We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were looking for a short break in Amsterdam to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary and 60th birthday's. What a great find. The hotel was terrific, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and immaculate and the leisure facilities were very good indeed.

We were intrigued by the idea of a 'free bar' in the room and sure enough it was this is a really nice bonus and being able to have a drink before going out in the evening was a novel experience, we normally would not consider taking a drink from the bar in a hotel room!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew House S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,477 - 2,483 of 3,966 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed this last weekend for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary.

We got a really good deal for a superior deluxe room. When we arrived we discovered we had been upgraded to a city view room with a four poster.
The room was excellent with just a couple of negatives. It was far too warm and we found we couldn't reduce the temperature much using the air con. They provided us with a fan, which did help. You may ask why we didn't just open the window, but as we faced onto the front of the hotel there was too much noise from the traffic! We opened one when we were just resting in the room but as soon as we wanted to sleep we had to shut it....so for those of you used to traffic noise this wouldn't be a problem but if like us you need a quiet room ask for one facing onto the canal!
That aside the bed was really comfortable, we had both a shower and a big bath, which was very welcome after a day spent walking the streets of Amsterdam! As said in another review, the shower is brilliant but unfortunately has an open side which means the water goes all over the floor! Luckily it has underfloor heating which helps to dry it up quickly.
The towels are fluffy, large and white. Changed regularly and bath products etc topped up.
As said by many before, the minibar is free and the coffee of excellent quality.
All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and the room cleaned to a good standard. We used the pool, sauna and steamrooms one day and they are perfectly adequate for the hotel, although I like my steamrooms more "steamy"

We didn't eat in the hotel as we felt the price a bit steep for breakfast. Its not far to walk out to other places for a decent breakfast at over half the price! we would also then go straight off sightseeing.

The position of the hotel worked for us. Only a few minutes walk from the station, a very easy journey to and from the airport. We enjoy walking and didn't find it too far from all the restaurants and the sights we chose to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights at the end of Febuary 2012 and fell in love with this hotel,it really is a beautiful Hotel with large rooms.free mini bar staff great leave you to get on and enjoy your stay but will be there to help if needed.
just a five min walk from Central station and ten mins from all the main places in Amsterdam.
if i was going back to Amsterdam i wouldnt stay anywhere else,check all websites for great deals on this hotel as you will find some fantastic offers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and i chose this hotel because well it was a 5 star and we got an insane deal some sort of flash sale online....i would have paid at least double for the experience that we had.
we opted to have the hotels taxi service to pick us up.. they were extremely professional and very helpful in every way. also the car was a stretch s class mercedes with fresh fruit and refreshments inside for us we paid 140 euro for round trip airport transfer WORTH IT!
we arrived in hote and ill admit this was the one disappointing moment. it was my fault in my head i figured i would get upgraded and it didnt pan out. we stayed in a supreme delux city view. room was amazing like 18 foot ceilings the bed was so so so comfortable everything was so clean. the shower didnt have a door that was very stupid as water got everywhere.. the open shower seemed like they were trying to hard but it was fine. the free mini bar was amazing its exactly what it sounds like free drinks alcoholoic and non alcoholic drinks for free!!!!! refilled EVERYDAY.
The staff was so so helpful and sweet they took care of my every need and was always there for us. they were chilled and relax but always acting professionally. you cant beat the location PERIOD. no questions asked you must stay in this hotel.
i should say i usually am hard to please but i simply just fell in love with the place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in 2 rooms for 5 days in March, 2012 at the Grand Amrath. Very pleased-grand room with 30 foot high ceiling, updated furnishings, beautiful bath. The bed was really comfortable and the shower was terrific.Minibar is stocked every day and contents including wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks are free! Nice sauna and hot tub in basement.
Beefs: As noted in other reviews, the motorized drapes may spontaneously open in the middle of the night due to picking up remote signals from other rooms! Also room was not ready at check in time, a real problem when we arrived exhausted from overnight flight. Also strange lack of hand towels.
Location is about 3 blocks from Central Station, but still a nice residential area too.
Overall, a great hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardworkerEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and i stayed at the grand Amrath for 3 nights at the end of Feb and we're glad we did! This is a great hotel with friendly staff who are always happy to help. On arrival we were allocated a room on the ground floor and asked to change to a higher floor (the room was great but we wanted sonething with a better view). This was sorted out quickly and the room was HUGE! Great big windows with remote curtains that keep almost all light out....great when u need some hard earned sleep. The bed was very comfy and of course we'd read other reviews about the minibar and it's true and a nice treat, helps yourselves it really is free! Oh and they provide free wifi.

We can't say enough about this hotel it really is a beauty to look at and smacks of history with interesting touches on every floor....worth a wander around! We didn't try the breakfast as we thought and additional €20 per person wasnt worth it. We did use the spa though and had the whole place to ourselves.... sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and pool, all great, the treatments were good but not great value.

It's location is great and only a gentle 5min walk from central station, the next time we go to Amsterdam we'll be staying at the Amrath.

Stayed: February 2012
Thank malaki05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed here lasy year in august, we were given a free upgrade to a deluxe room.We loved this hotel.Free mini bar was very good and restocked everyday.The room was lovely, with a luxury power shower and a massive bath.Worth every penny and a very big comfortable bed,never have i slept better than in my own bed.Location is very good just opposite the main train station (as you leave the station go left and then go over the bridge,cant miss the hotel its on the corner).Breakfast was nice, great selection not worth 15 euros unless you like contintental cold meats and pastries thou.

Room Tip: room facing the back overlooking canals.Might be classed as city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,496 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,337 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £146 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing