We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, great bed, interesting building and architecture.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice room, great bed, interesting building and architecture.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed at Amrath, Amsterdam end of January, early February 2012. Easy walk from train station even with luggage and in light snow! The building and architecture are beautiful, inside, not what one would expect to see as a hotel. But, one must remember the history of this building, as it was once a great shipping house! Staff were great, the breakfast room a little chilly, so bring your scarf or sweater. Room so very comfortable with free mini bar stocked day and night. Concierge very accomodating and will supply you with printed history of building, which I found very enlightening. Make sure you get a room overlooking the canal!
Great prices and location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passion4travel296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,040
    1,032
    361
    175
    93
See reviews for
412
2,066
220
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Stayed three nights in early 2012. Location is excellent, in the city centre with all the major attractions within a reasonable walk. Also situated just a couple of hundred yards from Centraal station, easy walking distance with a suitcase.

The hotel itself features as a city sight in the Lonely Planet guide, the nautical detailing to the exterior is matched by the elegance inside of the public areas. Check out the intricate glazing detail at the top of the main staircase and the myriad heads and brick/railing detail on the external elevations.

The room was a reasonable size for a city centre hotel, with a decent bathroom, inclusive minibar and remote control curtains! Staff were friendly and courteous (didn’t even get an opportunity to use any Dutch as their English was so good) and service was swift.

All in all, hard to fault.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PneumaticKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath for 3 nights in February. I had found a very good deal for a Superior Deluxe Double through Hotels4you. We opted for the room only option which I would say is the best value for money as Amsterdam hotels are renowned for overcharging on their breakfasts. Plus its rather nice to leave the hotel before the city starts to fill up with the other tourists, there are plenty of lovely cafe’s with waffles, pancakes everything you could possibly want nearby.

The hotel itself is very impressive, you feel like you are walking onto a movie set with an impressive marble entrance hall and staircase and beautiful ironmongery everywhere, specifically tridents as I believe the hotel use to serve the sailors a long time ago!

The room: I have stayed many times in Amsterdam (9x) and have experienced a variety of lodgings, but the floor space you get in the Amrath was the best by far. I had done some research on their website before we visited and I saw that there were a few 4 poster superior doubles. So just in case one might be available I emailed the hotel directly to ask if it was possible, we’d very much appreciate one of the four posters. It can’t hurt to ask right! And it didn’t hurt at all! The staff were very charming on arrival and we were indeed issued with a four poster room – the most incredibly comfortable bed, which made it very hard to get up in the morning. The room came with a large en-suite bathroom – to be more specific the bath was enormous – to put it in prospective, my boyfriend is 6’10” and it was the first time I have ever seen him be able to stretch out his legs in a bath tub! – glorious for a long soak after trudging around the city. Not only did the bathroom have a huge deep bath it also had a fantastic power shower and double basin.
The Amrath also provides a complimentary minibar in the room. This is a fantastic perk, it is well stocked with soft drinks and wine and beer and is replenished every day.

The Staff: I must just mention the concierge guys, they were so helpful and charming. All the staff in the hotel are multi lingual it seems and couldn’t be more helpful.

There is a lovely bar on the ground floor where afternoon tea is served on Sundays, it is quite popular, so make sure you book.

Location: We arrived by train from London and walked only 10 minutes max to get to the hotel – so easy! Even though you are not right in the centre of town the perks of the Amrath location is that you don’t suffer from the noise from the late night life all around you in the centre. The hotel is well placed for the trams which take you everywhere or even walking, which we did allot of, it really wasn’t far from all the main attractions.

Now it does sound too good to be true going from my comments above, but nowhere is perfect.... so I have to mention only one thing that annoyed me. The flat screen TV in the room was fixed on a bracket against the wall but could not be angled so you could watch from the bed. And the remote control itself was AWOL for the first 2 nights as the maid had made the bed over it from the previous tenants. But this certainly no reason not to stay here – we had no time to really watch TV with all the exploring of the city!

All in all a fantastic trip to the Dam, the best hotel I’ve stayed in there to date. If any travellers want to ask me any specific questions on the hotel do get in touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a four-poster before you arrive - you might get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have stayed here a few times, and the service and room quality is generally very good. Majority of rooms are on the large side. We booked for a valentines birthday recently, our room was a bit disappointing (not the superior deluxe we had booked) however the manager did move us to a fantastic room... So a big thank you for making our stay special. The location is great, facilities excellent and the free mini bar an added bonus .. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Dont stay on th top floor ... Attic rooms (4th floor) are very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDHerbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay here and can't recommend it highly enough.We got a deluxe superior room with city view for a bargain £115 per night ( have paid nearly £100 per night on last 2 trips for 2/3 starred places that were quite frankly cess pits ).

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly smiles and cheerful staff and we were taken aback by how much they went out of their way to help us with anything.Free mini bar in room which is restocked every day was a big bonus for us and the bathroom was the best i have ever encountered ( shower was huge and luxurious )...Girlfriend loved it!!

You can get a good look at them on google images.

Like another reviewer said the huge floor to ceiling curtains are electronic and no one had told us,We were lying in bed at 1am after just getting back when all of a sudden the curtains started to open which freaked the pair of us out and for a second or 2 we thought someone was in the room with us before we realised they were electronic ( this also happened a couple of other times so can only assume that someone else opening/closing their curtains had activated ours as well ).

There was 1 minor issue we had,we stayed in room 200 and we had problems with the lock from day 1,our porter who took our bags to our room thought it was just his card playing up when we first arrived but after 2 days of having our key cards replaced due to not being able to access our room it was finally found to be the locking device on the room that was not working properly.they did offer to get it fixed immediately after realising it was a lock problem but as we were leaving the next day we decided it wasn't worth it as it would have meant disruption in the room if we were in there.

Overall - nicest hotel i have ever stayed in and friendliest staff...will be staying here again on next trip!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Hotel was fantastic. Right across from Central Station, far enough away for peace and quiet but close enough to do lots of exploring around the streets of Amsterdam.

Got upgraded to Junior Suite and mini bar is well worth the stay. The barman Justin was great making us a Manchester Mojita so check it out if you go!!!

The only thing I will advise is that they ask for 100 euro deposit per night on arrival so be prepared.

Otherwise fabulous ... Amterdam is great

Room Tip: Any is fab - however our suite came with a Jacuzzi Bath and curtains that open and closed remotely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The entry is a bit strange, without service to carry bags up the stairs, but inside thing are better. The booking seems a bit chaos, as all requests seemed to be lost, for us, but also for all other guests in the reception. No problem - upgradfe for all! The superior rooms are nice. Free internet and free minibar. Coffee and tea facilities. Great swimming pool with hammam, saunas, wirlpool etc. Breakfast is the normal standard. Service is typically Amsterdam style - friendly but very direct. Excellent for families for a winter break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing