We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get-away”
Review of Freeland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freeland Hotel
Ranked #192 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Get-away”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel freeland is a nice & cozy hotel located at the heart of city of Amsterdam. The owners were very friendly & accomodating. This is a perfect hotel for a short stay & i would recommend it for young couples . Staircase might be narrow, yet it didn't bother us. Breakfast was nice coz we love peanut butter & jelly & tea for breakfast. Yet i miss some fruits for breakfast. Anyway, it's a great hotel @ the heart of the city!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank librasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    148
    59
    14
    14
See reviews for
33
74
110
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

everything is perfect with this hotel. it's owner Pascale is very friendly and helpful. All hotel staff is welcoming and friendly. It is very close to everything you need to see in Amsterdam. We went everywhere on foot (Dam square, museumplein, leidseplein, vondelpark etc.) Rooms very very clean, well decorated and light. Though the room was small, it had enough storage. It was everything that we needed. The price is affordable and it was definitely worth our money. I would sure stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed in sunflowers. it was quiet and on the first floor. i would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banu u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aracaju, SE
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The place is very dirty and poorly maintained. On my third day there were still several strands of hair in the bathroom that were not mine. The smell of mold and mites are everywhere and are terrible for anyone with allergies or even some sensitivity. The wi-fi signal is bad and fail all the time. My room was three days without internet. I requested solution to the problem several times a day and the reception staff all spoke to me as if they had never heard of the problem. they gave me another room at the end of the third day. The bathroom was completely flooded when I turned on the shower because the drain could not give vent to water. They merely placing two mats, one on top of another to retain water. The breakfast was poor and it was not enough.The location is interesting but it is not perfect. The restaurants around the hotel are expensive and lousy, typical tourist traps. With the same money you can stay in a great hotel, clean and wonderful just a few minutes by tram from anywhere in the city. My friends did it and did not repent. I booked a room thanks to tripadvisor reviews and deeply regretted. The stairs are impossible to climb with suitcases. Women suffered greatly when getting on and off.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors seem to be the worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EduardoRezende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As a tourist, I only need a hotel room in which to sleep and clean up, so the small size of the room was not a factor since it was quite adequate. The tiled bathroom was immaculate and possessed a shower head that was divine -- after the restricted shower heads in all of the 4-star hotels I had just stayed in for the previous 3 weeks. A new mattress on the bed and a cozy comforter made for a great night's sleep. The desk clerks were able to make a number of recommendations to me for places to see and eat, all of which were outstanding. Breakfast was hearty, and I was pleased to see packets of peanut butter to go with the jams for my toast. I found the Freeland Hotel to be one of the best bargains I've run across in a long time. It is located within walking distance to everything of importance, and the shuttle bus to and from the airport stops just around the corner from the hotel. At 4Euros, this is a bargain since taxis are quite expensive. For the budget traveler, it's hard to beat this place.

Room Tip: Stairs to rooms on upper floors are very steep, and there is no life. So, if you have mobility probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Surely one of the the smallest single hotel rooms in Amsterdam, yet it is adequate, clean, with shower, single bed, large window, tv (difficult to operate without asking for help). Breakfasts are good value with friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic location, most sights are within walking distance. Also good option for single women travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floors require stamina and good stair sense. Very steep stairs although this is an old Amste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

On arriving I did not find the reception friendly. Was given a key and told where the room was. No other conversation offered. The steps are very steep, the single room very small, though well equipped and clean. Bathroom is of a high standard. The best part was the breakfast - enough and tasty.

I feel for what I got the price I paid was steep. Next time think I will use the amount I spent and book into something where I will get more value for my money.

Room Tip: Avoid the single room - very small. Try get a room away from the street - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivaman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique Hotel View
#79 of 369 in Amsterdam
943 reviews
Kooyk Hotel
#217 of 369 in Amsterdam
584 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#40 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#131 of 369 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#55 of 369 in Amsterdam
265 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#276 of 369 in Amsterdam
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freeland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeland Hotel

Property: Freeland Hotel
Address: Marnixstraat 386, 1017 PL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Freeland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We - Pascale and Rick- offer you a heartily and open-minded atmosphere in our two star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. Beside our outstanding service and hospitality we offer you many free extras: free coffee, tea, internet and wifi in the room, city maps and discounts. That's why we say: Feel good at Freeland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Freeland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freeland Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing