We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel - horrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel - horrible management”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I typically stay at 4-5+ star hotels. The Grand Hotel Amrath fell far short of the 4-5 star rating. Our room was lovely, yet there were disappointments: 3 hangers in the closet and a plugged drain in the bathroom sink. The sink issue was never resolved and after a few attempts to get hangers, I found a housekeeper myself and got them. Also, they missed our room for turn-down service even though it was brought to the managers attention the first night. The most unsavory part of our stay was the moldy bread that we were served at breakfast - yes, it was on top of the bread basket, however, it was brought to our table anyway. The breakfast manager was extremely apologetic. We met with the general manager of the hotel to let him know of our experiences. He said he was grateful that we told him and that he would "make things right". He acknowledged the housekeeping issues and also said he would fix the breakfast/kitchen situation. Imagine our surprise when we checked out and did not receive any credit - and we were charged for the breakfast we could not eat. We travel quite a bit and this experience goes in the "not to be recommended" bucket. The Amrath staff need to be better trained.

Room Tip: Upper level in the back facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and solve the problems during your stay. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter
and try to prevent this in the future. Once more I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and want to offer you our sincere apologies.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,109
    1,056
    375
    181
    103
See reviews for
428
2,139
228
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Amrath is in a very beautiful historic building. We travelled as a family and had a great time. The rooms are stylish with modern bathrooms (Ritual bath products). The location is perfect, close to central station as we arrived by train and in walking distance you can experience everything that Amsterdam has to offer; cafe's, restaurants, museums, shopping, canal cruises etc. The staff at the hotel are very friendly & helpful, our kids loved the yummy breakfast. The perfect place to stay in Amsterdam, we would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. It is our passion to give our guest an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have just visited this hotel for 2 nights my self and 5 others . We traveled on ferry then drove to hotel which we was greeted outside by the concierge . They take the cars round to the car park for you and someone takes your baggage too. Took us a while to get checked in but we did arrive 4 hrs early so we got a free upgrade to a deluxe room as ours wasn't ready . Bonus ! The hotel is very unique and big ! We got lost loads haha very hard to find way round . I loved the decor but my hubby didn't he said it looked to old fashioned . Rooms was fantastic ! Huge ! Very very clean and the baths are brilliant . Probably the most comfy beds ever ! The only prob I had was the vents for climate control was always on auto so wen I was bed it felt like I was in gale force winds in Artic ! Which led to us bring upgraded again as they cudnt turn off . Free bar in rooms which is fab ! Also spa is free and open till 11pm! It was beautiful in there . Pool , saunas , steam . Whirl pool was cold though , wasn't any water around though to drink . It's not supervised . But we was ok .
Staff was brilliant they recommend numerous of places to visit and always polite and helpful .
Breakfast is very expensive in my eyes but was very nice .
This hotel is perfect location walking distance every where ! Just beware of cycle route straight outside door we was forever stood in them haha
Brilliant break . Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are happy you appreciated the Art-Nouveau style of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Spa & Wellness, and we will take this into consideration. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Amrath is by no means a bad hotel. I was very happy this was our base for our first trip to Amsterdam. Centrally located, literally a 5-6 minute walk to Central station once you figure it out the first time, it's everything one could expect from an uspcale European hotel. I'm not going to argue here if it's worthy of its 5 stars as rating standards vary from place to place. But as the title states, it is a solid upscale, full-service hotel.

That being said, they were a few annoyances that prevented me from giving it a perfect, or "excellent" rating, as per TripAdvisor criteria. The first thing has been pointed out by a few people before: staff service. Even though some of the staff members were very friendly and willing to assist, others were cold and robotic. When we asked a basic question about public transportation to the concierge, we were given inaccurate information and the question appeared to be a bother to him. No effort was made to check the info was correct. The same could be said about the young lady who checked us in: efficient in her job, perhaps, but certainly not very welcoming. The check-out experience was much better. The younger bellman/concierge on duty some days was also very nice.

The second issue I had with Amrath was with the Wifi. The signal in a room varied from poor while sitting on the floor by the bedroom door, to non-existent while at the desk or in bed, where one could be expected to work or use a tablet. When you did get a signal, the connection was fairly fast, fortunately. That's a word of caution, especially if you're traveling for business. At well over $200+/night, or approximately 160 euros, you'd expect functionning Wifi.

Finally, while the room cleanliness was generally good, there was a stench when we first walked into the room that was unpleasant. A mix of old attic with smelly shoes, with a whiff of smoke. Opening the windows helped, but it took a day for that stench to go away. Interestingly enough, our "non-smoking" room (or was it?) had an ashtray hidden in one of the cupboard's drawers. All of this combined prevents me from giving Grand Hotel Amrath 5/5.

On the positive side, the beds were extremely comfortable, with large, fluffy feather pillows and duvets and foam mattresses. You may think a foam mattress might be interesting in a so called 5-star hotel but we woke up rested after walking all day every morning. Our room was very, very spacious by any big European cities standards. The bathroom toileteries smelled very nice, the free mini-bar, already mentioned on here countless times, a nice added touch that provided added value.

The building itself is quite charming in a strange way. This used to be an old office building, therefore has kept very much of its office building "feel". As a result, the hallways are a little confusing at first and maze-like, but you quickly get used to it. The old elevator was kept and is still used, the original door frames and period touches were all retained. If you like 5-star hotels that have been redone from top-to-bottom and feature nothing quirky, Amrath may disappoint in public areas ;) (who doesn't like something a little different?). The rooms however, don't have anything original, since it initially wasn't a hotel.

I did use the gym and the pool and both areas were nice to have, as very few city centre hotels on the old continent feature such conveniences, especially not a pool the size of Amrath's. The gym was a bit sparsely-equipped though, especially if you are used to gym's in big chain hotels like Hilton, Marriott, etc (and lacking a cold water dispenser).

Overall, in a city of outrageously-priced hotels (especially true in high season), Grand hotel Amrath is a good base to explore the city, at well, reasonable rates... for Amsterdam. You'd never get me to pay that much for something similar back in Canada.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a true five star hotel with class! The building dates from early 20th century and has a real Art Noveau feel about it. It's perfect for us because it offers luxury and yet it's a quirky hotel with character. We are slightly biased because this is our third visit and it holds amazing memories!

The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the valet service is a real added bonus as parking is at a premium in Amsterdam. The hotel also boasts the only female head concierge, apparently!!

We haven't eaten in the restaurant, but can definitely vouch for the cocktails! They were truly amazing!

It has a small pool, sauna and steam room, all sufficient for this size of hotel in the middle of the city! Speaking of which, everything is practically within walking distance so very handy for eating, shopping and sight seeing!

All in all, this is a different wonderful experience and we will definitely be returning next year!

Room Tip: We've had a nice room each time...so can't comment!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is awesome. It was my anniversary and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room upon arrival.

The rooms are beautiful - massive windows - very grand.

The staff are very polite and cannot do enough for you.

Free mini bar and wifi is great.

Will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhillonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We couldn't believe what great value this hotel was! We had a superb room, free mini-bar which was topped up each day, a state of the art coffee machine and luxury bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the traditional old building is a sight to see. Will definitely stay here again when we visit this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,409 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,494 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
No photo provided
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing