We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #68 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“5 star in every way!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have never stayed in a 5 star hotel before so we didn't know what to expect but we were really happy with it. Our 10 year old daughter loved the big room, free mini bar, slippers, robe, spa and pool. Plus it had curtains that you shut electronically and a big bath and separate shower. She said she always wants to stay 5 star now! The staff were welcoming and the building is amazing. It is near the train station and a 10 min walk from the dam square. We went to Vondel Park, Van Gogh museum, Anne Frank and shopping on Kalverstraat. Brilliant place to stay and would go back again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NCCNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,067
    1,039
    366
    178
    95
See reviews for
417
2,095
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked this hotel for 1 nights stay, this was the biggest mistake I have ever made as when I checked in I was told i had to pay up front an amount of 90 euro in case we drank or ate in the hotel, I was not made aware of this when booking direct with the hotel, and explained we was only here for the night so i didn’t see it necessary as we had already paid for breakfast when booking the room, that was the first problem, the second was when we checked in we asked to pay the room bill but was told we could only do this on check out but they needed to reserve a card payment for the room about, so this was fine. When we come to check out of the hotel i paid on a different card, i was told no amount was taken from my other card so I didn’t see a problem, until i came to use my other bank card only to be told by the bank that the hotel had not released the payment, I have since contacted the hotel 10 times not to release this payment and they assure me they will do it but they don’t our stay was a month ago now and they are still holding £200 on my bank card I am disgusted in such POOR service from a so called 5 star hotel this is not the performance i would expect from any hotel let alone this one, I would never book this hotel again it’s been a real eye opener.

Also the on the last day of out stay here we decided to use the Spa, only to find no reception staff work on a morning so you have to direct yourself, there was lockers that we was uable to use as you needed a code, for a hotel of such so called standards you would expect any 5* hotel Spa to have staff on at all times, but during our 2 hours Spa stay we didn’t see one staff member there was also other guests coming into the pool area bringing personal belongings and looking around for staff.

Room Tip: best advise I could give you is book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma Liam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I am a business traveler and I spend a lot of time in hotels. I booked 2 nights at the Amrath as a surprise weekend away for my wife to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. What a good choice. 5 min walk from the station and we were there. The hotel is a very impressive building (I think it was a former shipping line headquarters) with lots of rich art deco features. Our room was very large and airy with big windows which looked out over the canal with lovely views out over Amsterdam. Big comfy bed, lovely and clean with a coffee machine and FREE minibar (which we failed to be able to drink dry - lightweights). There were robes and slippers supplied. We had one meal in the restaurant which was very nice and the service was excellent. We used the spa which was great - note -I think its expected to change in your room and then use the robe and slippers to go to the spa. All in all a great experience and we will be back. well done all the Amrath Team.

Room Tip: ask for a room over the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here in March to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From the moment we entered our room we were extremely impressed by the attention to detail - on the table was a bottle of champagne on ice along with a hand written note from the duty manager, welcoming us to the hotel & wishing us a happy anniversary. The bed had been decorated with rose petals, as had the bathroom - this was such a lovely touch & made us feel very special. That evening we dined in the hotel restaurant, choosing the sample menu with accompanying wines for each course, the food was excellent and the ingredients were explained by the staff as they served each course. Choosing this option gives you the opportunity to sample foods & wines that you wouldn't normally - definitely a good choice.
The room was large, very well decorated & extremely clean - the Nespresso coffee maker was welcome and the free minibar is an added bonus - great to have a glass of wine or beer before you head out for the evening.
This hotel is very well located, about 5 minute walk from central station and 10 mins from Dam Square. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & the concierge was very helpful with advice on places to visit & with booking restaurants. Sadly we didn't get the opportunity to try the spa facilities - but there's always next time! We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked a 3 night stay with 4 friends fo a Birthday Celebration and booked based on the previous comments of the free bar! All 3 couples were upgraded and we were given a top suite with a bottle of champagne and a birthday cake. The room was HUGE with a queen size bed, bath and separate shower. The mini bar was replenished everyday and we soooo made the most of that. All rooms had bathrobes and slippers, which we used for the spa facilities.
This truly was a wonderful experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely building, comfiest bed I have ever stayed in, complimentary spa & swimming pool, complimentary minibar (with a good selection) Krups coffee machine and lovely decorated rooms. Great location, 5 min walk from Central Station :)

Room Tip: worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

the only good point was the location which was near dam square, there was no space in lobby area to sit, some of the rooms was so small . it is not 5 star hotels. it looks like 3 star hotels. the service of the hotel was poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing