We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nes Ziyona israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just got back, four nights, great location, staff is very nice and helpful, rooms are very clean, mini bar is complementary which was quite a surprise, close to central station, problem for disable people lots of stairs, hotel is very nice

Room Tip: View to the city, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,043
    1,032
    363
    174
    93
See reviews for
413
2,067
220
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have been to many hotels in my life and I must say this hotel left me breathless. The stay was my 30th birthday gift from my partner and I had no idea where we were staying. As we approached the hotel, on a snowy cold Sunday morning, I felt as though it looked like and enchanted gothic castle. It looked so impressive, I could not contain my happiness and the architecture blew me away as we walked inside. It is beautifully built and what I loved the most is the rooms felt very modern but had the original walls and GRANDNESS of the building. We were first given a room which although took our breath away, we asked to be exchanged for another room as we could literally hear every word of what the (sounded like at least 5) men were discussing next door. That was because there was a door connecting the two rooms which the second room didn't have and they gave us a new room straight away. The bathroom was unlike anything I had ever seen. It was a large glass room built within the original walls and there was space to walk all around the bathroom, between the glass wall and the real wall. What an idea and perfect for a romantic trip away!
The bed was so incredibly comfortable, we slept 12 hrs and overslept our checkout time which was extended no problem at all!
The swimming pool area was clean and very quiet which was lovely.
There is free wifi which worked perfectly and the the mini bar is complimentary which is definitely a nice touch!
Thank you for an incredible stay and we will definitely be back on our next visit to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Room 100 was great and make sure you do not stay in a room with an interconnecting door, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kikibamba23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackrod
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel is stunning with sumptuous rooms. Checkin process was drought with difficulties as the reservations staff were not very helpful. We were booking for a family of 5 including 3 children. Interceding rooms were not provided despite numerous email and telephone calls before arrival. After a heated discussion with the manager we were given the Monumental Suite which was absolutely stunning. However it does suffer from traffic noise. We felt it was worth it, though. Free WiFi included but it was slow and erratic. Free Minibar nice touch. Best hotel shower. Immediately hot and high power. Swimming pool excellent and quiet. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Across the road from Central Station and short walk to central Amsterdam. Lots of nice restaurants in the small back streets nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenfunk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just got back & loved this hotel. Couldn't fault it. We paid for a deluxe room with city view & emailed the hotel & requested a canal view which we got ( although they did say when I booked could not be guaranteed) It was our anniversary & when we got there rose pettles were on the bed & large bottle of wine with a hand written card from the manager, nice little touch. spotlessly clean, our room 205 was quiet. Free mini bar, great view, bath big enough for 2. We walked to everywhere so good location even though not directly in center. Spa was great, very clean, quite & relaxing, robes & towels provided. Overall defiantly recommend. Will stay here next time in Amsterdam. Just 1 little tip take some coat hangers as not many in room we had 4 for 2 of us but a minor detail. Thankyou amrath for a great 5 days!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SIMBA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

6 friends, 5 rooms, 3 nights for a landmark birthday celebration.

Firstly, the building. which is utterly eccentric in what I can only describe as a "Nouveau-Gothic-Brutalist" style, obviously built to impress and give the message "your freight is safe with us". We all agreed it had a slightly sinister air about it - which we loved! The only thing missing was a pole to the Batcave in the basement. Look out for the original wood paneled lift complete with seat. The building also has a "Paternoster" lift, but thankfully only as display these days. A "Duvel" too many and it might lead to a decapitation otherwise. The main staircase is completely over-the-top, and whilst I could find my 2nd floor room from it, it took me the 3 days to suss how to find it coming the other way. The place is a complete labyrinth and perfectly possible to get lost in. A little more signage would not go amiss, though they have obviously taken great pains to leave as much period detail as possible. My first job in London in 1978 was for KNSM, so it was nostalgic for me.

We had superior rooms, and I would recommend them if you can stretch the budget. Very spacious, massive high ceilings and fairly well equipped, though why provide a trouser press instead of an iron/board? Has anyone ever actually ever needed to press trousers and not a shirt? Shower over deep bath needed to nimble limbs to negotiate, and the fold out shower screen had a very Dutch personality - a mind of it's own and was a useful as a chocolate tea pot. Consequently, after flooding the floor, I stuck to baths. They need to address this. Free mini bar is nice, though lacks a cognac and a fruit juice. Housekeeping was below par - rings around bath and sink where I'd stood glasses were still there after the room had been made up. Traffic noise was considerable, but as I'm a light sleeper, I always take ear plugs which dealt with the problem. The rooms have original wooden framed, double glazed windows, but not up to insulating the modern Amsterdam rush hour. They arranged the hire of a wheelchair for our friend with severe mobility problems, and were helpful throughout in a city which in general, is a nightmare in this regard.

Location is a little out of it if you want Kerkstraat/Leidseplein but handy for Centraal Station, Warmoestraat, Rokin. You can do far, far better outside for breakfast than the pricey €27.50 buffet, which did not impress at all. That said, the lovely bar, looking out over the adjacent canal was reasonably priced with wine by the glass at €4.50. Staff were pleasant without exception.

For me, it's the building that makes this hotel. If it were a bland modern build, the provision would be fairly humdrum and unremarkable. I would say the 5 star rating is stretching it a bit, but it's priced lower than others in the city and is overall good value. I've been to A'dam many times over the years, and this is without a doubt, the best hotel I've stayed in - and will return to. If you don't appreciate the incredibly quirky building, then some of the appeal may be lost.

Room Tip: Superior rooms worth the extra - ask for one away from the worst of the traffic noise if you are bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egersund, Norge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is an old hotel with minimal insulation, hence we felt we were sleeping nod the pavement. Heavy traffic an lots of partying people on the bus-stop outside our window. Otherwise the hotel and service was really good. Excellent but expensive breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed as far from the street as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersport, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

we stayed 4 nights & got a good rate thru priceline. entire staff was so friendly. ate at the bar/lounge for dinner 2 nights. was ok but pricy for what you got. concierge recomended italia oggi a wonderful italian restaurant close by & it was so good we ate there 2 ngts in a row. hop on & off bus stops in front of hotel & u can purchase tickets from concierge. we got a room on 2nd floor with no view but so very quiet. we spent one am using the hot tub, sauna & pool. hotel location is perfect. i have nothing negative to say as we loved every minute of our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing