We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Ranked #238 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Blue Mtns NSW
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a great location for the museums, next door to a park, walking distance to museums and canals. We met 3 different people on the desk - all were helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel each day, a buffet for 10 Euros each - very good value, scrambled eggs, breads and rolls, cold meats, cheeses, jams, coffee, fruit juices - a good start for a day out.
The room overlooked a corner of the park, 3 single beds [2 together as a double], bed linen was spotless, bed and pillow comfortable, loads of fresh fluffy towels changed daily. The bathroom & shower recess was spotless, no mould/mildew, bit small, but not cramped.
Our room was at the back of the building, so we woke to birdsong each day.
Good value and a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the building was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marjie781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    234
    193
    88
    93
See reviews for
129
223
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Out of the hustle and bustle of the centre (very very busy near Central Station) but only 1 minute from a tram stop.
Didnt get a garden view but the street is a no through road so wasnt too noisy on the front.
Wanted a triple room but was a twin room with a third bed in it. Not huge but big enough for me and two teenagers.
Had a first floor room which was spotless with beds made daily and towels changed daily
Website instructions say take train from platform 1 or 2 but it is 3 or 6. Need coins for train ticket, not notes
Breakfast was a bit busy at times, but the cold buffet was fine
Would definitely recommend it to anyone (Did have ground floor rooms but 5 steps up to hotel so if you are wanting a ground floor room double check access)
Staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluepurse1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed for one night in a four people room. The room was small but decent and clean. Staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was ok too. Only disadvantage was that the walls are really thin and we stayed on the ground floor next to the breakfast room. So we woke up early because of the noise. Since we only stayed for one night and planned on getting up on time ourselves, this was not really a big issue for us. The location of the hotel is perfect if you want to stay in Amsterdam for the weekend, and be in the city centre, without paying too much.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the ground floor because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we arrived we were shown to room 408 when you open the door it hit the bed and you had to lift cases over bed to get in. The room itself was filthy and smelt. We reported to reception who said and I quote " yes we know lots of people have complained before " that's always nice to know.
We were moved into 405 which was better but still very poor, the heating did not work, nor did the small convector heater they gave us instead, we were told by them the place was falling apart ! The seats were all marked and stained, the room needed a coat of paint, and the shower was rusty and mouldy. I have travelled all over the world and I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have ever been in. In all fairness the staff were very nice but had no power to do anything.

Room Tip: None of them on forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHILIP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I won't bore you with a long review. The few things that I would of changed:
Bigger or better tv
A frame around the bed (it slopes as it's 3 mattresses)
Lock on the bathroom door

Now those are things I'm really just picking at as the bed was super comfy and soft. The tv shows were hilarious and the bathroom is a tad small so you will most likely leave the door open anyway.

I do recommend this place. Enjoy your stay in an amazing city

Helpful?
2 Thank aaronpaulsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed the one night for business. Small friendly hotel in a very good location. Rooms rather small but clean. Elevator slow!!! Breakfast was reasonable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mordo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

stayed in the city garden last week for 3 nights. the hotel is not your typical amsterdam, small steep staircase mountain climbing type so is easy on the knees. They were in the process of redecorating the reception area but this did not detract from the stay. the double room was very nice and clean overlooking the gardens and park and the breakfast was ok. the main selling point was the superb location for museums and shopping. it was a good walk to the centre of town but a number 2 or 5 tram was a few hundred yards away. the reception staff very helpful and i would certainly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frankkkky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
944 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#214 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#159 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#224 of 368 in Amsterdam
699 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Garden Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Garden Amsterdam

Property: Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 162, 1071 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Garden Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Amsterdam
City Garden Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing