We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury all the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #78 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We booked to stay here for a belated wedding anniversary and practically the first words out of the mouth of the receptionist on arrival was to notify us that they had upgraded us to a superior deluxe room with canal view! The room was beautiful - high ceilings, windows opening out over the canal on a very quiet street, free mini bar (re-stocked daily) luxury bathcare products, widescreen TV with about 200 channels and electric curtains. The concierge was super helpful, providing us with maps and brochures for tourist activities and taxi booking plus giving us the benefit of his experience to recommend places to go. We ate in the bar one night - food was great and service was polite and unobtrusive. Overall, a lovely stay which was made even better by our free upgrade.

Room Tip: Mention a special occasion on booking for a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth7748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,692 - 2,698 of 4,001 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel for four nights in July 2011. I stayed on the 1st floor in room 112. The room was very fancy and certainly worthy of 5* status. However, the bed was very soft.. it had a matress topper on it that made sleep uncomfortable. I still have a sore back a few weeks later. I never tried the swimming pool or other facilities, but overall the hotel looked fabulous. I'd recommend it at a cheap price. I paid £110 per night. Breakfast was not included. That was great value considering a basic 2* hotel can cost the same price (although much lower if booked way in advance of course). My usual 2* hotel costs me £80 per night, so overall I got a great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davey1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very good hotel, Great location and friendly staff. The room was clean and had a nice view, the free mini bar was an added bonus, we got a deal with breakfast included which was ideal for us. The price for it if you don't get a deal is extremely expensive. The breakfast had a nice selection, ideal if you wanted to fill up for a long day. The only slight problem was our electric curtains that had a mind of its own at certain times during the night! They would open and shut serveral times very late night early/early hours of morning! Overall a nice hotel which I would recommend if you can get a top deal!

Room Tip: Try looking on travelrepublic for included breakfast prices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McEwan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Very nice! Love the tall windows and free mini bar. The toiletry items smell really good also. Another is the coffee maker is in the room wiith really good coffee. Really cool swim area! The negative: there are a lot closer hotels to the city center but it has many things near it. It is hard to remember where ur room is because the hotel is large. the maids drive you nuts knocking in the morning. A repair guy came at 10:00 in the morning to change a light bulb that was not requested by us and that was strange. But i would still stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makila10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We went for a city trip to Amsterdam and booked the Amrath in advance. Some of the reviews on trip advisor were a bit iffy, but they couldn't be more wrong.The Hotel itself is wonderful; early deco style with stained glass, and has been very sympathetically transformed from an old shipping office. Our room was tremendous, the beds were very comfy, bathroom lovely and immaculate, television, excellent coffee maker, free bar, breakfast included, and great service, especially booking the museums. The weather wasn't good, and so having the spa was excellent.It was well maintained and was immaculate. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerlygale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This hotel is becoming overpriced, I remember when it opened I paid only $220 per night for a regular room, now it's more than $350. The hotel itself is great, rooms are big and location is very good, close to the train station, historic red district, and the Dam. Their free minibar is well stocked and the spa is very nice and relaxing. Nieumarkt is close which is a great place to buy fresh cheeses and breads. If the price is right, you can not go wrong with this hotel. We spent nice 10 days there.

In addition to the usual travel info about Amsterdam you can find on any travel site, here are a couple of my favorite experiences: (1) "Oriental City" Chinese restaurant is not far and is great for dim sum. (2) Albert Cuyp market on Albert Cuyp street is awesome, there is a guy there who sells the the best "new" herring (late spring, early summer is the best time). (3) Flower market on Singel street is lovely to get some fresh flowers for your room.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourdollared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

It was amazing! The hotel is stunning! Super high ceilings, huge rooms, gorgeous decor. Amazing spa and pool! Concierge service is spectacular! We had an amazing time there and truly enjoyed our stay. Hotel located a few minutes walk across from the main train station, and super close walking distance to everything else. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinanyfedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,573 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#36 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 374 in Amsterdam
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £143 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing