We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage hotel, that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed 3 night in this hotel back in May 2011.
Pro: the coffee maker in the room was pretty cool. And free minibar drinks n snack everyday.

Cons: the hotel is said to be a heritage hotel, For me, that translates to dark, dim, a bit outdated, and stuffy. Maybe because we had room facing the inner court on the first floor. (view: roof from the building, and other people windows, and no sunlight). We requested room with a better view, and they said we need to upgrade and pay more. Apparently our view is the standard deluxe room type. So yeah, not very happy about the hotel. The alleyway is a bit dark and old too.. kinda feel depressing. We were dissapointed, as we read some good review from tripadvisor.

So my advice is, perhaps you get better experience if you pay the more expensive room that has the canal view. We definitely won't going back, and won't recommend this so called heritage hotel.

Room Tip: choose the most expensive room, than maybe you get a good view and a good experience. Other than tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squinting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,631 - 2,637 of 4,037 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

I chose Grand Hotel Amrath for the location and it's uniqueness but apart from that I was not impressed. I found pubic hairs in the bathtub, a moldy shower, scarred countertops, and smelly , dark corridors. The "business center" was a small room with a few computers, a printer, and very bad lighting. Not what I consider a real business center.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Hotel was great, staff friendly and helpful. BUT, We thought breakfast was included. The first morning in the dining room, they said it was not. We had breakfast that morning. The rest of the week stay we ate elsewhere or brought something in. While I do not mind paying for quality, $50.00 for two did not seem like a good value. We also checked with the desk clerk and were told it was not included. When we checked out the clerk saw the one day breakfast charge on the bill and removed it as it was supposed to be included.
Our room was next to an old elevator bank that just went up and down creaking and grinding all day. Our view was of a parking lot. The mini bar liquor was not replaced for three days as it was a weekend and holiday and they ran out. This is a very nice perk which you come to expect. The electric curtains open and shut of their own volition. Not so great if you are trying to sleep in.
I would stay again, the staff including housekeeping were great. The room was large, attractive and comfortable. I would definitely clarify details on breakfast and views.

Room Tip: specify canal or water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

stayed at the Amrath last week for 3 nites.. when we arrived at 5 pm there was only one person at the desk he was laughing on his cell phone for approx 5 minutes while my friend and I waited to check in... This older man did not even look up to acknowledge that we were there. When he hung up he pointed to a room across the hall where we sat down at a table to register...The staff is very un interested in their guests... this is a long shot from a 5 star Hotel...travelers beware. stay at the Marriott, its around the corner...however the beds are excellent

Room Tip: not on the main street.. too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is an impressive building - a 30s/gothic 'wedge' across from the central station, with a major road on the one side, the quiet canals on the other, with the red light district a few blocks away and large offices in the other direction.

Up close you're struck by the quality of the build - interesting bricks/tiles and lovingly-burnished wooden fittings.

The staff are immensely friendly from outside the door, via reception to, well, just everyone.

The interior layout is quirky - it feels like an interior from 1984 or Brazil that's been refurb'd, leaving the underlying inflexible oddness of the building untouched.

As a result the room are utterly weirdly shaped. Mine (407) was a 'dog-leg' shape with a small bedroom area (large by Parisian standards ;) ) then a seating area then an immense and lovely bathroom.

Odd, but charming. I really liked it.

Some excellent touches deserve special credit:
1) free, good-quality wi-fi throughout. Bravo!
2) free mini-bar. Everything in the mini-bar is included within the room rate and it's replenished every day. Lovely touch, instead of being gouged €10 for water etc.

So - wonderful so far.

My only caveat is that this is not a 5-star hotel. It's a characterful, friendly 4-star in a memorable building. It's therefore at least 20% overpriced if you're paying rack rate.

With a good price/deal I would love to stay here again. Without that there are other interesting hotels in Amsterdam I'd prefer. Tip therefore is to watch out for deals :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The location is great 2 mins from central station, The room was nice with lots of plus points and the staff did there job to a ok standard but not really 5*,(lost some items i had asked to be ironed for most of my stay)
The free mini bar is the best thing about the place stocked with good branded names, the wellness center was also cool overall had a good stay there apart from the food.
The food is better off left alone, breakfast for 25e was so bad more like a bad little chef but worse, the hot buffet was cold rubbery eggs burnt crispy bacon crap sausages cold beans make your own toast with only stale bread available.
They really need to make a change in the kitchen and or management as food safety management is way out there is no way in hell it is keeping its food at or above 63ºC.
Chef Paul Dingjan and his brigade did not tickle my senses just made me alittle ill.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaronkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had a fabulous time in Amsterdam. We had two rooms and they were both extremely comfortable. We all loved having the free minibar and Nespresso machine. The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is very close to the station and the tram. The staff at the hotel will help you to find great restaurants, hire bicycles and sell you tickets to the museums so that you do not need to queue.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carobrooB-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,594 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,401 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
408 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,545 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £142 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing