We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We spent six nights in a Superior Deluxe room with City view, which looked west/southwest over the Waalseilandsgracht and towards Dam Square. Probably the biggest room I’ve stayed in in Europe, but of course not nearly as large as a room in a typical American luxury hotel. The free minibar is a very nice touch. Service was excellent, as was the hotel’s location – there are a couple of great restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, and most Amsterdam attractions are within easy walking distance. For those attractions that aren’t or if you want to take a day trip out of Amsterdam, Central Station is just down the street (which also makes arrival and departure relatively easy if you’re taking the train from Schiphol). The only fault I could find is that breakfast is, to put it mildly, overpriced. We didn’t eat at the hotel restaurant but had dinner at the hotel bar one night and found both the food and the service to be excellent. The building itself is beautiful with an interesting history, and it's worth setting aside a little bit of time to explore the hotel; we spent at least half an hour examining the glasswork in the main staircase.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Branigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,136
    1,064
    383
    185
    107
See reviews for
441
2,163
231
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mattishall, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Okay so it's all been said before, the people working here are so friendly and the free mini bar/coffee machine is a welcome change, but it really does make a difference and needs repeating over and over. The hotel is in a fantastic building and only a short walk to many of the main tourist spots or, if you don't feel like walking, centraal station is almost across the street. The weather may not have been very warm but the stay was, thank you to everyone who made it that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided to go to Amsterdam for Easter. The hotel could be reached in less than 5 minutes walk from the rail in Amsterdam Centraal.
We have been given a superior delux room with canal view on the 4th flor. We had two basins, shawer and bathtub, king bed, minibar included in the room rate refilled daily and a room with lots of windows, lots of light and a 5 meters tall ceiling.
We had the Easter buffet brunch in the hotel and it was "top class", all you can eat of fish, meat and delicatessen and every tome a course finished it was immediately refilled by the waiters.
The SPA was very good as well, a warm pool, Jacuzzi, steam bath, 70° and 90° sauna, gym etc...
Something very characteristic of the hotel is the fact they keep the old "paternostrum", the cyclic elevator that has been glass sealed for security reason, still in operation.
All staff was very kind to us and they make our holiday unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gourock
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Sometimes the five star experience goes beyond great service and excellent food. The Grand Hotel Amarth Amsterdam is such a place. The architecture of this stunning building takes the imagination to another place. Amsterdam's connection with all things nautical is driven home as you explore this beautiful building, every floor different and visually captivating. This hotel even boasts a Paternoster lift.
We stayed here for a week to celebrate our anniversary and found, to our delight, a surprise awaiting us in our room. The staff, without exception, are friendly and professional, working hard to make your stay memorable. Our superior deluxe room with 'city view' was superb and the complimentary minibar which was topped up daily, irresistible. The bed was comfortable and we slept without noise or distraction 'till morning. The coffee machine fuelled us as we marvelled at the canal view below our window before heading for the terrific spa in our complimentary slippers and bathrobes.
A big plus for this place was its close proximity to Centraal Station and ferries to the islands across the IJ. In the other direction, thanks to our concierge's direction, a very short walk took us to a diverse string of restaurants within five minutes walk of the Amarth. A very short distance from this and you find yourself in the heart of the city. With a small amount of effort great deals can be found for a stay in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room. Change into your bathrobe in your room before heading for the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Easter and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is in a beautiful art deco building very close to Central Station in Amsterdam so very well located. The service was excellent - very polite and helpful as well as friendly. It had great facilities and extras included in the room price, including a spa with swimming pool, sauna and hot tub that could be used (which we did, also very nice), and a complimentary mini bar plus free wifi. I had booked through Expedia and benefited from VIP membership which also gave a free room upgrade and discount on dinner in the restaurant. The room we were given was beautiful, and at the back (so quiet) as well as overlooking the canal and old city so lovely views. It was clean, lots of attention to detail in what was provided including bath robes and slippers plus a coffee machine. I would definitely stay again and highly recommend it as a very special hotel to stay in both for the history of the building and art deco decor as well as the location and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingergothpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

5 minutes walk from Central train station, the hotel is in a great location for exploring Amsterdam by foot. Our room was large and clean, nicely decorated with a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath, and 2 sinks! Very comfortable bed and complimentary mini bar which was restocked daily. Breakfast was €25 per head so we ate out in some great cafe/restaurants instead! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Three night stay towards the end of March, just escaping the English snow...for the bone chilling cold wind of Amsterdam (no wonder so many woollen bobble hats)...but enough of that, what about the hotel? Well, it really made the stay. Very conveniently located not far from the Central Station (beware of trams and cyclists when navigating with wheelie suitcases), exceptionally helpful staff particularly the concierge who saved us no end of legwork in booking tours, comfortable rooms with fully stocked minibar included in the room rate, decent pool and spa. Not forgetting the nice touch of an unexpected slab of chocolate cake and a card after they'd noted that it had been my birthday two days before the trip. Never had the time to try the restaurant but would definitely stay here again and do so if the chance was there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMCRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,441 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,251 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,510 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing