We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Myself and my wife are seasoned travellers to the city and have stated at most of the well established hotels in Amsterdam. Before booking the hotel I was in two minds whether to book the grand amrath or the nh in dam square, but plumped for the Amrath. What a great decision. Hands down this the best hotel I have stayed in in Amsterdam in 15 years of travelling to the city. I thought it would be a bit of a trek from the station but took literally 5 mins. Upon entering the hotel you're invited to the seated check in area, where the staff were very polite and friendly. Very smooth check in, the room was ready for us at 9.30am! The check in staff noticed it was my wife's birthday and wished a wonderful day and gave us a free room upgrade. The porter then gives you a whistle stop tour of the hotel. The room was amazing, 20 foot ceilings with a fantastic view of the city, electric curtains, free minibar, free espresso machine, modern bathroom with an amazing deep bath tub. To top things off for us the room had a cake and card waiting for us, which was a really nice touch! The spa facilities are included as part of the price and you must make use of them, a nice sauna, steam room, pool and whirlpool. Invest in a sports massage in the space for €65 for an hour, well worth it. The location is perfect, you can be in dam squeeze in 5 minutes. In summary spend the extra menu and book this hotel it is well worth it. We will not consider staying at any other hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m14njn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,052 - 2,058 of 3,964 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We spent six nights in a Superior Deluxe room with City view, which looked west/southwest over the Waalseilandsgracht and towards Dam Square. Probably the biggest room I’ve stayed in in Europe, but of course not nearly as large as a room in a typical American luxury hotel. The free minibar is a very nice touch. Service was excellent, as was the hotel’s location – there are a couple of great restaurants in the immediate neighborhood, and most Amsterdam attractions are within easy walking distance. For those attractions that aren’t or if you want to take a day trip out of Amsterdam, Central Station is just down the street (which also makes arrival and departure relatively easy if you’re taking the train from Schiphol). The only fault I could find is that breakfast is, to put it mildly, overpriced. We didn’t eat at the hotel restaurant but had dinner at the hotel bar one night and found both the food and the service to be excellent. The building itself is beautiful with an interesting history, and it's worth setting aside a little bit of time to explore the hotel; we spent at least half an hour examining the glasswork in the main staircase.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Branigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Okay so it's all been said before, the people working here are so friendly and the free mini bar/coffee machine is a welcome change, but it really does make a difference and needs repeating over and over. The hotel is in a fantastic building and only a short walk to many of the main tourist spots or, if you don't feel like walking, centraal station is almost across the street. The weather may not have been very warm but the stay was, thank you to everyone who made it that way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Me and my girlfriend decided to go to Amsterdam for Easter. The hotel could be reached in less than 5 minutes walk from the rail in Amsterdam Centraal.
We have been given a superior delux room with canal view on the 4th flor. We had two basins, shawer and bathtub, king bed, minibar included in the room rate refilled daily and a room with lots of windows, lots of light and a 5 meters tall ceiling.
We had the Easter buffet brunch in the hotel and it was "top class", all you can eat of fish, meat and delicatessen and every tome a course finished it was immediately refilled by the waiters.
The SPA was very good as well, a warm pool, Jacuzzi, steam bath, 70° and 90° sauna, gym etc...
Something very characteristic of the hotel is the fact they keep the old "paternostrum", the cyclic elevator that has been glass sealed for security reason, still in operation.
All staff was very kind to us and they make our holiday unforgettable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Raiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Sometimes the five star experience goes beyond great service and excellent food. The Grand Hotel Amarth Amsterdam is such a place. The architecture of this stunning building takes the imagination to another place. Amsterdam's connection with all things nautical is driven home as you explore this beautiful building, every floor different and visually captivating. This hotel even boasts a Paternoster lift.
We stayed here for a week to celebrate our anniversary and found, to our delight, a surprise awaiting us in our room. The staff, without exception, are friendly and professional, working hard to make your stay memorable. Our superior deluxe room with 'city view' was superb and the complimentary minibar which was topped up daily, irresistible. The bed was comfortable and we slept without noise or distraction 'till morning. The coffee machine fuelled us as we marvelled at the canal view below our window before heading for the terrific spa in our complimentary slippers and bathrobes.
A big plus for this place was its close proximity to Centraal Station and ferries to the islands across the IJ. In the other direction, thanks to our concierge's direction, a very short walk took us to a diverse string of restaurants within five minutes walk of the Amarth. A very short distance from this and you find yourself in the heart of the city. With a small amount of effort great deals can be found for a stay in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room. Change into your bathrobe in your room before heading for the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Easter and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is in a beautiful art deco building very close to Central Station in Amsterdam so very well located. The service was excellent - very polite and helpful as well as friendly. It had great facilities and extras included in the room price, including a spa with swimming pool, sauna and hot tub that could be used (which we did, also very nice), and a complimentary mini bar plus free wifi. I had booked through Expedia and benefited from VIP membership which also gave a free room upgrade and discount on dinner in the restaurant. The room we were given was beautiful, and at the back (so quiet) as well as overlooking the canal and old city so lovely views. It was clean, lots of attention to detail in what was provided including bath robes and slippers plus a coffee machine. I would definitely stay again and highly recommend it as a very special hotel to stay in both for the history of the building and art deco decor as well as the location and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingergothpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

5 minutes walk from Central train station, the hotel is in a great location for exploring Amsterdam by foot. Our room was large and clean, nicely decorated with a huge bathroom with separate shower and bath, and 2 sinks! Very comfortable bed and complimentary mini bar which was restocked daily. Breakfast was €25 per head so we ate out in some great cafe/restaurants instead! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,494 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,335 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £146 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing