We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #74 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
mexico city
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best hotel ever”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

It is a great hotel, close to everything, walking distance to central station, the rooms are great, we received an upgrade to a Superior room, they have complimentary mini bar and nesspresson machine.
It is also great to enjoy their SPA after a full day of walking in the city
The best thing about this hotel is the service, from the front desk, the restaurants and everybody at the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room, facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,137
    1,065
    383
    185
    107
See reviews for
442
2,164
231
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I visited Amsterdam with my daughter and nearly 10 year old grandson from April 26-May2. We were very pleased that we were made to feel so welcome at this beautiful hotel. Our original room was too small for the three of us and we were provided with a larger room upon request that was very comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful, gracious and very friendly.

The complimentary mini bar is a very nice feature. In addition, the hotel is well located and getting around the city was quite easy.

Our vacation was wonderful and we were very happy that we stayed at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

It's a fairly standard 'boutique offering' with two exceptions:architecture and mini-bar.

The building still feels very much much like the former offices that it was. I'm usual all for preserving fascinating architectural features that give character and charm, but this did neither for me. It felt slightly depressing, plodding along the bureaucratic-feeling dingy corridors, and this carried on into the many rooms that face into a tiny interior courtyard. Dim on even the sunniest of days, despite the very high ceilings.

The room itself conforms to 'boutique norms': thick velvet curtains, good linen, nespresso machine, etc.. The bathroom was narrow and uncomfortable.

The only departure from the norm was the "free" mini-bar. Not being a heavy drinker I don't value this highly, but it is welcome not to have an obscene itemised charge for orange juice - although of course it's not really "free", because it's priced into room rate.

The pool and steam room were nice with only me in them (can imagine it's full with say 4-6 guests) and I dislike hotels that make you walk from your room in your swimming stuff because there aren't any changing rooms in the spa/pool area.

Like many Amsterdam hotels, bikes and vespas are available. Perhaps I should have used these because the only test I put to the service team was to get me a taxi which was delayed by 15 then another 20 mins - annoying since I could have walked 5 minutes to the station and picked up a taxi easily if they had just been more honest/used better judgement.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank other1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Fantastic high ceilinged city view room on second floor - none of the windows would open and air con was inoperative so, without fuss, a standing fan was provided. Extremely comfy beds. Free mini bar and Nespresso coffee machine was good but not terribly generous given the cost of the room. Concierges tried to be helpful though info they provided was not always accurate. Restaurant food was high quality and, given the cost of eating out in Amsterdam, was competitively priced. Didn't try expensive 25 euro breakfast but morning pastries delivered to room was cheaper even including the room service charge. Also good value - 13.5 euro pp - was the French breakfast served in the bar between 9a.m. and 12 noon, though they charge for extra coffees which is rather mean in a 5-star hotel. Spa is very good for Swedish style sauna, jaccuzzi and pool which had jetstream so proper swim workout was possible when pool was quiet. My wife had a very professional massage but the pedicure she received was amateurish and not worth it. Very interesting building and quiet, safe location. Expensive and 4 star+ rather than 5 star

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ahne49uq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Couldn't ask for more from a hotel for a weekend break in Amsterdam. Well proportioned rooms with free(!) minibar included in the rate. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Building:
An interesting and quirky building with a few rough edges but makes a nice change from a standard corporate hotel.

Bedroom:
Pleasant if not outstanding room, rather smallish and dark but with very comfortable bed. Free minibar a nice touch. Large comfortable bathroom but with broken bathtap so had to use shower.

Facilities:
Nice leisure area with small pool and saunas/ steam room.

Location:
Handy for station and also for bars and restaurants.

Staff/ service:
The check in and check out process was pretty much ruined by one unhelpful, rude member of staff. I don't expect, especially on arriving mid-morning, to be told that there are no twin rooms left and then contradictoraly and brusquely told to stump up an extra €30 if I wanted one - which I declined to do. The same staff member was disinterested and rude on check out the following day.

The booking process was also unsatisfactory - I had to chase a confirmation arrival which did not arrive within the two days stated, and then the booking information was wrong and I had to email back and forth to change it

Definitely not the service I expect at a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here for an extended spring break and felt very pampered. The hotel is very near central station, which makes it convenient, if in a very busy and noisy area. We chose to pay a supplement to have a very large room overlooking the canal; one side of the hotel borders a busy main road.
The hotel was originally built in the early 20th century as the headquarters for the six Dutch shipping companies, and it is well worth exploring up the stairs to look at the stunning marble, stained glass, ironwork and board room.
It is now a luxurious place to stay with complimentary mini bar replenished each day, excellent housekeeping and other service.
However we chose not to eat breakfast or dinner here as it was very expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,255 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,513 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing