We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #78 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

we stayed at Amrath back in November; it was a good experience ; we chose it for the location, within a bit more than an hour from landing we were at the hotel, by train; it's 10 min walk from the central station; walking inside the hotel is an experience in itself, a beautiful old shipping company house where many of the features are kept; take the main staircase up to the 3rd floor, every floor is a discovery; rooms are nice , with very high ceilings ; free amenities ( mini bar, Nespresso, Rituals cosmetics, bathrobes ); my only slight complaint is that the rooms seem quite difficult to heat - if you pull the heavy curtains they cover the radiators and the heating remains behind the curtains; there is no heating in the bathrooms; altogether we slept without closing the curtains; just a minor detail

the bar has a good selection, we had a light meal in the evening upon arrival; breakfast is great, we took the light version ( French breakfast) , enough though to keep us running til lunch. the staff is nice and friendly.

the location is excellent, walking distance to all attractions; we only took the tram once from the train station so we could reach the Museums early morning.

I do certainly recommend the hotel, it is a different, unique experience !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 4,038 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed there for four nights between 26 and 30 Dec 2013. An old shipping company house in the shape of the bow of a boat, the hotel had lots of nice and quirky features e.g. the pater noster (which runs but people aren't allowed to use it for safety reasons). Staff extremely friendly and helpful. And an added bonus - a complimentary mini-bar! Well located (within about 10 mins walk of Dam Square and 10 mins from Amsterdam Centraal). We didn't try the breakfast, hence the zero rating. At £100 a night (via HotWire), extremely good value for money. My only very minor criticism - although close to the train station, it can be tricky to find if you don't know Amsterdam and the hotel signage is not well lit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan_and_Lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath from 12/25 - 12/28. I must say, it was a fantastic experience. First, my flight from New York had me arriving at the hotel 6am on Christmas day. When I got to the hotel, my room was ready! I was able to go to my hotel room and take a nap. That is a huge plus.

The room itself was beautiful. I had a Superior room on a low floor. The room was large, great bed, and great amenities. (free mini-bar, Nespresso maker, great bathroom).

The hotel staff was extremely nice. The one snafu we had, they had trouble combining two consecutive reservations...the staff offered me a late-checkout because of it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam. I will definitely be staying there again. Beautiful hotel, great service!

Room Tip: The only bad....try to get a room not facing the street. The road is noisy, and the windows aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYSinger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had a two night stay here recently and couldn't fault it. Hotel is really impressive, staff were polite & friendly. The room was big with a really comfy bed, a coffee machine & a free mini bar!! Great location near to central station (5min walk), Dam square was a short walk too so close to everything but not right in the centre. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Readyteddygo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is my 7th Stay at this Unique Hotel. Arriving was like meeting up with friends, I was upgraded to spacious 3rd Floor Room, with again a fabulously inviting Bed which gives a luxurious sleep. The Room has electric drapes and a unique Bathroom.

I cannot fault anything at this fabulous hotel. The free Mini-Bar and the Coffee machine as well as a huge TV and efficient service enhanced my stay.

My thanks go to everyone at this Hotel, from the Reception, Concierge and Portering staff, all were helpful, attentive and polite.

The Bar and Restaurant staff were at pains to help and assist.

I will be returing to this marvelous and welcoming Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a City view Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbridgej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days , staff are very helpful and the location of the hotel its awesome . Another advantage was the free mini bar which had some drinks and i did really enjoy that , room was very clean and also i did try the swimming pool , which was very relaxing

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Farhaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Please do not stay at this hotel if you want plastic furniture, small bathrooms and dubious service, you must stay here if you want that extra special place to sleep, staff are great they make it there business to help you at all times and yes they actually do want to help, Rooms are incredible, clean large and very cosy. the building it seld is awesome, we spent loads of time just wandering round the building stain glass and marble every where and oh so quiet. Try the pool and sauna, you feel like you are in your own pool. It is a little more expensive but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 304 looks out over the canal and the skyline is beutifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den&Dai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,598 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,402 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
414 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,547 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £141 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing