We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late bookings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2008

At the suggestion of Dutch in-laws, we checked the late bookings office just up the straat from the train station. Our rate was half price for 2 nights at The Grand. My then 8 year old daughter was enamoured with the bathroom's square toilet seat. The indoor pool/spa was beautiful and inviting. The bed luxurious. Walking distance close to the town center, canal boats and trolley we happily explored the beautiful old city. Definitely a splurge, even at half price.

Stayed: June 2004
1  Thank troutmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,198 - 3,204 of 4,107 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2008

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and is infact a 5-STAR hotel. The rooms were large and the bathroom had a huge tub and a great shower also. Beds were so comfy and its seems they have remebered every little detail of anything you could possibly need.
Free mini bar (5 x spirits, 2 x beers, 8x soft drinks, 2 x orange juice, 4 x waters all in bottles as well as chocolate and nuts oh and red and white wine) this is refilled everyday. This was a great bonus for our 2 night stay!!
Staff are lovely, barman gave us free drinks as it was my dad's birthday and joined us in a toast.
Decor amazing - marble staircases and beautiful designs on the glass.
A truely memorable hotel - book early at booking.com for a great deal. Our room was superior deluxe.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alicat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

My wife, my two children and I have just returned from a very nice weekend at the Amrath - which is excellent located in the center of Amsterdam. Although not my personal style, the room was great; Superb beds!, electric curtains, nice bathroom, big TV and a nespresso machine. Our room was also very quiet - face towards the canal. We loved the swimming pool and the SPA area, which was very tidy and clean. The hotel itself, I would rate to between 4 and 5. The reason for our 5 was the very kind and warm service we recieved by the staff. Will definetly be our choice the next time we visit Amsterdam as well.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carstenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

Stayed here the weekend after Valentines day with my Husband.

The location is great for the train station.

The hotel was beautiful and the room was very comfortable and luxurious.

The staff were very friendly.

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and the food and service was lovely.

Had a great stay and would not hesitate to book again.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Lisa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

The Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is one of the most impressive architectural hotel developments in Europe in many years.
The buidling an old shipping house has been transformed into a luxury 100 plus bedroom hotel which is truly 5 star.
The property has kept all its old designs, stained glass, marble and winding staircases.
The bedrooms are facinating constructed from old offices while the conference rooms, wine vaults and cocktail bar are all remnants of times past
The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is sumptous.
The hotels location is on the quieter side of a lively red light district but still near enough to be at the centre of action witiin a 5 minute walk.
This is a must do for all lovers of luxury, charm and location at a reasonable price

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2008

This is a fantastic hotel, real 5 star luxury. My partner and I stayed here in February 2008 on a 3 day city break. The hotel is in a great location for the city centre and only a few minutes walk from Central Station. The unusal building is interesting and very well renovated. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the harbour and despite a main road outstide it was very quite. The rooms are lovely with beds to die for. Very large and comfortable. We had the free mini bar option which was very welcome. We tried the resturant one night and the food was excellent if a little expensive.
The one thing that made this hotel so great was the friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. This is what a 5 star hotel should be like.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Red-Breast-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naominicoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
574 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#30 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#19 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,605 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £147 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing