We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Been here 4 times to date in a variety of rooms. This last visit was a superior in a canal-side view. Yes, you do pay more but as a special treat its worth it. The architecture of the place is just great and its a uniquely designed building. I won't repeat the previous comments about room details as they are correct. Not all the rooms are the same size but do have the same amenities.

Don't forget about the pool !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,107 - 2,113 of 4,028 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

How to begin? Maybe just simply.I love this place. On entering the front door one is transported to another age, and it's authentic too. There are intriguing artistic details everywhere. The atmosphere is solid yet strangely whimsical at the same time.There seems to always be more surprises just around the corner. Nothing is contrived.
The staff is excellent. Nothing phony about any of the personel. And so helpful. We had a very bad experience with the hotel shuttle { called Connexxion} and Amrath staff did everything to solve the problem. The shuttle driver had handed my luggage to another tourist and it was only when I threatened to call the police that Connexxion gave me back my luggage. Next time we'll take the train to the airport. Much cheaper and more reliable.
The bed was ultra comfortable, the view sensational and yes, the free minibar was great.
All in all, one of the best experiences {forgetting the awful Connexion} during my travels.
But before I forget: in the lavish dining hall I met the fabuloso members of The Red Hat Society who had chosen Amrath for their luncheon. Remarkable encounter.Unforgettable!

Room Tip: ask for a canal view on the 4th floor
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BulleWatervilleMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel was simply excellent.....

We stayed for a weekend break and would deffiantely stay here again it was true 5* hotel.

The hotel mini bar is free and we took full advantage of this and was topped up daily, the room was spacious and as grand as the hotel its self.

The facilites on site were excellent it is an ideal choice for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A fantastic hotel, with lots of privacy, great four poster beds and friendly staff of all shapes and sizes (usually correlating to the task they are undertaking) prepared to welcome you and show you around, including the wine cellar.

The rooms are decorated to a very high standard, with fun electric curtains (albeit only one setting), useful four poster beds, durable dressing gown ties and a fantastic view from the bedroom over Madge's canal boat where you can catch a glimpse of local culture as you watch her and her family going about their lives.

The bathroom was of an equally high standard, and the quality of the bubbles provided were second to none.

In constructive criticism, the spa centre was fantastic, although there was often confusion over whos turn it was to use the jacuzzi (we found assertiveness helps), and the steam room is operated by a mysterious button that can only be found after several minutes of sitting in the cold.

Overall, a great stay. Would definitely go back, if only to re-try out the curtains.

Room Tip: The west wing is very private (except for the occasional inappropriate room service interruption) wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We booked a room for two for 4 nights. The room was on the second floor, windows facing the street. Yes, it was a bit noisy but hey, it's a big city. If you're choosy, I'd recommend a room on the higher floors or facing the canal.

The room was in great condition and the free minibar was great as well! The only minus was that the room was a bit cold but we asked the staff if they could do anything about it and they immediateely brought us an extra radiator. Problem solved! Also, there was a bit of a problem with the housekeeping (the room was not cleaned properly) but it was fixed straight away after we made a notification of it.

Overall, the experience was great and we'd recommend it to anybody who wants to add a bit of luxury to their Amsterdam trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Brilliant, stayed here for my 21st with my now wife. Hotel is amazing inside with all original features.

Staff very friendly I lost my iPhone charger and they charged it in their office for me whilst we went out.

Mini bar was stocked up every day and was free! :) dressing gowns etc.

Swimming pool/jacuzzi/sauna facilities top notch

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 242roberto242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Impressive looking hotel but not the closest to all the sights. Large rooms with nice bathrooms. The pool and saunas were luxurious also there was a small gym. We took the deal with the free mini bar that was filled up daily

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blissfultranquility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,591 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,398 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#36 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,543 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £140 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing