We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #237 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 January 2008

I stayed at the city garden hotel in november 2007 for 6nights with my boyfriend. we found the hotel very nice, our room was smalller than it looked but was just right for what we wanted. hotel staff are friendly and the 24 hour desk made it easy to be out enjoying the amsterdam nights. breakfast was basic but nice and hotel was clean overall, sheets and towels changed daily. would recommend hotel to anyone, definately worth it if you can get a cheap deal, bit overpriced otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xsoph14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    232
    191
    87
    92
See reviews for
129
221
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2007

I would not have gone had I read these reviews however we found quite the opposite. Our room was a triple and was large, as large as a travelinn and well equipped too with tea and coffee making facilities. Our friends had a double which was small but functional.
The breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful.
Only slight negative is one of our party was bitten badly and was told by the pharmacist it was bedbugs, could have been picked up at this hotel but nobody else was affected.
We would go back.

  • Liked — friendly staff, good breakfast
  • Disliked — some rooms small
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zellka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2007

My friend and I stayed in Room 273 and found it to be clean and comfortable. Sheets and towels changed daily, room was sufficient size with tea making facilities replenished each day, breakfast was simple but very edible and the staff, although we didn't require much, were helpful! Internet access available, storage for baggage, definately would stay here again and worth the money. Located on a quiet street beside Vondelpark, PC Hoovestraat, with great shopping and trams. All pictures as per website.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopy-Lou-0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2007

I would definately stay here again. The hotel is close to lots of attractions and bars/restaurants. Rooms are clean as are the bed cloths etc. No sign of the rat. I think they must have done it up lately. So if your on a budget you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — Convienience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk/holland
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I stayed at this hotel in May 2007 and found it to be average.

On the plus side the free internet in the reception area was welcome, the breakfast was exstensive and tasty and the rooms had clearly been recently refurbished.

On the minus side, the room was tiny, even though we were booked in a 'standard' room and not the 'small' room situated in the basement, I dread to think how small that one is! Also on the minus side, the hotel was still having renovations carried out (we were not told this when booking) and a workman started drilling at ten past eight one morning.

The efficient reception staff were helpful with questions and there is a standard tourist information rack filled with details of things to do in Amsterdam.

If you stay here it's possibly best to fork out a few extra euros and stay in one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank junglewig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Pros: Excellent location, great breakfast (included), fairly clean, quiet, comfortable beds, nice towels and sheets, seems like it was recently remodeled. Staff spoke english very well, and were quite helpful. No A/C, but a fan in our room (I've never seen that in a European hotel, but was thrilled to not have to leave the window open in the late spring when it's so bright outside and my kids go to sleep early)
Cons: A little pricey (but it is Amsterdam), and the "cheap hotels" website didn't quite book it right--maybe just go right to the hotel's website to make sure you get the fare right. We also had a mouse in our room (but hung up our food after the 1st night and only a few snacks were ruined). Not a big deal.
We'd stay there again, since the price was average, the location excellent and the breakfast included.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — other noisy guests
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeoddSweven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2007

I was a bit worried about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews listed here. Fortunately, I was pleasantly surprised that most of them were not true. The room was clean and looked as if it had recently been renovated. The breakfast was quite varied and always had lots of food to fill you up in the morning. The bathroom looked newly renovated and was nice. The rooms included your own electronic safe.
The location was a big plus, steps away from Vondelpark, Van Gough Museum, Rijksmuseum and the trams to Centrum. It is also located on a very posh shopping street featuring Hugo Boss, Gucci etc.
The only downside was the room and bathroom were a little small, but that is to be expected in European hotels, but it was by no means a cupboard. I would consider staying there again if in Amsterdam in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlvlxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#204 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#154 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#214 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#123 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#163 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing