We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will picture that room in my dreams...always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I cant say enough! The rooms are breathtaking with 20ft ceilings, sweeping quaint city views from grand windows that open to the lively night air. All of my discretionary spending will go into making this a yearly destination.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the canal/city view
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTFOODIE555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,919)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,531 - 2,537 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

Excellent hotel, lovely rooms and service always clean.

Location is perfect whether first or tenth trip to Amsterdam great transport links

Not much needed to say if you can stay here!

Room Tip: Get either canal or city view rooms have stayed in both and nice views!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelldonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great location near the central railway station, ideal just 5 mins walk around the corner. Great access to all of Amsterdam via the pleasant side streets and canals behind the hotel. Hotel itself is stunning huge Art Deco and all rooms are large and ornate. Stayed over Valentines this year, staff were very friendly, despite some other reviews they couldn't do enough to help us.

Another plus point ... free, well stocked Mini Bar & Nespresso machine.

I will book here again next time I go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

It was a challenge at first. Nobody showed me to my room, so I didn't know you had to insert the key card into the wall to get any power. It was freezing in the room and I called for help. A staff member came up and showed me the heaters and the power solution. After that, it was all a wonderful stay.
The bed, bathroom and room service were all good. I slept wonderfully and the inclusive mini bar was well used and restocked.
The food was great. I loved the Bittenballin'.
Check out was easy, and I was greeted appropriately daily.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a canal view. It was magnificient.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windblown O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed there for a weekend break. On arrival, had to wait for 5mins for 3 reception staff to acknowledge us then major difficulties taking payment by our credit card. No apologies from staff. They then pre authorised 100euro per night even though we paid upfront. We had to ask for the refund on checkout. Whilst hotel facilities are extremely comfortable and it's in a very central location our stay was dampened by our experience I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was to the side of the hotel, very quiet but no view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SatisfiedIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Pros: Close to Central Station, imposing bedroom and bathroom with high ceilings, fixtures and fittings. excellent bed and bedding, 3 pin UK socket, free mini-bar (loved the nougat), quiet, very friendly and helpful concierges. Cons: Reception staff not very welcoming or friendly, location for city centre, no bedroom drawers, faults with the bathroom such as dim lighting, shower not very formidable and screen leaked water onto the floor, no magnifying mirror or shaver socket. Recommendation: if you don't have breakfast at the hotel try the Cafe Waterloo, good food, excellent service, reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Try to avoid an inner room, but ok if the price is right.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Not your normal Hotel but a beatiful old building. The location isn't in the center of the city, but close enough to walk to everything. Also, it is in a quiet section, if there is such a thing in Amsterdam. We rented the 'junior suite', which had a great bay window overlooking the river and on into the city. The staff was often busy and we waited on them often to help us out. However, they gave us great reccomendations for dinner and local events. A great place for couples getting away to see the city.....but a bit pricey....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,466 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,532 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,302 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £163 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing