We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hotel was clean, felt like luxury.
Bus stop outside (no.48) was great for getting into centre. Buy a day ticket that covers trams and buses from the driver and check it on the scanner every time you get on and off the tram/train.
Loved Amsterdam, if I was to go aback there I would stay at the Westcord for sure.

The only thing I didn't like was the hotel bar prices and the price for breakfasts were crazy and avoid having them. This wasn't a surprise because hotel bars are normally expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,216
    1,133
    205
    47
    41
See reviews for
389
1,232
91
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

An excellent hotel with wonderful artwork, most of which is also available to buy.

Friendly staff, clean rooms and only a 10 minute journey to the centre.

The hotel also has a bar and restaurant, we only had breakfast which was very tasty and filling.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amal458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in December, 2013 with friends. Located away from the city center, but easily accessible by the No. 48 bus (Night-bus 348) from right opposite the hotel. Its also quite central for access to the airport. Clean, decent-sized rooms and friendly check-in staff. The staff left a personalized welcome card in the room for our arrival (quite a nice touch). Meals were quite expensive though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekMahajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel from the 13th of december untill the 16th..beautiful room as stayed in the Cord Suite..breakfast was nice although could be better by having a wider variety of foods..had room service which was a brilliant service..staff very friendly and helpful about how to get round the city from the bus stop outside the hotel..overall 10/10 for everything

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceydamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed in 4* for four nights it was 10 minute bus journey from Central Amsterdam with bus stop outside hotel. We stayed in 3rd floor, room which was very modern with glass shower cubicle in room & separate toilet. Bed was comfy & large with complimentary toiletries & hair dryer provided.
There was a film crew at hotel & unfortunately came up to our corridor and were noisy but reception moved us straight away with choice of rooms, we ended in honeymoon suite which was excellent separate lounge & massive jacuzzi. The reception staff were extremely pleasant & helpful. Only minus is price in restaurant €18 fir breakfast... Really!! Think they're taking advantage of people who don't want to leave for dinner which is a pity, make it more reasonable & more people will use it!!! Don't expect great views our rooms overlooked railway depot but weren't in room often & curtains closed at night. Only other point would be to keep maintenance up just some marks on walls could easily be touched up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights in a 3 star room since we got a good deal. A little far from the city but we knew this and it was fine since its so easy to get the bus plus the hotel rents bikes for cheap (although you have to fifty euros for deposit). Breakfast and dinner here were too expensive for us. It rained when we were here but in the summer it would be great to use the outdoor pool. The hotel is decorated nicely and is clean. We were almost never there since we were out all day sightseeing so just weigh up if its worth the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CC9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

By the title one may get the impression that there is no other like it. In whole lot of aspects is correct. Let us see:
1.- Well connected. If you go East, the hotel itself is located, literally, 8 minutes away by bus (bus stop is 20 meters away from the hotel entrance. Take 48) from Central Station Amsterdam; by bicycle 15 minutes, and walking at an ease pace 30 minutes, and from there there's a whole world of connections using all sorts of means of transportation; and if you go East to Schipol Airport, across the street from the hotel, there's the bus stop to take 48 to the train station, that is two bus stops away from the hotel. Then you walk for about a minute, go inside the train station and in 30 minutes tops, you will be in Schipol. It's perfect!!
2.- Accommodations. Very good. Neat, clean, not overloaded with stuff. Comfortable, nice and well decorated. The restaurant is simple but beautiful. With nice and heavy wooden tables, and an excellent bar. Rooms, again, as the hotel, simple but nice. Price wise also very good.
3.- the Staff. This is in my opinion, were the strength of the hotel resides. As it should be in any organization that aims for high quality standards. The main characteristic of the professionals that work here, is the sweet kindness with which the greet and treat a passenger. They are great.
Here I have a moral obligation to mention some of them because they definitively make the difference, and there names are: Marieke van Eijk, front desk manager. She is fantastic!! With a capital F. A problem solver with lots initiative. Distinguish with a world of class and style. You come in and if she is there, you don't want go anywhere else. Christo van Ast, bartender. He is a class act. Personable, friendly, excellent in conversation but never uninvited, discreet, with initiative and a truly GENTLEMEN. Laura Wesseling, food and beverage. She is a sweetheart, exactly as the definition says: kind-hearted, nice, sweet, great person, fantastic personality, lovely to be around and just a great person. Common aspect of this fantastic human beings: they are Excellent professionals committed and interesting, open, service orientated, and very friendly.
Finally my only hope is to come here again, stay at this very same hotel, and enjoy this fantastic city, and the world that it has to offer and above all it's fantastic people. I wish you all a merry merry Christmas, and an excellent year 2014.
PS: Message to the owners, you have a great team here.

Room Tip: Take the ones facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanza302003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
3.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.4 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing