We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Stay and Just as good as first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2nd Stay and Just as good as first”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Excellent hotel, lovely rooms and service always clean.

Location is perfect whether first or tenth trip to Amsterdam great transport links

Not much needed to say if you can stay here!

Room Tip: Get either canal or city view rooms have stayed in both and nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelldonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LEON IN LEEDS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great location near the central railway station, ideal just 5 mins walk around the corner. Great access to all of Amsterdam via the pleasant side streets and canals behind the hotel. Hotel itself is stunning huge Art Deco and all rooms are large and ornate. Stayed over Valentines this year, staff were very friendly, despite some other reviews they couldn't do enough to help us.

Another plus point ... free, well stocked Mini Bar & Nespresso machine.

I will book here again next time I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickasha, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

It was a challenge at first. Nobody showed me to my room, so I didn't know you had to insert the key card into the wall to get any power. It was freezing in the room and I called for help. A staff member came up and showed me the heaters and the power solution. After that, it was all a wonderful stay.
The bed, bathroom and room service were all good. I slept wonderfully and the inclusive mini bar was well used and restocked.
The food was great. I loved the Bittenballin'.
Check out was easy, and I was greeted appropriately daily.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a canal view. It was magnificient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windblown O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed there for a weekend break. On arrival, had to wait for 5mins for 3 reception staff to acknowledge us then major difficulties taking payment by our credit card. No apologies from staff. They then pre authorised 100euro per night even though we paid upfront. We had to ask for the refund on checkout. Whilst hotel facilities are extremely comfortable and it's in a very central location our stay was dampened by our experience I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was to the side of the hotel, very quiet but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Pros: Close to Central Station, imposing bedroom and bathroom with high ceilings, fixtures and fittings. excellent bed and bedding, 3 pin UK socket, free mini-bar (loved the nougat), quiet, very friendly and helpful concierges. Cons: Reception staff not very welcoming or friendly, location for city centre, no bedroom drawers, faults with the bathroom such as dim lighting, shower not very formidable and screen leaked water onto the floor, no magnifying mirror or shaver socket. Recommendation: if you don't have breakfast at the hotel try the Cafe Waterloo, good food, excellent service, reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try to avoid an inner room, but ok if the price is right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Not your normal Hotel but a beatiful old building. The location isn't in the center of the city, but close enough to walk to everything. Also, it is in a quiet section, if there is such a thing in Amsterdam. We rented the 'junior suite', which had a great bay window overlooking the river and on into the city. The staff was often busy and we waited on them often to help us out. However, they gave us great reccomendations for dinner and local events. A great place for couples getting away to see the city.....but a bit pricey....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed at the Amrath Hotel in Amsterdam for 7 nights for a business trip.

The good -
1. It's very close to the central station, and lots of restaurants, but it's not actually IN the red light district, so you avoid all most of the really loud crowds. It's also on a fairly major street, so getting a taxi to get where you are going was really easy.

2. The Nepresso machine in the room was good, and it was refilled 2 times a day. Since I used it quite a bit we were happy with the quality. However, I had to filch milk from the office I was working in because I never saw the people who refilled and they only left 2 a day.

3. Free Mini bar and WiFi. Very nice for a working a working trip. And the mini bar is filled 1 time a day every day, not just 1 time during your visit. Lovely.

4. The room was a bit small, but well decorated, and the separate tub shower was really nice. Lots of counter space for everything, and a REAL hairdryer!

The okay -

1. This hotel is right at the edge of the Red Light district, so to get anything to eat you have to walk into the coffee shops etc. If you are there are play this might be fun, but for a single person, the after a busy night was not too pleasant, and you are a hike from any shops that aren't absolutely geared for tourists.

2. The picture of the spa area looks fantastic. In reality it's quite small, and the workout room is small as well. I had to wait 20 minutes to get on a bike. Luckily it was nice enough most of my visit to just walk outside.

3. Breakfast is 30 Euros for the buffet, and you can't order off a separate menu, except through room service. However the buffet is nice, includes good latte's, and you can order your eggs how you like them, so no dry scrambled from the chafing dishes.

The bad -
1. I got the cheapest room they had, which is interior to a court yard. The building is an odd triangle shape so there are windows onto a "courtyard". The thermostat was set to heat, and I could not make it cool down, and the room had 1 window that opened about 1 inch, and since the window wasn't outside there was 0 fresh air. The room ended up being REALLY stuffy. The last night the room was so hot it was almost unsleepable. If you stay here, make SURE you get a room on the exterior of the building.

2. My husband meet me for 2 nights on the way to work in Austria himself. He spent one afternoon in the bar, where he reported the food was bland and the service was slow. However, the beer was good.

3. The "wardrobe" is a joke. It has 2 tiny little sides to hang things with a few drawers. Barely enough for me, must less 2 of us.

Basically this is a interesting old hotel. Don't bother if you can't upgrade to a nicer room. And if you are on business, or with a family this is not the area of Amsterdam you want to be in, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't book an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vic7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing