We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel was simply excellent.....

We stayed for a weekend break and would deffiantely stay here again it was true 5* hotel.

The hotel mini bar is free and we took full advantage of this and was topped up daily, the room was spacious and as grand as the hotel its self.

The facilites on site were excellent it is an ideal choice for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A fantastic hotel, with lots of privacy, great four poster beds and friendly staff of all shapes and sizes (usually correlating to the task they are undertaking) prepared to welcome you and show you around, including the wine cellar.

The rooms are decorated to a very high standard, with fun electric curtains (albeit only one setting), useful four poster beds, durable dressing gown ties and a fantastic view from the bedroom over Madge's canal boat where you can catch a glimpse of local culture as you watch her and her family going about their lives.

The bathroom was of an equally high standard, and the quality of the bubbles provided were second to none.

In constructive criticism, the spa centre was fantastic, although there was often confusion over whos turn it was to use the jacuzzi (we found assertiveness helps), and the steam room is operated by a mysterious button that can only be found after several minutes of sitting in the cold.

Overall, a great stay. Would definitely go back, if only to re-try out the curtains.

Room Tip: The west wing is very private (except for the occasional inappropriate room service interruption) wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We booked a room for two for 4 nights. The room was on the second floor, windows facing the street. Yes, it was a bit noisy but hey, it's a big city. If you're choosy, I'd recommend a room on the higher floors or facing the canal.

The room was in great condition and the free minibar was great as well! The only minus was that the room was a bit cold but we asked the staff if they could do anything about it and they immediateely brought us an extra radiator. Problem solved! Also, there was a bit of a problem with the housekeeping (the room was not cleaned properly) but it was fixed straight away after we made a notification of it.

Overall, the experience was great and we'd recommend it to anybody who wants to add a bit of luxury to their Amsterdam trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Brilliant, stayed here for my 21st with my now wife. Hotel is amazing inside with all original features.

Staff very friendly I lost my iPhone charger and they charged it in their office for me whilst we went out.

Mini bar was stocked up every day and was free! :) dressing gowns etc.

Swimming pool/jacuzzi/sauna facilities top notch

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 242roberto242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Impressive looking hotel but not the closest to all the sights. Large rooms with nice bathrooms. The pool and saunas were luxurious also there was a small gym. We took the deal with the free mini bar that was filled up daily

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blissfultranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Pros
Great look of the building (a bit like a castle)
Very comfortable bed and lining
Free minibar and swiming pool
Jacuzzi-like bath
5 min walk to the Central train station


Cons
Very noisy at the street view rooms
Very cold due to Huge (3meters) and very old windows
Small hall would not impress your girlfriend
Poor internet connection (2mbit/sec and needs to reconnect often)
Thin walls (easy to hear the toilette of your neighbors


Small details:
Nespresso coffee machine and teapot in the room
High ceilings (4meters)
Nice smells of shampoo and gels (by Rituals)
Soft water so the soap is hard to wash out

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alexey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I took my husband to Amsterdam for a long weekend as a birthday treat. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath and were absolutely delighted with the choice. The hotel is amazing when you first spot it as the frontage is very gothic in appearance - also close to the station so very handy for weary travellers. On arrival we were led into a seated reception room where the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. As soon as they realised it was my husband's birthday they upgraded our room and we were not disappointed. The room was huge and very comfortable, enormous bed and very well appointed bathroom - with our own jacuzzi bath. After a long day out taking in the sights of Amsterdam we returned to the room to find a card and chocolate cake waiting as a birthday gift from the staff - a lovely, unexpected touch. The swimming pool is great and includes two saunas, steamroom and jacuzzi, with plenty of fresh clean towels and water available at all times. The hotel itself is a historical building which everyone staying there should take the time out to wander around and check out the original features - they are stunning. The Amrath is in a very convenient location within easy reach of the city centre but not so close that you are bombarded by people and noise. Overall our stay was excellent and I would definitely recommend a stay at the Amrath. We will be returning there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillyAlan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing