We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tale of 2 rooms in a Quirky Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A tale of 2 rooms in a Quirky Hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Amrath is a hotel in an historic building in the old city part of Amsterdam. Stayed there 6 nights in mid may. Here is the good and the not so good: Hotel is not disability friendly with steep front steps and no obvious alternative. 4th floor attic level rooms which we started out with are narrow rectangles with shower/bath combo and very deep tub - not easy, possibly risky access for older compromised to get in/out. Moved to a 3rd floor room, much quieter and more room with separate safer shower. Hotel full service restaurant serves 25 Euro FULL breakfast opening at 0700 versus Hotel bar with limited menu serving 13 Euro breakfast - croissant/eggs/juice/baguette/ham/cheese/coffee (enough food for 2) opens at 0900. Hotel has an a la carte room service menu with lots of breakfast choices - only available as such with room service for which they add 7 Euros. Better deals found across from the Central Station which is a 5 minute walk - also great dining choices nearby (pubs, Asian, bistro food etc) Basement level spa area has nice pool, sauna, steam room, too cool hot tub with very high ladder access and a very poor fitness area with equipment you wouldn't have in your home. WIFI and minibar as advertised. Staff are nice, helpful. Strongly recommend requesting early check in if you are coming in the AM as we witnessed a couple being told to return at 2 for check in or pay an "upgrade fee." (We asked for early checkin via Expedia which worked well with no additional expense - you will be tired if you have flown thru the night.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterlogged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,104
    1,054
    375
    181
    102
See reviews for
426
2,136
226
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Recently, I got to enjoy a lovely 4 night stay at the Grand Amrath. Great location, only a few minutes walk from Central Station.
My other half and I came to Amsterdam to celebrate his birthday and recent engagement. The hotel staff upgraded us to a Superior Suite and we were left a piece of cake and card upon arrival.
The location is great - only a few mins walk away from the canal boats etc.

We got to enjoy its Spa which is open from early morning until 11pm. We also each had a massage which was good and I recommend emailing them to book prior to arrival.

Free Wi-fi, coffee machine and Free minibar which was replenished everyday!? yes - this went down a treat.

If I was to pick out any negatives, it would be the unbelievably expensive price for breakfast and drinks a the bar. I would highly recommend venturing out and enjoy the restaurants of Amsterdam. We had an amazing meal at a Tibeten restaurant in the red light district area.

If you're use to going to 5 star hotels anywhere outside of Europe, you might find the Amrath slightly disappointing. Personally, I found the decor of the hotel outdated and in some areas, it needed upgrading but I appreciate that it may simply be not my taste. There was a malfunction in the electrics, so one morning our curtains open automatically at around 7am, which gave me an enormous fright. Rather poor selection of tv channels but I guess you don't go on holiday to watch tv in your hotel room.
We were given a double room - but the bed was simply two singles put together so we kept falling in between the two.

Although we highly enjoyed our stay, I would recommend shopping around for discounts and avoid paying full price to stay at the Grand Amrath.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazchan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had a fantastic time here. The location is excellent being within easy walking access to all areas. We decided to walk to the Museum Quarter and with all the stops we made to look around us, it seemed to take no time at all. One useful stop was the V and D department store at the top of Kalverstraat where we could have a late breakfast (think it opened at 10:30). We also liked being near the station which has several shops. There are lots of good restaurants nearby. I particularly recommend Pier 10 on the water through the station.
We had a spacious superior room with canal view. We liked the period decor and the lovely bathroom. We enjoyed the Full and French breakfasts; the former was so large that we didn't need lunch. We also enjoyed an evening meal there with their recommended wine pairings. All the staff we met were lovely and they left me a beautiful cake to celebrate my birthday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The building in which this hotel is located was initially shipping offices built in 1912. The conversion to a hotel has maintained many lovely architectural features yet with very modern fit up of the rooms. It is located fairly close to the Central Station yet away from some of the very busy streets. Our room overlooked a canal and St. Nicholas Church. Huge windows make for a great view yet thick drapes mean it is dark at night. We generally ate breakfast in the bar/lounge - with a supply of world newspapers. The service is fantastic, particularly a very helpful group of concierges. We would definitely book here again!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the city/canal to the south are likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

This most unusual hotel, from the archtectural and 'theme' perspective, is well located with just about the most comfortable bed I have eve slept in. The staff are helpful and friendly - it was perfect for my wife's birthday.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing