We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT STAFF. GREAT BREAKFAST. WONDERFUL ROOM.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #67 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAFF. GREAT BREAKFAST. WONDERFUL ROOM.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I, stayed earlier this month for 6 nights.
Once again all the staff,I came across were friendly,professional and very helpful.
All the concierges,bellmen, receptionists, managers, bar,minibar,breakfast room staff and cleaners made me feel very welcome. ELLEN BASTING and Linda Van Polen managers,know their profession so well.. Anton,is the concierge I,spoke to the most and he is so helpful and a mine of information.
My room was upgraded to a junior suite which was a beautiful room. The cake and card in my room was a lovely touch and sincerely appreciated.A slightly belated birthday treat.

On this trip in the hotel,,I only ate the Full Breakfast. The buffet has all you will wish for. Please ask for French Toast. It will be made fresh for you,on request.Delicious,Chef.
I,like the table service for hot drinks,which is very helpful.

The bar is a quiet area which has an excellent selection of drinks and barfood.

This hotel is unique and if you like ultramodern chain hotels,it may not be to your taste.

I prefer,non-chain hotels. I like a more personal service which this hotel provides in abundance.

The warm welcome,starts at check-in,during your stay and check-out.

Please try this wonderful hotel.

If you do,I am sure you will enjoy your experience. It also has a great ,quiet location. However,near to the Central Railway Station and near to the metro and tram stops.

Room Tip: Please ask the room type ,such as location,when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,040
    1,032
    361
    175
    93
See reviews for
412
2,066
220
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just returned from an excellent weekend at the Amrath in Amsterdam. We went on a Secret Escapes deal which was fantastic - breakfast not included but not a problem as we always like to explore the local cafes and restaurants (of which there are many). Our deal also included a private transfer from/to the airport, which is always a blessing. The interior decor of the public areas was rather grand - lots of marble and quite art deco. The room was excellent, with very high ceilings and a fabulously comfortable bed. The bathroom was tucked round the corner which was a good idea - more secluded. The toiletries in the bathroom were 'Rituals' which is a really good organic product. Slippers and robes also provided. A really good bonus was the free minibar which was replenished each day. The staff were extremely gracious and efficient and we were delighted to be presented with a birthday cake for my partner\s birthday. Lovely touch. The only hiccup was the fact that the room was not cleaned on two mornings when we returned late afternoon. The staff were most apologetic and dealt with the problem immediately. However I did feel the situation was unacceptable and certainly not in line with a 5* establishment. As for the location of the hotel - perfect - and in Amsterdam (as in Paris) you want to walk everywhere, avoiding the bicycles of course!. All in all a great place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCandNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

A friend booked this hotel based on the 5 star rating but upon check in I was stunned that this run down hotel has such a high rating! The rooms were dark and horribly decorated not welcoming at all ! There was no soundproofing and the noise in the hallways was aweful , you were able to hear every door slam and conversation throughout the day & night. not a restful sleep.The towels and bath robes were worn, dingy, stained and fraying. The amenities were not of the caliber of any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed. The hotel said they accepted Amex however upon check in they said they prefer not accepting it. I could not use my American Express for the stay even when Amex customer service contacted the hotel. The hotel restaurants/ bar had a very limited selection of entrees and the quality was again not the caliber of a 5 star establishment. My friend stayed and I checked out and went to another hotel.
Overall this hotel did nothing but disappoint. please know, there are far better accommodation options to be had in the area. Would not recommend the Grand Amarath!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Perfect location, very helpful staff and fab facilities. We stayed for our anniversary and had asked for a quiet room - exactly what we got. Lovely touch to be personally welcomed and congratulated by the manager and to find a Rituals gift set and champagne with a hand written note in our room. The rooms are spacious (Amsterdam rooms are usually tiny) and quiet and the curtains block out all light and the bathrooms amazing with huge deep bath and separate shower. The spa area was heaven - we had it to ourselves and was a perfect way to relax in the afternoon. The complimentary mini bar is also a welcome touch. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel apart from mini bar but spent plenty of time relaxing in it and we can't wait to return. It's definitely our first choice for Amsterdam now - a city we enjoy visiting at least once a year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Had a very enjoyable 3 nights staying at the Amrath in Amsterdam after finding a good deal online. Highlights were the luxurious spa facilities, art deco surroundings, complimentary mini bar and large beds. We didnt use the restaurant or bar as there are so many other options locally, so can't comment on those, although the surroundings looked nice. Service was good and the hotel very quiet - I was barely aware of other guests. The only very minor issue was a lack of storage space for clothes and the lighting in the bedroom was a bit dim, which may have been a issue if I'd been travelling on business or for a longer stay. Would stay there again without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is in a very good location next to the Central Station. I really liked this hotel and its definitely 5 star! The good points are as follows:

Fantastic Superior Delux room -

-beds were incredibly comfortable.
-the room layout was excellent with high ceilings and tables and chairs present. Large wardrobe was bonus.
-The mini bar was free.
-The bathroom was nice and modern with a large bath tub and separate shower. Large mirror present in bathroom which was nice.

Other good points:

-Fantastic breakfast choice, from eggs, bacon, sausages, beans to cereal, yogurt, pate and cheese. One of the best I have ever had!!!!!
- Location - lots of cafes around the hotel. Close to all the attractions.

Bad points:
- The receptionist staff were quite rude and not very friendly (at check-in).
- Heating in the room was not very effective and when you turned on the radiator it made lots of noise.
- The breakfast for 2 people totalled EUR 50!! This was pure madness. Unfortunately breakfast was not included in our room rate so we had to pay separate. 2 coffees in the hotel bar totalled EUR 8 which was also exessive.
- The taxi we ordered from the hotel to Trouw nightclub charged us EUR 25 and when we got taxi back it was EUR 10, so beware of rip off taxi drivers who think that they can overcharge guests who stay at this hotel due to its 5 star rating and take the long route as opposed to the normal route.

And yes it is true, the hallway carpet is a red colour and it does resemble the hotel featured in the Shining film which was funny....

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel, there was no room noise so fantastic noise insulation and simply a good quality room. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VVNJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Perfect service, easy-to-reach location, very nice room. Well cleaned, up to date standard. Wonderful breakfast. SPA - facilities with even a turkish sauna included in the price. We had an incident with water- leakage in our room and the staff worked so hard for our sake to keep us feeling welcome. Which we absolutely did. Would visit again, would definitely recommend to everyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank niner070
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing