We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of bar”
Review of Old Nickel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Nickel
Ranked #231 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Review of bar”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We just visited for a couple of drinks, nice big tables, comfy seats, good drinks which are not too extortionate and a big screen which was showing football (zzzz) when we were there. It seemed slightly odd that people were checking in to the rooms at the bar, but not a major problem. There was a nice affectionate cat wandering around the bar. Reminded me of a good ol' English boozer and I would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    147
    104
    53
    55
See reviews for
25
93
91
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

stayed for 3 nights and met all our expectations. The service was very friendly and professional. Good selection at the bar and clean tidy room. The only food available is breakfast but with a wide selection of resturants within seconds not an issue. This not our first or last visit..

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLittle59
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is just across the road from central station, the twin room was small and basic but clean. We only needed somewhere to sleep and the location was perfect for walking around the centre of the red light district.

Room Tip: We had to walk up 3 flights of steep winding stairs to our room, not suitable for those who have dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I found this hotel was better than i was expecting. Rooms where clean, beds surprisingly comfy, adequate soap, shower and toileteries etc + TV. The location is spot on too.

The main problem with this hotel was the noise. We possibly got a room in a bad spot (Second floor at the front of hotel) but sleeping became very difficult. Other guests moving around to go the toilet or up and down the stairs (Passing our room) was very loud. On top of this, the noise from outside was even worse with the mixture of what I assume where delivery trucks to local businesses in the early hours, general traffic from the nearby road and numerous people walking past below made it difficult to get a few hours sleep, nevermind a much needed sobering lie in after a night of drinking.

The second main issue was the heating was barely never off and even turning the radiator down didn't stop us either suffering the uncomfortable heat, or opening a window to be met with even worse noise from outside.

I would stay at this hotel again but bring a quality pair of earplugs and a room towards the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very small but clean rooms and comfortable enough. Single glazed windows though, the bin men and road sweepers will wake you up. Smells of cigarette smoke in corridors. Shower was good. Breakfast not bad.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank djsamuellamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#291 of 369 in Amsterdam
720 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#179 of 369 in Amsterdam
266 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#216 of 369 in Amsterdam
193 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#205 of 369 in Amsterdam
628 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#140 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nickel

Property: Old Nickel
Address: Nieuwe Brugsteeg 11, 1012 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Old Nickel 1*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Nickel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Nickel Amsterdam
Old Nickel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing