We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest hotel I have ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Limal, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The greatest hotel I have ever been”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is just perfect! Wonderful view, pool, spa, etc.

The bedroom we had was amazing with high roof, authomatic curtains, bif barh & batheroom.
The service is incredible! we had just arrived and decided to go to the pool after a shower. When we went back in our room, the soaps where already changed and the room tidied and we were there for only 2 hours!
Thanks for this wonderful time in your hotel!

Hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: I asked for a room in a higher level, the view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauravde40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,089
    1,046
    372
    179
    97
See reviews for
423
2,119
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I really loved this place, one of my faves in Amsterdam!!! Yes, free mini-bar that is restocked daily. People complain about the check in process, but I like that too. Sitting down is more intimate and different than all other hotels. I was upgraded and checked in early, cant beat that! Red colored halls not too thrilled about and the steam room could use a little more steam, but everything else is AWESOME!!!! You would not not be disappointed booking this Hotel. Also very close to Amsterdam Central Station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

In December 2013,I stayed again,in this wonderful,unique hotel.

I was so pleased to be upgraded again.The two room,suite had everything I needed.

The minibar,which is free,was restocked,daily.

The rooms were cleaned everyday,and cleaned by early afternoon,at the latest.

All of the staff,including management,treated me like an old friend and were also very professional.

Breakfast,was the only meal,I had on this trip.I tried,different restaurants,in the evening,with friends.

I look forward,to returning,this summer.

I ,definitely,suggest a stay at this hotel,for a wonderful experience of a hotel with charm,great staff,beds,which are so comfortable,getting up is difficult and excellent food and drink.

I am confident,you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Discuss,your room preferences,with the receptionists,before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My partner and I visited the Grand Hotel Amsterdam over a long weekend break away and we were certainly not disappointed.

Very good location close to central station around 5 minute walk and also right near to the centre of Amsterdam.

Our room was large and the bed was exceptionally comfortable, There was a complimentary mini bar which lasted throughout our stay. Reception and concierge were more than happy to assist us and they were very polite and welcoming.

An excellent weekend in all in an excellently run hotel with staff who clearly enjoy what they do. We would love to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for our 1 night overstay in Amsterdam prior to heading to Venice for 2 days to catch a 22 day cruise through Greece, etc. This property is like a a wonderful maze with hidden hallways, elevators, and a stoic presence from the street; it looks so gothic and regal. While we were checking in, groups of people were taking pictures of the exterior and then wrapped inside to the interior to look at the carvings and all the marble. It's a wicked looking place. Our room was # 418-we had 14ft ceilings and the room was nice with auto-close drapes (we need to buy these for our house!). The front desk person said that everything in the fridge was comped, so we enjoyed the liquid comfort. Would recommend this place to the artsy, creative sort that likes to stay at a more unusual place. Down the street are the canals, places where we watched traffic for hours while drinking Heineken at a cafe with the sun kissing our cheeks. I'll stay here again. WiFi worked great and had very strong signal in our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poshinPORTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed here between 7-10 April and I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite with a wonderful canal view free of charge as it was my fiance's birthday and the hotel even had the thought to leave us both some birthday cake in the room!!
The room itself was fantastic ( especially the free mini-bar!! ) and the ceilings were so high that the curtains had to be closed by a remote control!
The room service was great, the bar was lovely and the spa was a great place to unwind after a busy day exploring the city.
The location is great and I really can't find a fault with any single part of our stay.
This will without doubt be our hotel of choice when we go back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ricki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely hotel with beautiful room, has been converted into a wonderful hotel.
Close to central station (easy walking distance) and close by a miriad of eatiries
Room and bathroom were very spacious, but housekeeping not done until 16:30 - 17:00 daily which was a bit of an issue
Resturant apart from breakfast time was very quiet
Would stay agian

Room Tip: An outside rooms for the Views but an inside room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Mike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,384 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing