We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #47 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just got back from a few day holiday staying here. We arrived in the early hours of the morning due to a delayed flight so were happy to see someone behind reception to let us in! We just had the basic 3* bed for a couple but were really happy with the room.. The beds were comfortable, especially the big fluffy pillows, and just what you need after a long day. Free tv too so nice to relax in.

The bathrooms were okay, fairly basic but really for the price we paid it was a great room. The bus stop was a few steps away from the door which was around a 10 minute journey, or on the nice nights we walked home from the centre which wasn't difficult either. Nice and quite in the evening, I didn't hear a peep out of anyone! Good bar and restaurant, really couldn't fault the place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,365 - 1,371 of 2,778 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2013. It was very convenient to getting into the city center. The desk crew was very helpful and everyone spoke perfect English. The room was kind of strange and not designed with human comfort factors in mind. The bed was on an elevated platform so you had to step up to get in. This is kind of unsafe when getting up in the middle of the night, though the step was lit up. The toilet and sink were in opposite sides of the room so you had to go across the room to wash your hands. The curtains didn't block out the light well at night. The "sofa" was too deep to sit in comfortably. All in all the hotel was clean and adequate and we chuckled at the strangeness. I suggest the room designer try sleeping in a room one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and have to say it is the ideal accommodation for a stay in Amsterdam. Hotel is very clean, staff very friendly and in a great location. We never ate in the hotel so can't comment on that but going by other reviews it seems to be very nice, albeit a tad expensive.
Location is great! People who have said in reviews it is far away are having a laugh! When u arrive at schipol airport, get the train to sloterdijk(15 mins max). If u walk out the station and round to your left you will see bus stops. Get the bus 48 to hempoint(10 mins max). The hotel is right beside the stop. Easy!!! Get this same bus to Amsterdam Central station (10 mins) and you are right into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam centre. I cannot rate the public transport highly enough, so easy to use. I recommend buying a 24hr ticket if you are intending on using public transport often. Taxis are expensive. 14-17 euro for not even a 10 min journey.
Amsterdam is a magnificent city and well worth a visit. Very happy with this hotel and would visit again.
Just one more little thing, the hotel will hold around an extra 100euro on your card on top of the amount to pay for the hotel just for guarantee. So don't be shocked when u find this out. U do get it back though. Enjoy!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here for a city break over a weekend. Some distance from city centre but managed to walk it - would recommend bus, which conveniently stops just outside the hotel. Hotel itself is lovely, modern. Staff were friendly and helpful - when asked to fix a rather soft mattress, but this was fine on the second night. Rooms were great. Can't fault it, only wished it was a little closer to the centre. Food was also delicious!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bronwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and everything went fine

Like everyone said, the bus stop is right outside the hotel and its very frequent. Our tip is to buy the 24h, 48h bus ticket as soon as you get in Amsterdam, that will save you a lot of money once you pay €2.80 per journey(hotel-city centre and vice versa). The 48h ticket only cost 12 euros and allows you to get as many buses, trams and metro you want.

Back to the hotel, the room was clean and big enough. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reception area is beautifully decorated.

We just think that the breakfast was quite expensive and that's why we had them elsewhere and the bikes they rent cost €16 per day. You might find cheaper options if you look better.

We highly recommend this hotel not only for couples but for whoever wants a bit of comfort while staying in Amsterdam

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We love the hotel - it's very modern, clean with amazingly helpful staff! It has a restaurant and bar downstairs. The bed was not very comfy since mattress was too tough.
The bus stop is just outside of the hotel but sometimes it takes up to 20 minutes to get to the Central Station because of the traffic. Definitely buy a pass since you need to ride a tram if you'd like to visit Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum - hotel sales transportation passes as well as major museums tickets.
Keep in mind - transportation pas is not working for train to get back to airport! The train will cost you 4.40 euros one way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,972 reviews
3.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#74 of 374 in Amsterdam
502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#36 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing