We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend break”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I took my husband to Amsterdam for a long weekend as a birthday treat. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath and were absolutely delighted with the choice. The hotel is amazing when you first spot it as the frontage is very gothic in appearance - also close to the station so very handy for weary travellers. On arrival we were led into a seated reception room where the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. As soon as they realised it was my husband's birthday they upgraded our room and we were not disappointed. The room was huge and very comfortable, enormous bed and very well appointed bathroom - with our own jacuzzi bath. After a long day out taking in the sights of Amsterdam we returned to the room to find a card and chocolate cake waiting as a birthday gift from the staff - a lovely, unexpected touch. The swimming pool is great and includes two saunas, steamroom and jacuzzi, with plenty of fresh clean towels and water available at all times. The hotel itself is a historical building which everyone staying there should take the time out to wander around and check out the original features - they are stunning. The Amrath is in a very convenient location within easy reach of the city centre but not so close that you are bombarded by people and noise. Overall our stay was excellent and I would definitely recommend a stay at the Amrath. We will be returning there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillyAlan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Impressive architecture. Excellent facilities. First class restaurant.
The hotel is very close to the Central station. Very easy to go from the airport.
It is a real five stars hotel. The staff is very helpful. Our room was very big with high windows and a beautiful view to the city and the canal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmenferresamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel was so wonderful that we must write this overwhelming review. The room was luxurious spacious, food excellent, staff so serviceminded and the location just top!
My wife and I have travveled to many places around our globe and stayed at many luxury hotels. This was one of the top 5 we.ve experienced.

Room Tip: Just book this hotel for your Amsterdam stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonte65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We've just returned after 3 nights at the Grand Amrath and we had a fantastic time in Amsterdam in this lovely hotel. All the staff that we came across, including reception, concierge, chambermaids and waitresses were all very friendly and helpful. Hotel is 5mins away from the station and everything else is also in walking distance, including canal boats and trams. We stayed in a deluxe room and enjoyed the comfy king sized bed, huge bath, power shower, free mini bar and free Wi fi. The room also had really high ceilings so made the room feel a lot bigger. Room was always clean and made up by the time we returned late afternoon and the maid also came round early evening to check that we had everything that we needed. The choice at breakfast was amazing....smoked salmon and a class of Prosecco!! The only negative thing I would say about the breakfast is that my partner, who had the typical "English" breakfast, said that the food wasn't very hot at all. I think this is because there seems to be just heat lamps and not an actual hot plate. Apart from that, it was delish!! We also used the swimming pool and jacuzzi, which is open until 11pm!! All in all, we had a lovely time and if we were visiting Amsterdam again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jenniferand2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Great location and handy for trams and centraal station. Hotel has been sympathically styled in art deco true to its roots. The design is very impressive and the rooms are bigger than most in Amsterdam.
Nice touch of free minibar, wish other hotels would do the same. Only niggles were afer being out all day our room not made up two days in a row. Maid washed our wine glasses in the bathroom sink which put me off and I felt was not very '5 star service'.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheruba35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My bf and I recently got engaged and this was our first holiday together, we arrived around 9:30am and they offered an upgrade to junior suite! We had a massive room fantastic river views and free mini bar and made full use of the wellness spa.

Having researched a lot of hotels for out trip I found this to be the best with regards to price/ reviews and area. It is right by the central station and damrak and its a short distance from all other major attractions.

The staff were incredibly friendly and we couldnt believe how lucky we were with this hotel. It truly is a gem and i would definetly recommend this hotel for couples. Its a beautiful hotel and i cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RB10624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Lovely if not a little quirky hotel. Bit of a maze when trying to find my room. Constantly getting lost on my floor. Room itself was lovely. Free minibar was enjoyed. Location good - only a few minutes from central station and 5-10minutes from most of the major tourist attractions.

Helpful?
18 Thank travelbug256
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing