We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have stayed here a few times, and the service and room quality is generally very good. Majority of rooms are on the large side. We booked for a valentines birthday recently, our room was a bit disappointing (not the superior deluxe we had booked) however the manager did move us to a fantastic room... So a big thank you for making our stay special. The location is great, facilities excellent and the free mini bar an added bonus .. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Dont stay on th top floor ... Attic rooms (4th floor) are very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,519 - 2,525 of 3,995 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay here and can't recommend it highly enough.We got a deluxe superior room with city view for a bargain £115 per night ( have paid nearly £100 per night on last 2 trips for 2/3 starred places that were quite frankly cess pits ).

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly smiles and cheerful staff and we were taken aback by how much they went out of their way to help us with anything.Free mini bar in room which is restocked every day was a big bonus for us and the bathroom was the best i have ever encountered ( shower was huge and luxurious )...Girlfriend loved it!!

You can get a good look at them on google images.

Like another reviewer said the huge floor to ceiling curtains are electronic and no one had told us,We were lying in bed at 1am after just getting back when all of a sudden the curtains started to open which freaked the pair of us out and for a second or 2 we thought someone was in the room with us before we realised they were electronic ( this also happened a couple of other times so can only assume that someone else opening/closing their curtains had activated ours as well ).

There was 1 minor issue we had,we stayed in room 200 and we had problems with the lock from day 1,our porter who took our bags to our room thought it was just his card playing up when we first arrived but after 2 days of having our key cards replaced due to not being able to access our room it was finally found to be the locking device on the room that was not working properly.they did offer to get it fixed immediately after realising it was a lock problem but as we were leaving the next day we decided it wasn't worth it as it would have meant disruption in the room if we were in there.

Overall - nicest hotel i have ever stayed in and friendliest staff...will be staying here again on next trip!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheshirekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Hotel was fantastic. Right across from Central Station, far enough away for peace and quiet but close enough to do lots of exploring around the streets of Amsterdam.

Got upgraded to Junior Suite and mini bar is well worth the stay. The barman Justin was great making us a Manchester Mojita so check it out if you go!!!

The only thing I will advise is that they ask for 100 euro deposit per night on arrival so be prepared.

Otherwise fabulous ... Amterdam is great

Room Tip: Any is fab - however our suite came with a Jacuzzi Bath and curtains that open and closed remotely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The entry is a bit strange, without service to carry bags up the stairs, but inside thing are better. The booking seems a bit chaos, as all requests seemed to be lost, for us, but also for all other guests in the reception. No problem - upgradfe for all! The superior rooms are nice. Free internet and free minibar. Coffee and tea facilities. Great swimming pool with hammam, saunas, wirlpool etc. Breakfast is the normal standard. Service is typically Amsterdam style - friendly but very direct. Excellent for families for a winter break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Ok. I usually don't write reviews but for my last vacation I really valued the reviews. The Amrath is a beautiful hotel. The staff was very very helpful. We had booked a deluxe city view room and got upgraded to a junior suite. It was nice The bathroom was very spacious. Loved the tub. The mini bar was GREAT and refilled daily.
We had a bad experience with the 25 euro breakfast. The waitstaff were rude and we had to ask 3 different people before we finally got some coffee. It was decent food but not worth the money. I don't mind spending on food but this just wasn't worth it.
The only other thing was the location. I thought it was a little far from the places I like to go. It was a longer walk then we liked. Although the taxi ride was never over 10 euro.
Just to review our stay was overall nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently spent three nights in the Grand Hotel Amrath and it proved to be a fantastic experience. The Hotel itself is magnificent. Built in the Dutch version of Art Deco style it oozes class and style. Make sure you check out the wonderful stained glass around and above the main staircase. Also, don't miss a sightseeing trip onto the roof where panoramic views across the whole of Amsterdam are truly a sight to behold.
The staff were all both friendly and professional who spoke extremely good English. Nothing was too much trouble and we treated extremely well. We must give a special mention to one of the waiters called Fausto. He was the epitome of great service and equally valuable advice about how to make the best of our stay in Amsterdam. We will remember him.
Finally, the quality of the catering in the Hotel was truly outstanding. Breakfasts were terrific and on the last night of our stay we decided to try dinner in the Seven Seas restaurant. We should mention that this point that we've eaten at some of the best hotels and restaurants in the world. The dinner we were blessed with in the Hotel Amrath was one the of very best we've ever had. Delicious duck two ways for the starter, Turbot and Loster for the main course and a mouthwatering chocolate and strawberry desert were all heavenly. The chef is a genius. Make sure you eat there the next time you're in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel provided exactly what me and my travel companion were looking for: a local feel, location walking distance from most of the tourist districts, spacious room and common space to relax. The location was nearly ideal for a tourist vacation -- assuming a short walk does not bother you. The Amrath is not a long distance from many of the city's highlights, but far enough away to provide a respite from the center of town. I recommend the hotel, especially if you are able to find an excellent deal (which is what drew me to the hotel at first).

A few minor issues:
-The remote-controlled shades opened on more than one occasion when (I assume) someone in a neighboring room opened theirs
-The fitness room leaves something to be desired - the machines are outdated and not in the best repair
-One day we did not put up the "Please Clean Room" sign and our room went uncleaned (and we did not have a "Please Do Not Disturb" sign up) and it took 3 calls downstairs and until 10pm to have the room cleaned

Despite these setbacks, the hotel was a nice compliment to a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faraday0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,570 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,525 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#89 of 374 in Amsterdam
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £144 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing