We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #67 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked four nights at this hotel in late Feb and paid about £100 per night. For a hotel in Amsterdam this was outstanding value for money! This is a genuine 5* hotel, with large, clean and comfortable rooms that have good facilities, large TV's, coffee machines etc. The hotel itself is a gorgeous art-deco building as you can see from some of the photos.
The location is great, a five minute walk from the railway startion, near to tram stops but close enough to walk to most tourist attractions. It is worth noting that to get to many of the tourist stops the quickest walk takes you across three streets of the red light district, however to be honest it was so amusing that it actually added to the experience!! The red light district is not particularly seedy or intimidating as you might think.
The staff all spoke great English and were always happy to help with our requests such as booking a table at a nearby restaurant or finding a vase for some tulips we have bought for our room! The leisure facilities are good with a pool, sauna etc and small cardio room that are all clean and tidy. Each room has a free mini bar, re-stocked every day which was great and good quality wi-fi. The only thing we didn't try was the restaurant as there were so many others nearby so we couldn't comment on that. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again should we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,040
    1,032
    361
    175
    93
See reviews for
412
2,066
220
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

It is by far the best hotel i have ever stayed in, we got a good deal through booking.com , and we stayed there 4 nights, the location is great next to the central station And 5 minutes away from the tram.

It was freezing cold in amsterdam when we were there, but hotel temperature was ideal, we were away from all the noise on the street, and the hotel was on a highway and there was noise outside

The nespresso machine is a treat when you wake up in the morning to have one very tasty cup of nespresso,what also helps the hotel's cause is the fact that you get a free mini bar, refilled daily and there is all sorts of stuff there.

The hotel might be pricey but i tell you that it is worthwhile, it might be boring in terms of restaurants and bars , but it is never something i look for in a hotel, when you are in Amsterdam there are plenty of places to stay out, and who would wanna stay inside the hotel in the coolest city in Europe.

I highly recommend this hotel if you wanna add a touch of luxury to your Amsterdam trip..

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Naguizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Brilliant place to stay.The entrance doesnt do the place justice.
But look from the outside and you know this place is unique.basement has gym, swimming pool, steam room, and the rest to boot. Which you find out is popular when you see the amount of people walking around in dressing gowns, through out the hotel.
Rooms. stunning, and the height, excels itself, the remote control for the curtains is needed.

The bar is, friendly, inviting. and overlooks the canals. The staff, were brilliant, with directions, and taking care of us in the freezing winter weather.
All this and then they throw in a free mini bar. which at first you think. might just be one or two drinks.....this thing was full. infact. its a shame that amsterdam is an amazing, beautiful city. As could quite easily have spent days just in the hotel.

Brilliant location 5 mins, from central station.righ on the canals, close to shops.great palces to eat.
make sure you get a good look at the stairwell.roof

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrichor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were looking for a short break in Amsterdam to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary and 60th birthday's. What a great find. The hotel was terrific, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and immaculate and the leisure facilities were very good indeed.

We were intrigued by the idea of a 'free bar' in the room and sure enough it was this is a really nice bonus and being able to have a drink before going out in the evening was a novel experience, we normally would not consider taking a drink from the bar in a hotel room!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew House S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed this last weekend for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary.

We got a really good deal for a superior deluxe room. When we arrived we discovered we had been upgraded to a city view room with a four poster.
The room was excellent with just a couple of negatives. It was far too warm and we found we couldn't reduce the temperature much using the air con. They provided us with a fan, which did help. You may ask why we didn't just open the window, but as we faced onto the front of the hotel there was too much noise from the traffic! We opened one when we were just resting in the room but as soon as we wanted to sleep we had to shut it....so for those of you used to traffic noise this wouldn't be a problem but if like us you need a quiet room ask for one facing onto the canal!
That aside the bed was really comfortable, we had both a shower and a big bath, which was very welcome after a day spent walking the streets of Amsterdam! As said in another review, the shower is brilliant but unfortunately has an open side which means the water goes all over the floor! Luckily it has underfloor heating which helps to dry it up quickly.
The towels are fluffy, large and white. Changed regularly and bath products etc topped up.
As said by many before, the minibar is free and the coffee of excellent quality.
All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and the room cleaned to a good standard. We used the pool, sauna and steamrooms one day and they are perfectly adequate for the hotel, although I like my steamrooms more "steamy"

We didn't eat in the hotel as we felt the price a bit steep for breakfast. Its not far to walk out to other places for a decent breakfast at over half the price! we would also then go straight off sightseeing.

The position of the hotel worked for us. Only a few minutes walk from the station, a very easy journey to and from the airport. We enjoy walking and didn't find it too far from all the restaurants and the sights we chose to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights at the end of Febuary 2012 and fell in love with this hotel,it really is a beautiful Hotel with large rooms.free mini bar staff great leave you to get on and enjoy your stay but will be there to help if needed.
just a five min walk from Central station and ten mins from all the main places in Amsterdam.
if i was going back to Amsterdam i wouldnt stay anywhere else,check all websites for great deals on this hotel as you will find some fantastic offers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and i chose this hotel because well it was a 5 star and we got an insane deal some sort of flash sale online....i would have paid at least double for the experience that we had.
we opted to have the hotels taxi service to pick us up.. they were extremely professional and very helpful in every way. also the car was a stretch s class mercedes with fresh fruit and refreshments inside for us we paid 140 euro for round trip airport transfer WORTH IT!
we arrived in hote and ill admit this was the one disappointing moment. it was my fault in my head i figured i would get upgraded and it didnt pan out. we stayed in a supreme delux city view. room was amazing like 18 foot ceilings the bed was so so so comfortable everything was so clean. the shower didnt have a door that was very stupid as water got everywhere.. the open shower seemed like they were trying to hard but it was fine. the free mini bar was amazing its exactly what it sounds like free drinks alcoholoic and non alcoholic drinks for free!!!!! refilled EVERYDAY.
The staff was so so helpful and sweet they took care of my every need and was always there for us. they were chilled and relax but always acting professionally. you cant beat the location PERIOD. no questions asked you must stay in this hotel.
i should say i usually am hard to please but i simply just fell in love with the place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing