We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish hotel with fantastic rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #44 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel with fantastic rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Travelled to Amsterdam for a long weekend with my partner and friends for a cultural experience! Booked with lastminute.com the Amsterdam Art Hotel. This hotel is magical! Extremely modern and amazing rooms. Huge beds and stylish fixtures and fittings. Was able to park for free in the hotels underground carpark. The hotel is on the outskirts of amsterdam- we took a 10min bus ride into the city centre each day and i think this is the best option as the hotels in the centre looked awful!!! We didnt eat or drink at the hotel just slept off the excesses of the Amsterdam nightlife and for that this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shavethearea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    1,085
    198
    44
    36
See reviews for
358
1,175
90
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

I spent couple nights at this hotel last week and absolutely love it. The staff at the front desk are very helpful. I arrived the hotel before 9:00am and they let me have the room right away. I was expecting the usual "the room is not ready until 3:00pm" statement from most of the hotels that I stayed at in the past.

If you are coming from the Schiphol Airport, it may be easier get off at the Amsterdam Sloterdijk train station instead of Amsterdam Centraal and catch the #48 bus from here. This way, you will arrive at the bus stop right in front of the hotel instead of the one across the road. While the road is not too busy, I found it challenging trying to hop across with my heavy luggages.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryhopper29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

We were a little mindful of other reviews regarding the location of the hotel..... No need to be concerned! The people who have complained that you have to cross a 'dual carriageway/motorway/ mountain ridge etc are talking rubbish. Yes it is a major road but is very easy to cross without feeling you are putting your life in your hands. We booked this hotel through a secret hotel deal via Lastminute.com and after reading reviews were a little apprehensive. We had already booked a 3 day IAMSTERDAM card (will mention this later) online before we left the UK so when we arrived at the airport we just collected the card and paid for our tickets to Central Station. There is really no need to get a cab from Schipol as the train station is right there (platform 2) and the fare is just 3.80 Euros as opposed to 40 Euros in a cab. Arriving at Central Station in around 15 minutes come out of the station and walk towards the bus stops (immediately in front of the tram stops) and go to stop 48 (or 22). Here you can use you IAMSTERDAM card for all your bus/tram journeys and most of the museum tours, you also get a cruise! The trip to the hotel takes about 8 mins and stops outside the hotel (on the left hand side) on the opposite carriage way, make sure you get off at Hempoint. Walk across the carriage way towards the large painted cow - you're there! Going back into town the bus stop is immediately outside the hotel they run every 10 mins and again a swift 8 mins and you are back at Central station.

There was a small queue at the reception desk when we arrived but the staff were quick to acknowledge our presence and apologise for the delay (we were only waiting 3 mins)! They continued to be very helpful during check in and made us feel that nothing would be too much trouble. Our room was in the Art side of the hotel which is the 4* and I think the other side of the hotel is 3*. The room was extremely nice and although the view was nothing to write home about given the location we weren't expecting Sea views and palm trees! We overlooked the rail station at the back but not once did we ever hear any trains. We could see a windmill in the distant background though! The room was very comfortable and perfectly done. The ONLY criticism (ok gripe) that I would have is we didn't have enough tea and coffee (just enough for 1 cup each per day) in our room and kept missing the maid to request more. NO worries we just bought a small pack from one of the supermarkets, hey were English and we loves our tea.

We didn't eat at the hotel as I don't care how wonderful the breakfast was I wasn't paying 18 Euros each for it. Its Amsterdam there are lots of places to eat, go have pancakes. Sadly also didn’t make it to the bar - just too much to do - but looking in as we passed by it did look to be very nice.

The IAMSTERDAM card is a definite buy if you are there for a few days. We purchased ours from Viator and it was slightly cheaper than buying direct from IAMSTERDAM. The card allows entry and queue jumping into most exhibitions, museums, tours and canal cruise AND trams and buses, all for around 50 Euros. We worked out that if we had paid for the visits individually they would have come to over 150 Euros so a no brainer really. Please note the card does not get you to and from Central Station/Schipol so when you buy your ticket into Amsterdam buy your return it’ll save a bit of time on your journey back. Also if your check out time is several hours before your flight, check your luggage in at the station (around 7 Euros) then you are free to continue with your day and haven’t got to go back to the hotel.

We have visited Amsterdam many times before but I think that this was possibly the best visit. The IAMSTERDAM card most certainly contributed as we visited places that we possibly would not have considered before. The inclusive cruise was brilliant and very informative. Don’t hesitate to book this hotel it was fantastic base for getting around the place and then nice and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DupedLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

stayed there for 3 nights,, brilliant, wont look good as ur driving up to it but once u get ur room and meet the staff all well,, the room war bling,the bar is lovly and the staff are lovly what more wount u like,,, taxi from airport 40 euro. others were sayiny 20 but not true,, taxi to squar in 12.00 but buss right out side door for 2.50 each , handy for going in and taxi out after lots of beer,, i would deffently stay there again,bye from ireland

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullock6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times now on business in Amsterdam. Price for accomodation its good value with moden rooms nicely renovated, but only if you stay in the 4* Art Hotel extension building. Parking is expensive at 22.50 Euros as of Feb 2010 in their garage, but less than paying 3 euros an hour to park on the street until midnight if you arrive early.

Food in the bar restauaunt is OK but comparatively expensive, I would suggest eating out in a local restaurant for better value and probably food.

Free internet (wired and wifi) in the room is good for business travellers.

The hotel has recently been taken over by Westcord from Golden Tulip which doesn't really seem to have made a difference yet. The room I was in 338 was good but had a couple of rough edges (edge of desking was broken), so maybe Westcord are still getting their heads round the property. On business I would stay again, but also consider the newer (but slightly more expensive) Fashion Hotel in the same group not too far away. On Leisure I would stay more centrally.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DepDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Westcord Art Hotel ***

clean rooms
friendly staff
all the basics

-no breakfast included (17€ pr.person i think)
-twinbeds was a doublebed (1 frame/2 madresses)
-no toking nor smoking
-boring music in the bar

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K3NN3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

Unlike some of my colleagues, who were put up in the Art portion of the hotel, I slummed it in the Inn portion. Fairly standard European room--the two twin beds pushed together for a quasi-king and an industrial-chic stainless-steel bathroom. Minibar has sensors--which can be good or bad depending on your curiosity. I may have paid 3 times for the same bar of chocolate...

The location is decent. Get a strippenkaart from the front desk and take the efficient bus to either Sloterdijk or Centrum.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereidreamt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
2.6 mi away
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
3.3 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
2.0 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
3.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - The Manor Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Spaarndammerdijk 302, 1013 ZX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam is on the edge of the old centre of Amsterdam, 10 minutes by public transport. The hotel is on the border of Spaarndammerbuurt which is renowned for the world famous Amsterdam School-building 'Het Schip', making it a wonderful area with much to discover. The hotel is easily accessible by car or public transport (bus 22, stop Hem-point). Art Hotel Amsterdam has 190 modern hotel rooms, all with free WIFI internet. In the public areas is an art gallery of the famous Dutch artist Herman Brood. Also in the rooms you will find art above your bed. The Art Brasserie is open daily for a la carte breakfast, coffee to-go, lunch, drinks and dinner. Next to The Art Brasserie is restaurant The Gallery, also used as breakfast restaurant. Adjacent there is an outside terrace with bar and a public open air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tulip Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing