We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not my cup of tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel itself is in a great location. I found the decor quite stark, cold and not homely at all. in fact it was verging on creepy for me. It does look like they've tried to take it back to its original beauty but just not my taste at all. Beware of the £150 holding fee at check in too. The pool area is nice and a god send after padding the streets all day. We opted out of breakfast as £25 pp per day is just a tad steep. The staff were very courteous, the rooms were cleaned daily and the free mini bar was good (and what tempted us in the first place) but to be honest i'd rather have booked a boutique hotel that felt homely and took a bottle of vod with me. Forgot to say, it was my partners 50th when we visited the hotel staff left a birthday card and a lovely little cake in the room for him which was a very kind gesture! ps the holding fee was released the day after we got home and we were charged an additional £20 but dont know what for - might've been for the cake that we never ordered!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glaslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 3,995 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Having arrived tired and stressed from a long drive up from Calais, the moment we entered the hotel was like a breath of fresh air. The concierge took our bags and parked the car for us, the hotel check in was quick and friendly. The room was the size of a small apartment, the free alcohol and coffee in the mini bar were gratefully consumed and the bed was the most comfortable we had stayed in. If you add to that the lovely staff, gorgeous food, the quick room service, the cake and card and chocolates they laid out for my wife's birthday and the deepest most relaxing bath ever, we were more than impressed. Do yourselves a favour if you are coming to Amsterdam and stay here. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliTriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Beautiful Hotel, excellent staff. A sumptuous breakfast. In a fabulous old building. The furnishings were beautiful, modern bathroom. Very nice coffee machines in the rooms. Complimentary mini bar was a nice surprise. Very nice bar meals. We loved it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherrabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Lovely old character hotel. History and preservation of the hotel were incredible! All the stained glass and beautiful wooden staircase. It was a sight seeing tour in itself! Staff were so helpful and friendly. Hotel is located close to the Central Train Station, Canal Tours embarkation point, Red Light District (you know you want to see it.....) and shopping. The room was modern, super comfortable with beautiful bed linens, and fully equipped. Loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great hotel.
Everything was just perfect.
The room service was quick, we got anything we've asked for within max. 10 minutes.
This was our honeymoon trip, so we've been upgraded for free to room with city view.
Very comfortable room, the bed was just terrific, Nespresso coffee machine and the bathroom did the change :-). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Location

This hotel is a 5 minute walk from Central train station, 10 minutes from the main shopping area/Dam Square and around 20 minutes walk from the main museums,Anne Frank's house and the main areas for nightlife/restaurants. The location of this hotel was perfect for us as it is set in a quiet area and was easily accessible without being in the midst of the noise of Dam Square.

Room/Decor

If you are looking for a hotel with character then this is your place. This is not an uber modern hilton-like hotel from the outside however the rooms are very modern with all the comforts you would expect from a 5 star hotel:nespresso machine,comfortable robes & slippers, branded toiletries and a free mini bar which was very well stocked and a lovely touch. The bar included waters,cokes,beers,wines,miniatures etc. The ceilings in the bedrooms were fabulously high with beautiful curtains which blocked out all the light. We faced on to the canal & the view of the city was beautiful.

I would highly recommend this hotel however I am giving this hotel a 4 as although we loved the decor, the rooms,the location and the view, we felt the staff were slightly lacking for a 5 star hotel. One member of staff remained on the phone while fetching our suitcases upon check out & didn't even acknowledge us or ask if we had enjoyed our stay. The fire alarm went off as we were checking out & the receptionist was extremely abrupt when we asked for a few extra minutes to gather our belongings after the drill was over - as a result of this we rushed to leave the hotel & left a number of items behind us. Isolated events but not expected from a 5 star establishment.

Tip

Try get a city view room on a high floor. Use the discount coupons available at the concierge desk and the map provided which is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 40th birthday treat for my wife and loved the place. Excellent spa facilities in a really relaxing environment. Very helpful and efficient staff (concierge made 2 good restaurant recommendations & flowers and champagne were in our room on arrival as requested).
We loved the building and Art Deco styling with many original features - none less than the lift!)

Can't comment on the food at all as we didn't eat in at all.

It's rare for me but I really couldn't fault this hotel, it's amenities or it's staff. Brilliant.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Skihorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,570 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,525 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#89 of 374 in Amsterdam
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £144 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing