We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short bike-ride into town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Short bike-ride into town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in the 3 star rooms. The room said non-smoking but smelled like old smoke but this can't be the hotel's fault because all the rooms down our corridor had 'no smoking' painting on the doors, so must have just been some inconsiderate guests.

The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the telly had BBC 1 and 2 which was nice when we were sleepy from days of cycling. As was the bath - big with plenty of hot water and the free toiletries smelled really nice :)

We couldn't hear any of the other guests when in our room, so had completely uninterrupted sleep and, because the hotel is out of town, there's no street noise from tourists.

The hotel is a 10 minute cycle (or 20 minute bus ride) from the city centre. Bikes are available for rent which we took full advantage of. The surroundings are really nice, right near Westerpark and the Jordaan, which in my opinion is much nicer than the stag-party infested Old Town, is even closer than the centre (perhaps a 10 minute walk?) and has good restaurants and cafés.

The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, answering all the weird questions I threw at them and phoning in endless restaurant reservations for us! Oh, and the reception area is a lovely big open space with lots of art work.

Overall, Amsterdam is designed for cycling so the distance of the hotel from the city centre is not an issue and you get to escape the crowds and get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzycatpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    1,084
    198
    44
    36
See reviews for
355
1,175
90
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

For a three star hotel, this is pretty damn amazing. The beds were heavenly (just as the room)! I had four pillows, all for myself in a comfy bed. That alone is something I like: instead of two silly pillows (you mostly have to share with another person, so one for each), you actually have four (or two pp) decent pillows. As for the look of the room: nothing to say on that either. I also had a good view! When it comes to the breakfast, I can only say that it was perfect. They had everything a breakfast needed and it actually was better than some 4-star hotels I've been to. I really enjoyed the entire look of the hotel as well. But, something which struck me most was the fact that the manager (or at least I think it was him) was always present. He helped out his personnel with a smile, was keen to answer questions, cleaned your table, helped you with your luggage... I don't see that kind of managers often, so that really makes your stay better. Also, the staff was very friendly and you could ask them anything. Always a cheerful answer! Definitely a must go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celidelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
With pleasure, thank you for the great review! Hope you welcome you again in the hotel.

Patrick Wolffenbuttel
General Manager
gm.art@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely hotel, helpful staff and the breakfast and evening meal was fantastic. Lovely art work to see. Not far from town especially if you use the day pass for transport and attractions. Lovely city would advice to go as lots to do and see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cooper94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The front desk staff was excellent, very professional, helpful and friendly.
Very good location with bus stop in-front of hotel to city centre and train station.
Room was clean.
My only complaint was the bed which I found to soft and did not get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meitar, Israel
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

the hotel is located not far from the Central station. room was clean but the bathroom door was broken. breakfast is very good . free wi fi . Simple room includes coffee and tea.
staff are kind.
in general....OK.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Helder, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Manager and staff provided first class service. They were charming and very competent.
The rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean. My stay was very enjoyable. Well done to all the staff.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Manager at WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your great review, it was a pleasure. Hope to see you again.

Patrick Wolffenbuttel
General Manager
WestCord Art Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.3 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
3.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing