We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location with poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #73 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

the only good point was the location which was near dam square, there was no space in lobby area to sit, some of the rooms was so small . it is not 5 star hotels. it looks like 3 star hotels. the service of the hotel was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,924)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 3,924 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had the pleasure of eating dinner in the hotel's restaurant last night, sitting close to the large glass partition wall between the restaurant and kitchen so we could watch the action.

The menu looked simple, but the food that came to us was simply superb. The flavours and combinations were so exciting.

Normally, I won't have a dessert, but the chocolate fondant was so well described that I gave in.

It arrived, and I lifted my spoon ready to slice into it to see if it was full of runny chocolate. Just as I lowered the spoon, I looked into the kitchen. The chefs were all looking at me, expectantly.

Cutting into the fondant, hot molten chocolate poured out. Perfect. The chefs looked so pleased I had to give them a round of applause.

A truly great experience.

Room Tip: A really interesting one hundred year old Art Deco building. You need a route map to find your room...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatPapaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

i was there for 7 nights and all i can say everything was perfect room was big bed was really comfortable helpfull and very kind staff so for sure i will be ther ageain really close too central stasion and dam squre amazingggggg amaziinggg u shold go there :) pool was realy clean its better too get 2end floorfree mini bar was so great

Room Tip: 207 was perfect for us
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasalovesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fabulously private and frequented by only the more refined of society. I stayed on the second to top floor which at night was a bit spooky as no one else was around much. The hotel is full of history too with amazing glass panelled windows everywhere. Great location right on the canal and opposite centraal station.

Room Tip: A room on the right hand side gives you some views accross the city. Be ware the inside rooms which...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becstarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Hotel is close to the train station which is great for the airport. It is also near the centre of town with most places within walking distance. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. However despite putting out the "Please make up the room" card outside our door early on the Sunday, the room was never made up. We then went out for the evening and on return the door card did not work and after the usual toing and froing, we were finally given an ordinary key with the promise that the technician would fix it first thing in the morning. We left the hotel the next morning with no technician in sight and on our return early afternoon, nothing had been done and the room had not been made up. At this time they moved us to a new and better room. However on checkout next morning they billed us at the price of the new room! They corrected it without a problem, but it was just poor management.

We still liked the hotel and it is not outrageously expensive in terms of its position, although definitely not a full 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel in June with my family for a long weekend to visit friends.

The hotel is in a great location 5 minutes walk from the station and the hotel is a lovely place to stay. The rooms were large and comfortable with good facilities. The staff were very helpful and refunded us the cost of one nights stay (when they didn't need to) due to KLM cancelling their flight and putting us on a flight the next day.

Would really recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Me and my fiancé booked a long weekend to celebrate our engagement last January. We booked a superior deluxe room but on arrival, as we had mentioned the reason for our stay, we got upgraded to the junior suite for free! The room was amazing and the views from our window were stunning. The place was clean and spacious and everyone was really helpful. The location of the hotel is also great. When we decide to visit Amsterdam again, we would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana1158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,467 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,534 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,302 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £163 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing