We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #69 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Jan. 2013 at the Amrath hotel. It's location is excellent near Dam Square, canal cruises, Hop-on-Hop-off Bus and RR station. Room and bathroom were very clean, bed very comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. Free mini bar a plus. Originally a harbor shipping house the hotel has an interesting history and decor ranged from Art Nouveau stained glass windows to objects from Indonesian culture. Concierge would happily print out a history of the hotel explaining all its fascinating design features. It's a must for an architect or anyone interested in design. We highly recommend the Amrath and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Voyager7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    1,056
    375
    182
    103
See reviews for
428
2,140
229
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here last month for the second time.
We had a wonderful 3 night stay in a city view suite.
The hotel is amazing and the staff so friendly and helpful.
5 minute walk from Centraal station and 20 mins walk to Dam square and several attractions.
Food at the hotel is good but expensive. Free minibar and WIFI are also great.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORSET
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel 15 - 18th February 2013, The hotel is totally unique the décor and style is worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel. We stayed in a deluxe double room on the 2nd floor. The room was very large with kingsize bed, fully stocked free mini bar was replenished each day. The bathroom was outstanding, huge bath with two power showers in a walk in shower. Staff were very friendly and happy to help. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the railway station and there are some lovely restaurants close by. I would highly recommend the canal cruise, tickets can be purchased from a shop close to the hotel and are slightly cheaper. We paid 8 euro for a good 1 hour trip all round the canals. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MICKROW66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam, with easy walking access and distance to the train, Dam Square, the Red Light District, etc. The hotel historic, with its floorings and finishings was wonderful. The staff courteous and friendly, and ammenities were available. A "GREAT" idea , is their complimentary mini-bar.....and my hats off to them for providing it. This was not my first stay in Amsterdam at a 5 star property, and I would choose and recommend the Grand Amrath for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskatoonbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed for 1 night the staff were so helpful and polite.Are room overlooked the canal and was very comfortable superb bathroom (also the largest curtains I've ever seen in a hotel room !) .The bed was very comfortable ,also the mini bar s free.The pool and spa centre was excellent .The hotel is located in a good position easy walk to central station etc,I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Nice view on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We arrived early at 9:30am after a grueling 16 hours trip. Receptionist allowed us to check in right the way so we could get much needed rest. Service from all staff was incredible. Free mini-bar was definitely a big bonus, refilled daily with soft drinks, juices, water, wine, various liquor, bag of peanut and chocolate bar. Expresso machine for free coffee and tea. Location is quiet and central, minutes walk to train station and Dam Square. Free WiFi in room. Did not have time to check out the Spa which has a swimming pool and sauna. Will definitely return for future trips.

Room Tip: My single room in the basement was much bigger than the single room that my friend stayed in upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank coolandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Cannot fault anything. Rooms spacious, food fantastic, breakfast so much choice and wellness spa lovely. Well done to all the staff who make staying here such a warm and comfortable experience. Loxation is excellent too clise to Central station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AxtonHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,412 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,495 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#86 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing