We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red light hotel”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #232 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 13 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Daniella V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I found this hotel was better than i was expecting. Rooms where clean, beds surprisingly comfy, adequate soap, shower and toileteries etc + TV. The location is spot on too.

The main problem with this hotel was the noise. We possibly got a room in a bad spot (Second floor at the front of hotel) but sleeping became very difficult. Other guests moving around to go the toilet or up and down the stairs (Passing our room) was very loud. On top of this, the noise from outside was even worse with the mixture of what I assume where delivery trucks to local businesses in the early hours, general traffic from the nearby road and numerous people walking past below made it difficult to get a few hours sleep, nevermind a much needed sobering lie in after a night of drinking.

The second main issue was the heating was barely never off and even turning the radiator down didn't stop us either suffering the uncomfortable heat, or opening a window to be met with even worse noise from outside.

I would stay at this hotel again but bring a quality pair of earplugs and a room towards the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very small but clean rooms and comfortable enough. Single glazed windows though, the bin men and road sweepers will wake you up. Smells of cigarette smoke in corridors. Shower was good. Breakfast not bad.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank djsamuellamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

we stopped here on a lads holiday in november its location is excelent on the edge of the rld and litteraly a couple of minutes walk from central station , the staff were friendly and we had no problems with our stay , it was clean but basic with english tv in the room shower/toilet were clean our room could have benefitted from a paint but it was clean ,i wouldnt take the missus here for a romantic break but it is an ideal base for a lads holiday etc

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly24xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Take it from a lifelong housewife, this was NOT a clean hotel! It looked like the bottom sheet of my single bed had been slept on and fortunately there were some clean sheets in the closet, so I changed them myself. The location was very good, but otherwise, I stayed out of my hotel room as much as possible. The stairs are extremely steep and difficult even with a small bag. The TV way up in the corner of the teensy room didn't work either. I would not recommend this hotel unless the alternative is sleeping on the floor of the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My room was on a very high floor with NO heating and it was -3 (November)
I caught a cold and my trip was ruined.
I did report the lack of heating to the staff and was told the maintenance guy was not there that week.
The cleaners must not have been there also as was very dirty.
Carpet did not cover whole floor and ceiling had many cobwebs.
Only thing pleasant was the friendly cat in reception.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#295 of 376 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#188 of 376 in Amsterdam
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#280 of 376 in Amsterdam
245 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,388 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#176 of 376 in Amsterdam
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £71 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing