We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Amrath-not so grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel Amrath-not so grand”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel! Who gives these ratings, at best this no more than a 3.5 star hotel? I have paid much less and stayed in far better hotels. the AC in the room does work, check other reviews they had the same issue. £25 pounds for breakfast which was 6.5 pounds outside and no difference in quality. The check-in is poor and the photos of the pool in the website are exaggerated, two swim strokes and you reach the other end. The 'well being' experience is not too well either, two massage beds and a steam room. Despite the architecture that visitors appear to blab about the Superior Deluxe room with city view was small narrow with a step into the room which was not easily navigated when finding the bathroom at night. The minibar was included but the range of drinks is limited.The corridors are endless and quite gloomy somewhat similar to a gothic Edgar Allan Poe novel. I would advise anyone looking at this hotel to try somewhere else the Hilton DoubleTree is more VFM.

Room Tip: You will have to pay extra and request to see the room beforehand to ensure you are getting value fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,104
    1,054
    375
    181
    102
See reviews for
426
2,136
226
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

An ok experience, athough there were so many small grips I can't really recommend. The room was too hot and despite speaking to reception all they could manage was a small fan heater. They said it didn't have air con, only climate control, which didn't work. The light above the bed was hanging off and despite being told it would be repaired, it was still hanging when we left. We had to ask for tea bags and milk all the time as well.

On the plus side, it was convenient, the free mini bar was a bonus, the beds comfy and the spa was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view, the otherside is next to a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyJaneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We enjoyed an excellent city break at Grand Hotel Amrath. It really is a remarkable historical building, with outstanding architecture, which particularly appealed to us.

The hotel management do not really "shout about" just how special it is - we went exploring around the hotel on our own, and were frankly dazzled by how marvelously intact the Arts and Crafts building is. The owners have preserved many features (wrought ironwork, glass panels, stained glass roof etc.). By far the best features are around the grand central staircase (and it gets better the higher you go) so by biggest tip is, DON'T take the lift!

The Hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from the central station, so fairly convenient for trains from Schiphol. The local area has a few greasy-looking Shawarma places (which are best avoided) but there are also enough local decent local places if you don't want to have breakfast at the hotel. We particularly like the Cafe Captein just across the canal on Kromme Waal.

Equally you may be very happy to try the hospitality of the hotel - one of the highlights of our stay were expensive (but excellent) cocktails in the hotel bar - which was staffed by a very friendly and knowledgeable barman.

My only criticism of this otherwise excellent hotel was the gym - the equipment is not up to the high standards of the rest of the hotel. This probably won't matter to most tourists, but if you're into fitness training it could be something to consider...

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for "city view" - views of the interior courtyard wouldn't be much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_of_Henley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our second time in the Amrath with our family. We got a discount rate via a booking site that included breakfast. At arrival we were upgraded to two connecting large rooms with canal view. Nice surprise - thanks Amrath! Mini-bar, tea and nespresso are included. The nice spa has a sauna and whirlpool. There is free wifi so the kids did not want to leave. Beware that there is no air conditioning but climate control. It gets hot when the temperature outside is over 30 Celsius.
Breakfast is good but not excellent. There is not enough staff during peak hours to go around with coffee, so ask for a can of coffee.
All in all it was a very nice stay. Some minor points for improvement: the concierge is inside, so you have to carry your bags up the small stairs yourself. Service is a bit random: first day our room was not cleaned when we came back at 4pm, but only later. We started with 4 large towels, and ended with only small ones. Second day all was perfect. Same during breakfast: one day a bit chaotic, last day all perfect.
Location very good, but the shortest way to the Dam square is via the red light district.

Room Tip: Go for the cheapest and hope for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an architectural treasure. I have never seen such beautiful woodwork and etched glass. We had fun exploring all the different floors. The elevators were lovely too! The room was large with extremely high ceilings. The mini bar was fully stocked and it was free! The red wine was superb and so fun to crawl into bed after a full day of sight seeing with a lovely glass of wine! The location could not be better across from central station. Priceline found the hotel for us as we bid on a five star. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEllen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at the Amrath for 3 days following our river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. We really enjoyed staying there, the staff were excellent and very helpful and accommodating. The location in Amsterdam is the best; close to everything but just out of the frenzy of Amsterdam. The structure itself is beautiful. The rooms could use a little more storage facilities for clothes.

Room Tip: Great location for touring the city. Only took 20 minutes to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at Grand Amrath, Amsterdam for a long weekend in mid-July. Very well placed for finding the hot tourist spots. Let me just say at outset - the negative reviews for this hotel are misplaced. It's a wonderful old building with lots of original features from it's shipping house days (including the ticket office on 2nd floor) so if you are used to/expect modern/contemporary then it's not for you. Truly beautiful. We stayed in a superior deluxe room (upgraded from basic at €30 per night and well worth it) which was HUGE with electronically controlled curtains and a canal view. Separate WC and the shower cubicle was big and very, very clean. Robes were provided as was free minibar and free wifi which was a huge plus. Staff were very friendly and helpful, bar stocked an excellent Chablis Premier Cru and the one night we ate there the food was very, very good. Restaurant wasn't open although we couldn't quite understand why and we only had breakfast once (American buffet) but thought the €25 rate was good value as you could quite happily have eaten for a couple of hours. Spent a couple of hours on our last morning in the spa. Pool area extremely clean - had 3 sauna cabins and a steam room. Would have liked to have sampled a treatment but didn't think ahead! Overall would recommend this hotel and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Canal rooms very quiet - didn't hear any noise from other rooms either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz_bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing