We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
86
261
231
98
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
261
231
98
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesigner shopsquad rooma small double roomvan gogh museumlarge supermarketlovely parkamsterdam signshopping streetshort walkclean towelsenglish channelscleaned every daydam squaremuseum areacold meatsstayed here for nightsyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

OK, it's probably nothing new for Amsterdam hotels, but the rooms are very small and not really maintained. The shower cabin in our room didn't have one door and the cleaning was more like trace leaving. The beds are very tough and pillows more for elephants than people. The receptionist couldn't find a bottle opener in the hotel. Over the night there was a lot of noise in the corridors and nobody really took care. Even the fire alarm was triggered one night, but we didn't get any explanation.
But, what one can expect in Amsterdam for the weekend in three stars hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guntheatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My room is right next to the main stairwell and overlooks the street. There is no air conditioning, so the room gets quite warm in the early afternoon, but that's not a big deal - The park is less than a half block away.

Pros: The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our flight arrived very early in the morning, and the lady at the front desk allowed us to store our luggage in a closet until we checked in. The room is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are modern. The location can't be beat - easy access to Vondelpark and Tram Lines, and easy walking distance to Leidseplein, Museumplein, and high end shopping.

Cons: No air conditioning and no fan means that the windows have to be open at night during the summer to be comfortable. Between the paper thin walls and the noise of guests outside the lobby at all hours of the night, sleeping is almost impossible. It is currently 4:15 AM and there are people having a rather loud conversation outside, and there are people whistling and shouting somewhere in the hallway.

Summary: Although the hotel itself, the staff, and the location are great, it seems to attract guests who are exceptionally noisy in the street and hallways in the late hours of the night. If you can handle getting a few hours of sleep here and there, or if you are an extremely heavy sleeper, it might be worth the risk. If you need a full night's rest after a long day of exploring and enjoying a vibrant city, then this hotel is unfortunately NOT for you. I would not recommend this hotel to any adult travelers, anyone with children, or anyone who values sleep. It is truly a shame that such an otherwise amazing hotel is ruined by catering to the youth hostel clientele, and enabling such poor behavior.

To put things in perspective, I am a 26 year old male, and I have stayed here for 4 painstaking nights. I have adjusted my sleep schedule so that I sleep a little bit after breakfast, after dinner, and then from when it quiets down (looks like that will be 5 AM tonight) until breakfast.

Perhaps the manager should look into hiring a security guard and enforcing quiet hours - inside and out. With Vondelpark a half block away, there is no reason for people to be socializing in the street all night as there are no restaurants or bars within earshot of the hotel. I would like to challenge the hotel management and owners to stay in a street-facing room next to the stairwell for one weekend during July 2013. This hotel has so much potential, but changes desperately need to be made.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atbaker1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in this hotel in March 2013, it was Bad!!!
I needed a good night sleep, and I was at the wrong place at the wrong time.
1. Drunk teenagers kept knocking at doors during the whole night.
2. Small double room means no space to move at all.
3. The bathroom wasnt really clean.
4. The tv remote didn't work.
5. Bad isolation, we could hear our neighbours talking even.
6. Nobody could do anything to stop the "kids" from runing around the hotel, till 6a.m. That's when I fell asleep, two hours later, we had to get going.

Good points are the location and a nice breakfast.
If you dont like to sleep during the night, then this is The hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mellic N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stay in the hotel for 3 nights ,my wife and I .When we arrived we received our room ,but we had to wait on the corridor for the cleaning personal to finish cleaning .More ,in a small room ,there was an extra bed .and when I asked the cleaning personal to remove it ,they told me something like `let it be`.Only after I request the same thing to the personal from front desk extra bed was removed ,the next day. Remote control was missing (front desk saved us) ,soap and shampoo missing (again front desk helped us) The handle of the bathroom door was broken.
On the other hand front desk personal was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and the position great.
Parking place for the car you can find on the street,in front of the Hotel, but is not free ,and you had to pay 24 Eu between 9 am to 19 pm ,or 36 Eu for 24 hours ....

Room Tip: Parking place for the car you can find on the street,in front of the Hotel, but is not free ,and you had to pay 24 Eu between 9 am to 19 pm ,or 36 Eu for 24 hours
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogdan3963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews