We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #67 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel has old world charm, with modern comfort. The room was lovely, extremely comfortable, and the mini-bar, including liquor, sodas, water, peanuts and candy, was free and restocked daily! Every evening a maid knocked on our door and asked if we needed anything. We felt we got great service! The location was fabulous! Central Station was less than 5 minutes away and there were dozens of great restaurants, cafes and shops in the neighborhood. Breakfast is not free, but their "French breakfast" included warm bread, croissants, the inevitable cheese slices and cold cuts, juice, coffee or tea, and an egg, cooked the way you wanted, for 13 Euros. Given that, apparently, coffee shops in Amsterdam do not typically open until 9 am, we found the hotel restaurant convenient and a decent value. (We did not try their buffet breakfast. It was 25 Euros and after looking it over, we decided that it was overpriced for a bunch of stuff we wouldn't eat anyway.) We did not use the spa facilities, but several fellow guests said they were great. If we were to go to Amsterdam again, we would stay at the Amrath.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redheadvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,071
    1,039
    368
    178
    95
See reviews for
417
2,099
220
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Booked this through Hotwire. The check-in was efficient and very professional. Our room was large and faced the canal - beautiful and quiet. Loved the perk of the free mini-bar - that was a first! Rooms were clean. Loved the bathtub. Location is within walking distance of the train station and close to lots of good restaurants. Liked that the hotel was just out of the hustle and bustle of things but close enough to getting around to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

2 nights in the Grand Amrath Amsterdam started rather strangely ,as we arrived in the small reception area an English Chap was moaning about the hotel "supposed to be a five star" blah blah blah , ,anyway we had a seamless check in (early by the way),staff were lovely and efficient , the room was great , very comfy bed ,very clean and a free nicely stocked mini bar .Location is excellent for the city , the red light , the station , and for the port , all of these "attractions "are within walking distance .
Breakfast whilst not included in my room rate was extensive ,buffet style and included all of the usual fare , it did cost 25 euros each but if you are canny like me it is a bargain ,I did not require any more food until the evening as I had consumed enough croissant ,toast , Bacon , eggs , cheese ,yoghurt ,Danish pastry,various cold meats , cereal , fruit , and bread to sink a battleship .
Bathroom was clean , large and a selection of small nice soaps and things complimented the decor ..nice , the hotel also had a small swimming pool ,sauna ,jacuzzi etc in the basement which is very nice to use after a long day in the city , to sum up a large , clean , friendly , and rather quirky hotel , not a five star in a Savoy kind of way ,however I was glad , as in my opinion I prefer a more relaxed atmosphere ,I would certainly recommend it for a stay and would not hesitate in going back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brookfield G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A really comfortable good quality bed, free minibar and great location.

Very good value .

Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for a better view and more space .

Nice bar area for snacks.

Swimming pool area not too good, dirty towels on the floor and a small pool which was crowded.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineW388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribble Valley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We booked for 3 nights in May through getaroom.com and as it was my husband's 40th birthday I emailed the hotel to ask if we could upgrade to a canal view room. When we arrived, we had a lovely room with a spectacular canal view, a birthday card and a complimentary chocolate dessert waiting for us. The hotel is 5 minutes easy walk from the central station. Check in was smooth and friendly, all the staff we encountered were extremely courteous, and many had clearly been made aware that it was a special occasion. The bed was the comfiest we'd ever slept in, the food and service in the bar was excellent (if not particularly competitively priced) and the mini bar was free and restocked daily. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard and the pool, sauna and hot tub provided an enjoyable addition. Breakfast was not included and is a little expensive so most mornings we searched out a local cafe which was easy to do. In all, we recommend this hotel in the highest terms and will definitely stay here on our return.

DO go to Cafe Pollux which is just around the corner, welcoming staff and locals, great beer and the Wednesday night jam night is a must.

DON'T go to Nam Kee, we had the worst Chinese meal and service we've ever experienced. Very disappointing considering the positive reviews in the Lonely Planet guide.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerryFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

This is at least our fifth stay here. Very nice we have been upgraded on each occasion to much larger rooms which is appreciated as the smaller rooms really are quite small. Downside there was no mirror anywhere near a plug to dry your hair !Bonuses pool and free mini bar, not so bonuses fitness area is very poorly equipped and hasn't changed in the last three years. Equipment is more home gym than hotel spa fitness and has on every visit ALWAYS been broken and unusable. This year as last the running machine not working. Certainly wouldn't pick for its' fitness area, which is so hot as to be unbearable,broken tv,no water and no air con ! but pool and sauna is very nice . The rooms are very traditional high ceilings heavy electric curtains that open and close themselves at 8am , we had same issue last year! Noise is a bit of an issue also from vacuuming the hallway outside of the room at 10am everyday to loud drilling for two days at 1030 am !! This was known about but we were not warned and when we complained as did many others got little response other than we sympathise ! House keeping was not great again with the room being refreshed only once properly in six days side tables were dusty and the separate toilet had no hand towel or rail for one which I find odd in a toilet with a sink ! so we took one out of the main bathroom but this was not changed entire stay and the toilet not cleaned clearly ! Same issues with house keeping last year with the mini bar not being restocked, coffee and toiletries the same, all in all some attention to room servicing required,maybe this won't be our first choice next year it isn't cheap. As a coffee addict I drink all four of the non decaf everyday and hope for refill in the evening but this happened only once and only three milk were ever provided, I resorted to buying my own milk and sweeteners as these were never left. Hotel is quirky by its nature and this is nice but the absence of normally huge floral displays in entrance area is noticeable only a very small vase of flowers on a table makes the lobby entrance even less hotel like more flowers needed as many feel the lobby area is already a let down .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mutlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackrod
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Spent 3 nights with the family (2 adults and 3 children). Booking was very difficult and the reservation staff not helpful. Requested 2 connecting rooms or a suite as we were a family. A suite was not offered and (despite numerous emails and phone calls to check) we were given two separate rooms with no connection. After a long heated discussion with the manager we were given the 2 bedroom suite, which was incredible! Every other aspect of the hotel was excellent. Great swimming pool. Near station and central Amsterdam. Easy walks to most venues and loads of lovely restaurants in the local back streets.

Room Tip: Rooms on canal side are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenfunk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing