)) and Amsterdam is beautiful with all those autumn colors... even in autumn and winter this city is a marvelous place to walk around in. We heard that Lonely Planet chose Amsterdam next best place on earth to go to and we're proud of that.

We hope to see you again some day in Amsterdam.

Take care,

Rick
Hotel Freeland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#97 of 372 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#140 of 372 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#275 of 372 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#210 of 372 in Amsterdam
593 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#214 of 372 in Amsterdam
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing