We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly!”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #231 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is very central - really good if you're just off the train and have no idea where you're going.
There is a really nice pub downstairs, all the staff were very friendly. Toilets and showers are shared with other guests on the same floor but we hardly noticed anyone else using them, and as they were kept in great condition this wasn't really an issue.
There is also a very friendly cat which is very fond of people who dislike cats... which was pretty entertaining.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyc773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Old Nickel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

the hotel its self was very good in a great location handy for trains & trams & bars & sights your left to do what you want no staff pestering you in the early morning one fault of that was we didn't get a change of towels all week!!!!the only other main complaint I have is that its says breakfast IS included!!!!but it turns out that if you want it you've got to pay 5 euros each for it so think that should be taken out of advert for the hotel!!!!but on the whole will def stay there again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you're looking for a thrifty hotel located next to Central Station, yet off the beaten path, look no further. The Old Nickel is a classic Dutch building with a classy pub and private/dorm rooms. The rooms and lavatories are kept clean and the staff is welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A very central no frills hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the landlady was a diamond. The room was small but they all are in Amsterdam and all in all for the price I paid it was pleasant and adequate with the added bonus of being above a lovely pub !!.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Maybe if I were with some friends, and on a trip to party I would've liked it.
But I went with my boyfriend to visit the sights, so this was a poor choice.
The room had 4 single bads, and I had to double check to make sure it was not a shared room.


Pros: It's super close to the train station, so if you are backpacking using trains, this could be an advantage.
Also, I saw many complaints on the reviews about noise, but during my stay I had no problems with that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nandabordoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is really one of those awesome finds that happen to come along at the right time. We were booked at another hostel in the area and were experiencing some issues with our room. So we thought it would be fun to go ask around to see how much a night would be at another hotel in the area. At first we walked right by and didn't think anything of it. there was a bar/pub in the lobby and it was a little rustic looking. Helen, the owner didn't try and upsell the place it is what it is she said. she let us take a look at the room, we told her that we would check out a couple more places around and would come back. Before we hit the door she tells us, There is free omelette and coffee in the morning. Firstly, the price of the room was Extremely reasonable compared to the others in the area we had already checked, and then you throw in free breakfast. We were in! Helen was Hilarious! She was so warm and friendly in her own way. The breakfast was actually one of the best things I ate in Amsterdam besides Frit Point. HaHa But honestly a great deal and great food. I would definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravisZenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It's a beautiful place with a lot of charm.
The noise of the bar isn't awkward because the room are good soundproof.
the hotel is well welcoming.
the night I was here, there was a good group of rock and the music is great..


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#294 of 371 in Amsterdam
729 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#183 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#219 of 371 in Amsterdam
199 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,343 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#216 of 371 in Amsterdam
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £84 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing