We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I am a business traveler and I spend a lot of time in hotels. I booked 2 nights at the Amrath as a surprise weekend away for my wife to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. What a good choice. 5 min walk from the station and we were there. The hotel is a very impressive building (I think it was a former shipping line headquarters) with lots of rich art deco features. Our room was very large and airy with big windows which looked out over the canal with lovely views out over Amsterdam. Big comfy bed, lovely and clean with a coffee machine and FREE minibar (which we failed to be able to drink dry - lightweights). There were robes and slippers supplied. We had one meal in the restaurant which was very nice and the service was excellent. We used the spa which was great - note -I think its expected to change in your room and then use the robe and slippers to go to the spa. All in all a great experience and we will be back. well done all the Amrath Team.

Room Tip: ask for a room over the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 4,005 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here in March to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we entered our room we were extremely impressed by the attention to detail - on the table was a bottle of champagne on ice along with a hand written note from the duty manager, welcoming us to the hotel & wishing us a happy anniversary. The bed had been decorated with rose petals, as had the bathroom - this was such a lovely touch & made us feel very special. That evening we dined in the hotel restaurant, choosing the sample menu with accompanying wines for each course, the food was excellent and the ingredients were explained by the staff as they served each course. Choosing this option gives you the opportunity to sample foods & wines that you wouldn't normally - definitely a good choice.
The room was large, very well decorated & extremely clean - the Nespresso coffee maker was welcome and the free minibar is an added bonus - great to have a glass of wine or beer before you head out for the evening.
This hotel is very well located, about 5 minute walk from central station and 10 mins from Dam Square. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & the concierge was very helpful with advice on places to visit & with booking restaurants. Sadly we didn't get the opportunity to try the spa facilities - but there's always next time! We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked a 3 night stay with 4 friends fo a Birthday Celebration and booked based on the previous comments of the free bar! All 3 couples were upgraded and we were given a top suite with a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake. The room was HUGE with a queen size bed, bath and separate shower. The mini bar was replenished everyday and we soooo made the most of that. All rooms had bathrobes and slippers, which we used for the spa facilities.
This truly was a wonderful experience

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely building, comfiest bed I have ever stayed in, complimentary spa & swimming pool, complimentary minibar (with a good selection) Krups coffee machine and lovely decorated rooms. Great location, 5 min walk from Central Station :)

Room Tip: worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

the only good point was the location which was near dam square, there was no space in lobby area to sit, some of the rooms was so small . it is not 5 star hotels. it looks like 3 star hotels. the service of the hotel was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had the pleasure of eating dinner in the hotel's restaurant last night, sitting close to the large glass partition wall between the restaurant and kitchen so we could watch the action.

The menu looked simple, but the food that came to us was simply superb. The flavours and combinations were so exciting.

Normally, I won't have a dessert, but the chocolate fondant was so well described that I gave in.

It arrived, and I lifted my spoon ready to slice into it to see if it was full of runny chocolate. Just as I lowered the spoon, I looked into the kitchen. The chefs were all looking at me, expectantly.

Cutting into the fondant, hot molten chocolate poured out. Perfect. The chefs looked so pleased I had to give them a round of applause.

A truly great experience.

Room Tip: A really interesting one hundred year old Art Deco building. You need a route map to find your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreatPapaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

i was there for 7 nights and all i can say everything was perfect room was big bed was really comfortable helpfull and very kind staff so for sure i will be ther ageain really close too central stasion and dam squre amazingggggg amaziinggg u shold go there :) pool was realy clean its better too get 2end floorfree mini bar was so great

Room Tip: 207 was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasalovesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,577 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#38 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,528 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 373 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £143 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing