We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great historic hotel with modern amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #67 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel with modern amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great historic hotel - ask about its connection to shipping industry in the early 20th century. Fascinating building with maritime influence, even the ticket windows are still there (on the second floor) from the days when they sold passenger tickets to ships' travelers. The third floor ceiling is made of leaded glass with etched designs that relate to sailing and navigation.

The staff are fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. The room type we had reserved was unavailable so they upgraded us to a fantastic suite with a bedroom and bath, sitting room, half bath and full office.

Despite being historic, the hotel had modern amenities such as a fitness room, swimming pool, jacuzzi, and sauna. The bathroom in our suite had a lovely deep bathtub and a shower with choice of rain shower head, body jets or handheld sprayer.

Try to get a deal that includes breakfast as the nearby choices are somewhat limited although there is a Starbucks across the street.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is on the busy road, Prins Henrikkade, so there is some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,008
    1,019
    355
    168
    92
See reviews for
400
2,029
218
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a lovely treat this hotel is - from the stunning architecture and art within. We got upgraded to a river view which was a lovely touch- It included a free minibar which just adds to the feeling of being treated. Choice of a large bath and separate shower there is no way you get in the way of each other in the massive rooms. The spa and gym facilities are very good. The restaurant food is of reasonable value
Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff . They made the stay special from the moment they took the bags to the room to helping us find tram routes for our outings.
The hotel is five minutes walk from central station. It is ideally situated to get to anywhere of interest .it is a jewel in the crown.
Only thing to watch out for are the fast bikes !!!

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe riverside room and enjoy the treats
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weetys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed 5 nights around Queen's Day. Location was very central--convenient to Centraal Station, so easy to get to trains as well as trams to go around the city. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and ceilings are very high, comfortable beds, with good sized bath. WiFi worked well for the most-part (and free). The hotel, itself is a real treat for anyone interested in architecture, or just an appreciation of unusual buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Beautiful building! We stayed 2 nights and location was perfect if you want to go shopping, dining, etc. Everything is within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and the bed was so comfy. Down side is that the wifi was hit and miss. High lite for both of us was the massage. First time for me and it was fantastic!!! Manager Claudia M. did a fantastic job of helping me to relax and enjoy the experience. If I could fly her to me once a month I would do it.
Overall, we had an amazing trip and stay and look forward to coming back again for a longer visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed at the Grand Amrath Hotel for 3 nights during the Queen's Day holiday. Upon arriving in the afternoon, we were greeted by very nice employees who helped carry our bags up to our room. The room was an interior room, which just meant we didn't have a view, but still had giant ceilings and a very large window. It didn't bother us though, as we didn't spend a ton of time in the room. The free mini bar was such a nice perk. The bathroom was really nicely done, had a full tub, and nice little window. The frosted glass door is worth mentioning, but did not bother us at all. The bed was also very comfortable. Overall, the room was a great place to come back to after days of sightseeing and partying in Amsterdam. We ate lunch in the restaurant and it was really quite good. The location was great because it was a 5 minute walk to Centraal Station, but was in a very quiet area. I would definitely recommend the Grand Amrath hotel and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easilyconfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The last week of March my parents, husband, 2 children and I stayed at the Grand Amrath hotel and loved it! We were there only one night and wish we had more time. My kids call it the "Scooby Doo hotel" as it looks like it is from the show inside and out! The staff was very helpful and very professional. We enjoyed the pool, mini bar, remote control blinds (my kids thought that was so cool), robes, slippers, and the fact that it was in a quiet location. Walking distance from the busy stores, bars, etc. and just a 10 minute walk to the train station. Our rooms were very nice and clean. No complaints and we would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We arrived for our two day stay at the luxurious Grand Amrath, and were fortunate to stay in a superior city view room. The room or should I say three rooms were very spacious, with a large lounge office, four poster bed in the bedroom. The bathroom was encased within a glass room it had a separate power shower cubicle and complimentry toiletries. There were lots of original features in this one hundred year old former shipping house. My wife had a startling experience within an hour of our arrival as a mouse scurried along the lounge floor spooking her somewhat as she sat relaxing after our journey . A quick call to reception and some bizarre filling in of crevices with wire wool and we were assured our little visitor would not return and thankfully this was the case. The rooms were nice and clean apart from a few mouse deposits under a radiator that house keeping promptly cleared away. The hotel has some amazing original features apart from the mouse from its shipping house days, and lots of stained glass features and it is worth exploring the hotel to find them. Breakfast was a buffet type plenty of choice but cheese cooked meats and fried eggs were drying out as they are left exposed to the elements the could do with some transparent cloche coverings. All in all we had a comfortable stay and Amsterdam is a magnificent city to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing