We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommendable modern hotel with good wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #47 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is situated a bit outside, but well connected to the city centre/Amsterdam Centraal with buses.
Wifi connection in the room was great!
We didn't have the time for swimming, but the public pool (Brediusbad) looked nice.
If you don't want to have breakfast/lunch in the hotel, there are some nice local cafes just a walk away (Spaarndammerstraat).
It's a matter of taste if you like bathrooms with walls of glass... There were the typical hotel things (shampoo, body lotion, remover pads,...) provided. The toilet is seperated from bed- and bathroom and has no own washbasin.
The air-conditioning worked well, but for us it was enough to open the window.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice hotel, nice breakfast, clean and spacous rooms. Only negative with room is that you can not open window, only aircon. A bit far from city center, but bus 48 is right outside hotel. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great hotel just outside all the hustle and bustle - clean rooms, lovely comfortable beds, all facilities in room i.e. hairdryer, tea & coffee, air con etc. plus free wi fi. Restaurant looked busy although did not use it as it looked a bit pricey - although had a few drinks on the outside terrace which looks over the public pool. A great bonus having the pool which is free to hotel residents. Massive open air adults pool, massive childrens pool and baby dip pool. It was very hot when we were there and our last day decided to chill out by the pool which was full of the local kids and parents having picnics - really great area with snack bar for lollies, drinks etc. Made a change from avoiding the trams. City centre very easy to get to on no 48 bus right outside hotel - bought a 3 day bus pass from reception which allows you to bus and tram jump for 72 hours - great value. Would recommend this hotel very nice - staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineKBroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A more than adequate hotel 10 mins from central station by bus, very clean, nice friendly staff, would not hesitate to book again outside the city centre.
Buses every 15 mins,no 48 outside hotel no need to stay in centre, also night bus 348 stops outside hotel, did not eat in hotel but lager was cheaper than in city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here with a group of 20 lads for a stag do, really up to date modern hotel with all the mid cons wifi etc. From what I gather there are better rooms at the other side of the hotel, 226 being ours which I highly recommend if possible. Plenty of room, whereas a couple of the other lads say their rooms weren't as big. Bit pricey for drink but then it is everywhere in Amsterdam. About a 20-40 euro taxi ride to the centre depending on which taxi driver you were luckily or unluckily given. But all in all a good stay at the west cord art hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GibbinsPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in the 3 star section of the hotel for two nights while in Amsterdam on business. The room was comfortable and clean. Good WiFi was available free of charge throughout the hotel including in the room (I was on the fifth floor).

Breakfast buffet offered a good selection, although on the second morning there was a wait for plates and croissants. The brasserie food in the evening was reasonable, but had I been staying longer I would have had to have looked elsewhere for variety's sake.

The hotel is a pleasant half hour walk from the Centraal Station, alternatively a 10 minute bus ride.

The one let down was the apparent reason that it took a long time to get a lift in the morning (the staircase isn't ideal for those of us who aren't keen on heights) - when I did get in a lift on the ground floor and it went to the basement, a member of the housekeeping team looked disgruntled that there were guests in the lift but travelled up to the fourth floor. As she got out she hit the -1 button, and I assume that it was this action, repeated numerous times, that caused the delay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bad_u_turn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my spouse really looked forward to Amsterdam. We had done the booking online at least a couple of months in advance. We were a bit sceptical regarding the property having read it was far from the city. We took the directions as mentioned on trip advisor by someone who had stayed there earlier. We arrived as per schedule and we're pleasantly surprised to see the hotel. We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the property . We did not have much of their F&B and chose to eat out. We did 02 of the city trips which were the highlight of the stay. The reception staff was wonderful and quite helpful with their information

The last day was a disaster because which I have given average stay rating. My handbag containing my 02 iPads and some clothes got stolen at the reception counter while checking out. The 03 ladies who picked up my bag were caught on camera and the GM did his bit by calling the police etc however it was too late. Please be careful with your bags. The bag was right next to me and the ladies just picked it. It was unbelievable. The hotel needs to have a good security check apart from the CCTV cameras.

Otherwise a lovely stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NikBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.1 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,999 reviews
3.1 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
3.3 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
1.5 mi away
Urban Lodge Hotel
Urban Lodge Hotel
#72 of 373 in Amsterdam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £72 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing